Life is a Test and Temporary Assignment

The Ascension of the Lord

ACTS 1:1-11

In the first book, Theophilus, I dealt with all that Jesus did and taught until the day he was taken up, after giving instructions through the Holy Spirit to the apostles whom he had chosen. He presented himself alive to them by many proofs after he had suffered, appearing to them during forty days and speaking about the kingdom of God. While meeting with the them, he enjoined them not to depart from Jerusalem, but to wait for "the promise of the Father about which you have heard me speak; for John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit." When they had gathered together they asked him, "Lord, are you at this time going to restore the kingdom to Israel?" He answered them, "It is not for you to know the times or seasons that the Father has established by his own authority. But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, throughout Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth." When he had said this, as they were looking on, he was lifted up, and a cloud took him from their sight. While they were looking intently at the sky as he was going, suddenly two men dressed in white garments stood beside them. They said, "Men of Galilee, why are you standing there looking at the sky? This Jesus who has been taken up from you into heaven will return in the same way as you have seen him going into heaven."

Ephesians 1:17-23

Brothers and sisters: May the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, give you a Spirit of wisdom and revelation resulting in knowledge of him. May the eyes of your hearts be enlightened, that you may know what is the hope that belongs to his call, what are the riches of glory in his inheritance among the holy ones, and what is the surpassing greatness of his power for us who believe, in accord with the exercise of his great might, which he worked in Christ, raising him from the dead and seating him at his right hand in the heavens, far above every principality, authority, power, and dominion, and every name that is named not only in this age but also in the one to come. And he put all things beneath his feet and gave him as head over all things to the church, which is his body, the fullness of the one who fills all things in every way.

Matthew 28:16-20

The eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain to which Jesus had ordered them. When they saw him, they worshiped, but they doubted. Then Jesus approached and said to them, "All power in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age."

“The way you see your life shapes your life” (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 41). Some people may see life as a journey, or a roller coaster (up and down), or a question mark (we don’t know what it is). Some of us may remember what G.K. Chesterton said: “An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered” (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2018/07/22/interruptions-can -be-blessings/). According to this, if one were to see life as an adventure, a lot of inconveniences would start to make sense. This idea helps but personally doesn’t speak to my heart!

[Listen to Fr. Justin’s homily here.]
http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Homily-May-24-2020.mp3:

[View Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]

The way we see life shapes how today is supposed to work and what we can expect from it.

For many of us here in Vancouver, there have been more societal changes this past week as our province slowly reopens businesses, some of which have caused stress, some of which have caused joy—how do these fit into the way we see our life?

St. Paul begins the Second Reading with a prayer for the Ephesians, a Christian community in modern-day Turkey that he’s never met, and so his prayer could easily apply to us: “Brothers and sisters: I pray that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation as you come to know him” (Eph 1:17).

He’s praying that they have a greater outpouring of the Holy Spirit (Peter S. Williamson, Ephesians in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 46), whom they already possess through Baptism, but St. Paul wants them to have more of Him. He specifically wants them to have more of the Holy Spirit’s ‘wisdom,’ which can be interpreted as knowing the world through reason, and His ‘revelation,’ which is when the Holy Spirit reveals truths to us (Marius Victorinus in Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, 114).

With wisdom and revelation, the Ephesians can know three realities of the future which God the Father is offering them: “So that, with the eyes of your heart enlightened, you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance among the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power for us who believe…” (Eph 1:18-19).

1) ‘Hope’ refers to eternal life with God. 2) ‘Inheritance’ in the New Testament refers to heaven, and all the qualities of the Promised Land in the Old Testament: “a place of life, peace, security, blessing” (Williamson, 43); 3) St. Paul wants the Ephesians to know the ‘immeasurable greatness of [God’s] power.’ This is because they’re living in a culture with a different worldview and morality, and which will persecute them. So the Ephesians need to know that Christ will give them strength (Ibid., 51).

If, as St. Paul is teaching us, life is about getting to heaven, then how do we see our life now? Here are two helpful metaphors, thanks to pastor Rick Warren: 1) Life is a test; 2) Life is a temporary assignment.

