Rich Man Poor Man

Twenty-sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Amos 6:1A, 4-7

Thus says the LORD the God of hosts: Woe to the complacent in Zion! Lying upon beds of ivory, stretched comfortably on their couches, they eat lambs taken from the flock, and calves from the stall! Improvising to the music of the harp, like David, they devise their own accompaniment. They drink wine from bowls and anoint themselves with the best oils; yet they are not made ill by the collapse of Joseph! Therefore, now they shall be the first to go into exile, and their wanton revelry shall be done away with.

1 Timothy 6:11-16

But you, man of God, pursue righteousness, devotion, faith, love, patience, and gentleness. Compete well for the faith. Lay hold of eternal life, to which you were called when you made the noble confession in the presence of many witnesses. I charge you before God, who gives life to all things, and before Christ Jesus, who gave testimony under Pontius Pilate for the noble confession, to keep the commandment without stain or reproach until the appearance of our Lord Jesus Christ that the blessed and only ruler will make manifest at the proper time, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone has immortality, who dwells in unapproachable light, and whom no human being has seen or can see. To him be honor and eternal power. Amen.

Luke 16:19-31

Jesus said to the Pharisees: “There was a rich man who dressed in purple garments and fine linen and dined sumptuously each day. And lying at his door was a poor man named Lazarus, covered with sores, who would gladly have eaten his fill of the scraps that fell from the rich man's table. Dogs even used to come and lick his sores. When the poor man died, he was carried away by angels to the bosom of Abraham. The rich man also died and was buried, and from the netherworld, where he was in torment, he raised his eyes and saw Abraham far off and Lazarus at his side. And he cried out, 'Father Abraham, have pity on me. Send Lazarus to dip the tip of his finger in water and cool my tongue, for I am suffering torment in these flames.' Abraham replied, ‘My child, remember that you received what was good during your lifetime while Lazarus likewise received what was bad; but now he is comforted here, whereas you are tormented. Moreover, between us and you a great chasm is established to prevent anyone from crossing who might wish to go from our side to yours or from your side to ours.’ He said, ‘Then I beg you, father, send him to my father’s house, for I have five brothers, so that he may warn them, lest they too come to this place of torment.' But Abraham replied, ‘They have Moses and the prophets. Let them listen to them.’ He said, ‘Oh no, father Abraham, but if someone from the dead goes to them, they will repent.’ Then Abraham said, ‘If they will not listen to Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded if someone should rise from the dead.’”

Our readings for the Sunday are two of the very strong biblical statements regarding justice and responsibility of the rich towards the poor.

The first reading is taken from the remarkable Book of the Prophet Amos, who is a favorite prophet among those who work for justice. He says, “Thus says the Lord God of host: Woe to those who are complacent in Zion… Those who lie on beds of ivory, and lounge upon their couches, while the poor languish” (Amos 6:1-6). What Amos intuits is heart of the Law, the Law of God, from a keen sense of justice to our compassion for any oppressed, marginalized, and poor people of their sufferings.

The overtone of Amos can also be heard clearly in our gospel, the parable of the Dives and Lazarus. “Dives”, a rich man in Latin, is someone who lives in luxury every day. At his gate lied a beggar named Lazarus who is covered with sores and is longing to eat what is fallen off from the rich man’s table (Ref Lk 16:19-21). This injustice cries out to heaven for vengeance; then we hear about the rest of the story: “Both men died, Lazarus is taken up to the bosom of Abraham, and Dives is in hell, in torment” (Ref. Lk 16:12-23).

Think of this torment that begins even now. What has been described is the suffering that comes from isolation, for we are meant to be connected to one another precisely through God. When we lock ourselves into the narrow space of our ego, we are in conflict with our own nature, subsequently, we suffer. The rich man is “closed” and “caved in” on himself, and that is the torment on himself, such is the torment holding him captive. The creator God is the Lord of creations, and therefore the owner of all things. Ultimately, nothing belongs to any of us. We do not have control over any of our possessions, instead, God does. We are not masters but only stewards of God’s possessions, and stewardship implies cooperation with God’s intention.

St. Thomas of Aquinas has put it this way. He says, “We have right to ownership the private property, but in regard to the use of our private property, the common good, that means the good of the whole human family, must always be paramount.” (Ref. Summa Theologica, I-II, q.66, a.1-2) This is an extraordinary and deeply challenging observation! Therefore, the correct attitude to ask is, “Why is God permitting me to have this wealth?” I can reassure that our whole financial life will take a new turn if we ask that question this way, “What does God want me to do with this money which He allows me to have?”, and “How does my wealth serve God’s will?”

Dear friends, whether we like it or not, the story of Lazarus at the gate reminds us that we are called by God to care for the poor, an image of God Himself.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including “Rich man, Poor man”, “Lazarus and the Rich man”, and “Amos’s Challenge”. For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: September 29, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

Where do I stand in response to God’s invitation
This Sunday Gospel reading shows that one can and should stand before God, individually, and assume spiritual responsibility. It confronts each of us with a big question, “Where do I… Continue Reading >
“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)
Let us free ourselves from our presumptions, so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart. Continue Reading >
Envy
Some of you might have enjoyed the movie Parasite, a Korean film that won last year’s Academy award for best picture. The film is very well acted and well made,… Continue Reading >