First, life is a test. “Words like trials, temptations, refining, and testing occur more than 200 times in the Bible. God tested Abraham by asking him to offer his son Isaac… Adam and Eve failed their test… You are always being tested. God constantly watches your response to people, problems, success, conflict, illness, disappointment, and even the weather! He even watches the simplest actions such as when you open a door for others, when you pick up a piece of trash, or when you’re polite toward a clerk or waitress” (Warren, 42-43).

This is extremely life-giving because it makes sense. God wants to see who we really are, and our character is revealed through suffering.

And God wants us to pass. That’s why He never lets us be tested beyond our strength, and why He gives us His grace. He doesn’t test us simply to make life hard. Tests are opportunities: He gives us, for instance, the opportunity to be truly patient with bad drivers on the road. He also gives tests because the nature of heaven is that only people without sin and attachment to sin enter there (attachment to sin means we long for it (Cf. CCC 1472; See also: https://www.catholic.com/qa/what-is-attachment-to-sin; https://www.catholicculture.org/commentary/sin-vs-attachment-to-sin-critical-distinction/).

For example, if Deacon Andrew and I were to go to heaven right now, we’d ruin it. Everyone would be singing and praising God, and then I’d lean over and say, “Psst… Deacon… you’re singing too quickly.” And then he’d shoo me away with his hand! Heaven would be over. We’d both bring our impatience to a place of perfection. Actually, we wouldn’t even be able to enter because we’d have something inside of us that goes against the state of perfection.

So life is a test specifically to get rid of all sin (whatever offends God, whatever is bad for us, and whatever hurts our neighbour (Cf. CCC 1849-50)) and, more positively, these tests allow us to grow in love. And love means to will the good of the other (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/02/24/how-to-forgive-our-enemies/), to always choose that which is good for the other.

“When you understand that life is a test, you realize that nothing is insignificant in your life. Even the smallest incident has significance for your character development. Every day is an important day, and every second is a growth opportunity to deepen your character, to demonstrate love, or to depend on God… All of them have eternal implications” (Warren, 43).

Remember what we talked about at Easter: Our capacity to suffer = our capacity to love. The reason we get hurt easily because we’re open to loving people and even being rejected by them (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/04/12/capacity-to-suffer-capacity-to-love/). So, when we’re tested and circumstances push us to our limit and we feel overwhelmed, if we choose love, then we’re actually increasing our capacity to love, and that means our capacity for joy, because we can receive more. And that connotes more happiness in heaven, because we’ll be able to receive more of God. Everyone in heaven is perfectly happy because they’re all filled to their limit, but everyone has different limits, and that’s another reason why now is so important.

Second, life is a temporary assignment. Today St. Paul prays that we know our eternal homeland, which is why “the Bible uses terms like alien, pilgrim, foreigner, stranger, visitor, and traveler to describe our brief stay on earth” (Warren, 48). There are four implications of this reality:

1) You don’t have to suffer forever. Yes, life is a test, it’s hard, and it’s necessary to grow in love, but you don’t have to do it forever. When I heard Fr. Robert Spitzer remind us of this in his explanation on why God allows suffering, that brought so much relief (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQ47ZtkS8x8)!

2) Things come into perspective: We can let the little things pass. Many of us get bothered by little things and sometimes react disproportionately to some of our problems in life.

Now it’s true that we should take life seriously because we only have one shot at this! But we shouldn’t take ourselves too seriously. For instance, some of us sometimes take failure too hard. We make a mistake and are distraught, but, in the end, it’s our pride that was hurt. And some of us can become scrupulous, meaning we see sin where there is no sin, and overreact in a way that doesn’t help us love God more, but just focuses on our own bruised ego which admits that we’re not that holy.

A reporter once asked Pope Benedict XVI, who’s often misrepresented by the media as the Panzer Cardinal, which in German, means tank cardinal, “What role does humor play in the life of a pope?” He answered, “I’m not a man who constantly thinks up jokes. But I think it’s very important to be able to see the funny side of life and its joyful dimension and not to take everything too tragically. I’d also say it’s necessary for my ministry. A writer once said that angels can fly because they don’t take themselves too seriously. Maybe we could also fly a bit if we didn’t think we were so important” (https://www.dw.com/en/pope-benedict-xvi-we-have-a-positive-idea-to-offer/a-2129951).

God wants us to fly spiritually like angels. They’re constantly in His presence, focusing on Him, not themselves. Focus on Him!

3) We know the outcome. Because Jesus has conquered the devil, sin, and death (Cf. CCC 654, 2853), we know that, if we’re faithful and when all is said and done in our lives, Jesus will win.

4) Don’t get too attached. “When you grasp this truth, you will stop worrying about ‘having it all’ on earth. God is very blunt about the danger of living for the here and now and adopting the values, priorities, and lifestyles of the world around us. When we flirt with the temptations of this world, God calls it spiritual adultery [Cf. Jas 4:4; Jer 3:6-10; 31:32; Hos 3:1]… Imagine if you were asked by your country to be an ambassador to an enemy nation. You would probably have to learn a new language and adapt to some customs and cultural differences in order to be polite and to accomplish your mission… But suppose you became so comfortable with this foreign country that you fell in love with it, preferring it to your homeland. Your loyalty and commitment would change… Instead of representing your home country… you’d be a traitor” (Warren, 48-49). St. Paul calls us ambassadors for Christ, reminding us that heaven is our true home.

I have a very simple question for today’s online chat: What truth or idea in today’s homily will help you the most this week? Is it that life is a test, that we’re ambassadors for Jesus, that nothing is insignificant?

And, if some truth or idea helped you, would you invite some people to Alpha? The truths we’ve just discussed are small compared to what can be gained in Alpha, which presents the essence of Christianity. And this could help people understand what life’s all about. Please pray for those you love and ask the Holy Spirit to guide you this week in inviting them. In December, we wrote down the names of those we’re praying for and whom we hope to invite. I’ve written down my list and praying for them. Do the same, please. And then invite, and don’t worry about the outcome—leave it to the Holy Spirit.

Let’s end with a brief meditation: Could you imagine what it would be like to be happy forever… where the happiness never stops? It would not just be that the pain is over, but there would be continuous happiness and it would never end.

Being able to perceive heaven is a very important part of life. St. Paul refers today to ‘the eyes of your hearts enlightened.’ In the Bible, the heart is our deepest self. So, if we’re going to perceive what’s awaiting us in heaven, then something deep inside us needs to see life differently.

I’ve had moments in prayer where I can taste it, and it starts to affect the way I see life. Everything we go through here is worth it if we choose to love more through it, and nothing we do can equal what God wants to give us. We’ll never be worthy of such a gift. It’s just too good.

Knowing heaven helps us understand why life is a test and a temporary assignment.

Source: The JustMeasure: Life is a Test and Temporary Assignment (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/05/24/life-is-a-test-and-temporary-assignment/)

Posted: May 24, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)
Let us free ourselves from our presumptions, so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart. Continue Reading >
Forgive and You Shall Be Forgiven
We continue to go about our business in God’s presence, acting nonchalant and pretending our unforgiving hearts somehow don’t really matter to God. Continue Reading >
Think of Our Sins Before the Sins of Others
You may remember these two simple ideas from a year and a half ago about forgiveness: A seminary professor once told us about a woman whose husband committed adultery. She… Continue Reading >

生活是考驗和臨時任務

耶穌升天節(節日)

宗徒大事錄 1:1-11

德敖斐羅,我在第一部書中,已論及耶穌所行所教的一切,直到他藉聖神,囑咐了所選的宗徒之後,被接去的那一天為止。他受難以後,用了許多憑據,向他們顯明自己還活著,四十天之久,顯現給他們,講論天主國的事。 耶穌與他們一起進食時,吩咐他們不要離開耶路撒冷,但要等候父的恩許,說:「你們聽我所說過的,若翰固然以水施了洗,但不多幾天以後,你們要因聖神受洗。」 他們聚集的時候,就問耶穌說:「主,現在就要給以色列復國嗎?」耶穌回答說:「父以自己的權柄,所定的時間和日期,不是你們應當知道的;但當聖神降臨於你們身上時,你們將充滿聖神的德能,要在耶路撒冷,及全猶太和撒瑪黎雅,並直到地極,為我作證人。」 耶穌說完這些話,就在他們觀望中,被舉上升;有一朵雲彩接了他去,離開他們的眼界。 他們向天注視著他上升的時候,忽然,有兩個穿白衣的人,站在他們面前,向他們說:「加里肋亞人!你們為什麼站著望天呢?這位離開你們,被接到天上去的耶穌,你們看見他怎樣升了天,也要怎樣降來。」

厄弗所書 1:17-23

弟兄姊妹們: 願我們的主耶穌基督的天主,即那光榮的父,把智慧和啟示的神恩,賜與你們,好使你們認識他。並願他光照你們心靈的眼目,為叫你們認清:他的寵召,有什麼希望;在聖徒中,他嗣業的光榮,是怎樣豐厚;他對我們相信的人,所施展強而有效的德能,是怎樣偉大。正如他已將這德能,施展在基督身上,使他從死者中復活,叫他在天上,坐在自己右邊,超乎一切率領者、掌權者、異能者、宰制者,以及一切現世及來世,可稱呼的名號以上。 天主又將萬有置於他腳下,使他在教會內做至高的元首;這教會就是基督的身體,是基督在一切內,充滿一切的圓滿。

瑪竇福音 28:16-20

那時候,十一個門徒就往加里肋亞,到耶穌給他們所指定的山上。他們一看見耶穌,就朝拜了他,雖然有人還心中疑惑。 耶穌於是上前對他們說:「天上地下的一切權柄,都交給了我,所以,你們要去使萬民成為門徒,因父及子及聖神之名,給他們授洗,教訓他們遵守我所吩咐你們的一切。 「看!我同你們天天在一起,直到今世的終結。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

「你看待生活的方式塑造了你的生活」(Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 41)。有些人可能認為生活是一個旅程,或者是一場過山車(上上下下地),或者是一個問號(我們不知道它是什麼)。我們中的一些人可能還記得GK切斯特頓(GK Chesterton) 說過的話:「冒險只是對麻煩的正確認知。」(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2018/07/22/interruptions-can -be-blessings/) 根據這一點,如果一個人把生活看作一次冒險,那麼碰到許多麻煩就會順理成章了。這個想法很有幫助,但郤不能打動我的心!

講道錄音 (英語):
http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Homily-May-24-2020.mp3:

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]

我們看待生活的方式決定了今天應該如何成事,以及我們能有什麼期望。

對於許多在溫哥華的人來說,過去一周發生了更多的社會變化, 因為BC省各個行業開始逐步重新開放,其中有些帶來了壓力,也有些帶來了歡樂–這些是不是與我們看待生活的方式相一致?

聖保祿在第二篇讀經開始時為厄弗所人祈禱,這是他從未見過的現代土耳其的一個基督徒團體,所以他的祈禱很容易適用於我們:「為使我們的主耶穌基督的天主,即那光榮的父,把智慧和啟示的神恩,賜與你們,好使你們認識祂; (厄弗所書1:17)

他在禱告,願他們有更多的聖神流露出來(Peter S. Williamson, Ephesians in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 46), 他們已經通過洗禮擁有了聖神,但聖保祿希望他們能有更多的聖神。他特別希望他們有更多聖神的「智慧」,這可以被解釋為通過理性認識世界,以及他的「啟示」,這是聖神向我們揭示真理的時候。 (Marius Victorinus in Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, 114)

厄弗所人有了智慧和啟示,就可以知道聖父所賜給他們的未來的三個實況:「光照你們心靈的眼目,為叫你們認清祂的寵召有什麼希望,在聖徒中祂嗣業的光榮,是怎樣豐厚;祂對我們虔信的人,所施展的強有力而見效的德能是怎樣的偉大。(厄弗所書1:18-19)

1)「希望」是指與天主同在的永生。 2)「嗣業」在新約中的指的是天堂,舊約中應許之地的所有品質:「一個有生命、和平、安全和祝福的地方」 (Williamson, 43) 3)聖保祿想讓厄弗所人知道「天主」的力量是不可估量的偉大。 」這是因為他們生活在一種不同的世界觀和道德的文化中,誰會迫害他們。所以厄弗所人需要知道基督會給他們力量(Ibid., 51)。

就像聖保祿教導我們的,如果生活是為了升天堂,那麼我們現在該如何看待我們的生活呢?感謝里克沃倫牧師。 (他提到)這裡有兩個有用的比喻:1)生命是一場考驗;2)生命是一項臨時任務。

首先,生活是一場考驗。像考驗、誘惑、提煉和考驗這樣的詞在聖經中出現了200多次。天主試探亞巴郎,讓他把兒子依撒格…獻給祂。亞當和夏娃沒有通過考驗。你們也總是在接受考驗。天主不斷地觀察你對人、問題、成功、衝突、疾病、失望,甚至天氣的反應!祂甚至觀察最簡單的行為,比如當你為別人開門時,撿起一件垃圾時,或者當你禮貌地對待店員或服務生時。 」(Warren,42-43)。

這是極俱生命力的,因為有意義。上主想要看到我們的真面目,我們的性格能在苦難中顯露出來。

天主想讓我們通過考驗。這就是為什麼祂從不讓我們接受超出我們能力範圍的考驗,也就是為什麼祂賜予我們的恩典。祂考驗我們不會僅僅讓生活變得艱難。考驗更是機會,例如,在路遇到不守規則的司機,他給我們一個真正忍耐的機會。祂考驗我們是因為天堂的本質是只有無罪和不依戀罪的人才能進入(對罪的依戀意思就是我們渴望所犯的罪)。

例如,如果我和龔執事現在就去天堂,我們可能會把事情搞砸。當大家都唱著歌讚美天主時,我欠身說,「哎呀…執事…你唱得太快了!」而他會一手把我推開!天堂就沒了。我們都可能會把我們的不耐煩帶到一個完美的地方。事實上,我們甚至不能進入,因為我們的內心有一些與完美狀態背道而馳的東西。

因此,生活是一場專門清除所有罪惡的測試(任何冒犯天主的東西,對我們不利的東西,以及任何傷害我們鄰人的東西),更積極的是,這些測試允許我們在愛中成長,而愛就是為了讓對方受益(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/02/24/how-to-forgive-our-enemies/),總是選擇做對他人有利的事情。

「當你明白生活是一場考驗時,你就會意識到生活中沒有什麼是無關重要的。即使是最小的事件也會對你的性格發展產生重大影響。每一天都是重要的一天,每一秒都是一個成長的機會,可以深化你的性格,展示你的愛,或者依賴天主…。所有這些都有永恆的含義。」(Warren, 43)

還記得我們在復活節說過的話嗎:「我們忍受痛苦的能力 = 我們去愛的能力= 我們擁有快樂的能力」我們容易受傷的原因是即使被拒絕我們也敞開胸懷去愛。 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/04/12/capacity-to-suffer-capacity-to-love/)。當我們受到考驗,環境將我們推向極限時,我們會感到不知所措,如果我們選擇了愛,那麼我們實際上是在增加我們的愛的能力,也是我們擁有快樂的能力,因為我們會擁有更多。這意味著在天堂有更多的幸福,因為我們將能夠接受更多的天主。天堂裡的每個人都非常高興,因為他們都達到了自己的極限,但每個人都有不同的極限,這就是為什麼「現在」是如此重要的另一個原因。

第二,生活是一項臨時性的任務。今天,聖保祿祈禱要讓我們知道我們永恆的家,這就是為什麼「聖經」使用異鄉人、朝聖者、外邦人、陌生人、遊客和旅行者等名詞來描述我們在地球上短暫的停留。 」(Warren, 48) 這一現實有四個含義:

1)你不會永遠受苦。是的,生活是一場考驗,它是艱難的,在愛中成長是必要的,但你不必永遠這樣做。當我聽到羅伯特•斯皮策神父Fr. Robert Spitzer在解釋天主為什麼允許受苦時提醒了我們這一點,這給我們帶來了很大的解脫。 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQ47ZtkS8x8)

2)事情變得有遠見:我們可以讓小事過去。許多人會被小事困擾,有時會對生活中的一些問題做出不成比例的反應。

現在,我們確實應該認真對待生活,因為我們只有一次機會!但是我們不應該把自己看得太重。例如,我們有些人有時把失敗看得太痛苦了。我們犯了一個錯誤,感到心煩意亂,但最終,是我們的自尊受到了傷害。我們有些人可能會變得過分謹慎,在沒有罪的地方看到了罪,作出過度的反應,這並不利於我們更愛天主;何不專注於受傷害的自尊心,承認我們自己並不是那麼神聖。

一名記者曾問教宗本篤十六世(Pope Benedict XVI),「幽默在教宗的生活中扮演著什麼角色?」他經常被媒體曲解為Panzer Cardinal坦克樞機主教,在德語中的意思是「坦克」樞機主教(說他做事硬梆梆的)。他回答說:「我不是一個能經常想出笑話的人。但我認為能夠看到生活中有趣的一面及快樂的一面是非常重要的,不要把一切都看得太悲慘。我也認為這對我的事工是必要的。一位作家曾經說過,天使之所以能飛,是因為他們不把自己看得太重。如果我們認為我們不是那麼重要的話,也許我們也可以飛一段時間。」 (https://www.dw.com/en/pope-benedict-xvi-we-have-a-positive-idea-to-offer/a-2129951)

天主希望我們在靈性上像天使一樣飛翔。他們經常在天主面前,專注於祂,而不是自己。把注意力集中在天主身上!

3)我們知道結果。因為耶穌已經征服了魔鬼、罪惡和死亡(Cf. CCC 654, 2853), 我們知道,如果我們是忠誠的,當我們生命中所說所做的一切都說到和做到的時候,耶穌就會得勝。

4)不要太依戀。 「當你領會了這個道理:『什麼都有了』,你就不會再擔心。天主直言,那種只為此時此刻而活、接受周圍世界的價值觀、偏好和生活方式是危險的。當我們迷戀這個世界的誘惑時,天主稱之為靈性上的通姦。[Cf. Jas 4:4; Jer 3:6-10; 31:32; Hos 3:1]…想像一下,如果國家邀請你擔任敵國大使。你可能不得不學習一門新的語言,適應一些風俗習慣和文化差異,以保持禮貌並完成你的使命…。但是假設你對這個外國感到非常自在,以至愛上了它,比起你的祖國,你更喜歡它。你的忠誠和承諾便會改變…,不是代表你的祖國…。而是賣國賊。」(Warren, 48-49) 聖保羅稱我們為基督的大使,提醒我們天堂是我們真正的家園。

對於今天的在線聊天,我有一個非常簡單的問題:這週今天的講道中有什麼真相或想法對你最有幫助?生命是不是一場考驗,我們作為耶穌的大使,沒有什麼是無關緊要的?

如果一些真相或想法幫助了你,你會邀請一些人來「啟發課程 Alpha」嗎?我們剛才討論的真理與Alpha相比是微不足道的,Alpha體現了基督宗教的精髓。這可以幫助人們理解生活的意義。請為你所愛的人祈禱,並祈求聖神本週指引你邀請他們。十二月的時候,我們寫下了我們為之祈禱的對象和我們希望邀請的人名。我寫了我要祈禱的名單。請你一起參與進來。然後邀請,不用擔心最後的結果如何,把它交給聖神處理。

讓我們以簡短的默想來結束:你能想像到永遠快樂是什麼樣子的嗎,…。幸福永不停歇的地方?這不僅僅是痛苦的結束,而是會有持續不斷,永遠不會結束的幸福。

能夠感知天堂是生活中非常重要的一部分。聖保祿今天指的是「光照你們心靈的眼目」。在聖經裡,心是我們最深的自我。因此,如果我們要感知在天堂等待我們的是什麼,那麼內心的深處需要我們用不同的方式去看待生活。

我在祈禱中有過能嚐到過它的時刻,它開始影響我對生命的看法。如果我們選擇藉著它愛得更多,那麼我們在這裡經歷的一切都是值得的,我們所做的任何事情都不能與天主想要給我們的東西相提並論。我們永遠不配得到這樣的恩賜。真太完美了。

認識天堂幫助我們理解為什么生活是一場考驗,是一項暫時的任務。

Posted: May 24, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

謹記! Susanna Mak

轉一轉我們的注視,以被光照的心眼來看

繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 耶穌升天節:做個容易受傷的基督徒 吳智勳神父

今天第一、二篇讀經提到耶穌受難、死亡、復活、升天及坐在天主的右邊,這是信經中的主要內容。教會早期的宣講著重耶穌的死亡和復活,聖保祿重複強調基督的復活是基督徒信仰的根基,他好像不太理會耶穌升天。為何如此?升天既在信經出現,又似乎應在救恩史上有一地位,今日的讀經其實已給了答案。

繼續閱讀 >