富人與窮人

常年期第二十六主日

亞毛斯先知書 6:1, 4-7

全能的上主這樣說:「那些安身於熙雍,自恃於撒瑪黎雅山,自命為諸民之首的人,是有禍的。他們躺在象牙床上,橫臥在軟榻上,吃著羊群中的羊羔,及牛欄中的牛犢,伴著琴聲吟詠,自比達味,發明樂器,大碗喝酒,以上等的油抹身,但對若瑟的崩潰,卻漠不關心。為此,這些人,現在就要先被擄去;放蕩不羈者的狂歡,也就完了。」

弟茂德前書 6:11-16

天主的人哪!你要追求正義、虔敬、信德、愛德、堅忍和良善;要努力打這場有關信仰的好仗;要爭取永生。你正是為此而蒙召,並為此,在許多證人面前,宣示了你那美好的誓言。我在使萬有生活的天主前,及在曾對般雀比拉多宣示過美好誓言的基督耶穌前,命令你:務要保守這訓令,不受玷污,無可指摘,直到天主在預定的時期,使我們的主耶穌基督,顯現出來。天主是那真福、唯一全能者,萬王之王,萬主之主,獨享不死不滅者,住於不可接近的光明中,沒有人看見過,也不能看見的。願尊威和永遠的權能,歸於他!阿們。

路加福音 16:19-31

那時候,耶穌對法利塞人說:「有一個富翁,身穿紫紅袍及細麻衣,天天奢華宴樂。另有一個乞丐,名叫拉匝祿,滿身瘡痍,躺臥在富翁的大門前。拉匝祿指望得到從富翁桌上掉下的碎屑充飢,但只有狗來舔他的瘡痍。那乞丐死了,天使把他送到亞巴郎的懷抱裡。那個富翁也死了,被人埋葬了。「那富翁在陰間,痛苦地舉目一望,遠遠看見亞巴郎,及在他懷中的拉匝祿,便喊叫說:父親亞巴郎!可憐我吧!請打發拉匝祿,用他的指尖,蘸點水,來涼潤我的舌頭,因為我在這火燄中,非常痛苦。「亞巴郎說:孩子,你應記得,你活著的時候,已享盡了你的福,而拉匝祿同樣也受盡了苦。現在,他在這裡受安慰,而你應受苦了。除此之外,在我們與你們之間,隔著一個巨大的深淵,就算有人願意,從這邊去到你們那邊,也不可能,從那邊來到我們這邊,也不可能。「那富翁說:父親!那麼,就請你打發拉匝祿到我家去,因為我有五個兄弟,叫拉匝祿警告他們,免得他們也來到這痛苦的地方。「亞巴郎說:他們自有梅瑟及先知,讓他們聽從好了。「那富翁說:不,父親亞巴郎!倘若有人從死者中,到他們那裡,他們必會悔改。「亞巴郎給他說:如果他們不聽從梅瑟及先知,縱使有人從死者中復活,他們也不會信服。」

今個主日的兩篇讀經,是聖經中有關公義及富人對窮人的責任十分有力的教導。

讀經一來自著名的《亞毛斯先知書》,對於追求公義的人來說,亞毛斯是很受歡迎的先知。他說:「全能的天主這樣說:那些安身熙雍 ⋯ 的人,是有禍的!⋯ 他們躺在象牙床上,橫臥在軟榻上,⋯ 但對若瑟的崩潰,卻漠不關心」(亞 6:1-6)。 亞毛斯意會的是天主律法的核心,是他對公義的敏銳觸角,也使我們是因為對被迫害、被邊緣化的人和窮人所受的痛苦有一份同理心。

亞毛斯的弦外之音亦可在福音中富家人與拉匝祿的比喻中清楚聽到。“Dives” 是拉丁語富人的意思,是每天過着奢華生活的人。滿身瘡痍的乞丐拉匝祿躺在富家人門外,指望藉着富家人桌上掉下的碎屑充饑(參 路16:19-21)。如此的不公義便向天國哀求公義;而福音也描述他們以後的遭遇:拉匝祿死了,天使把他送到亞巴郎的懷抱裡,富家人也死了,他在陰間極其慘苦(參 路16:22-24)。

試想想,這份「折磨」到現在仍然繼續。為什麼呢? 剛才形容的痛苦來自孤立,我們本應透過天主跟人互相連繫。當我們把自己困在狹小的自我中,與自己的本性對立,結果受苦的是自己。富家人處於故步自封的狀態,這是他對自己的折磨,讓自己被折磨俘虜。創造萬物的天主,萬物的主人,當然擁有萬物。歸根究柢,我們任何一個都不擁有什麼。我們沒辦法掌管自己的財物,天主才可以。我們不是主人,只是天主財物的管家,作為管家意味着我們必須與天主的意願合作。

聖多瑪斯•阿奎那曾經說過:「我們雖有權擁有私人財產,但大眾的共同利益,和為人類大家庭的福祉,卻必須是使用私人財產的首要條件。」(參 神學大全 I-II 第 66 題 a.1-2)這是一個獨特卻具挑戰性的觀察!因此,正確的態度應該是問:「為什麼天主容我擁有這財富?」我可以保證,若能這樣問,我們此生對財富的態度會有很大的改變。讓我們細想:「天主讓我擁有財富,祂想我怎樣運用?」和「我如何能以財富服務上主的旨意?」

朋友們,無論你喜歡與否,門外拉匝祿的故事提醒我們,天主召喚我們照顧貧窮和不幸的人,因為他們是天主的肖像。

嗚謝
本文摘錄自 Robert Barron 主教的講道,其中包括“Rich man, Poor man”、“Lazarus and the Rich man” 和 “Amos’s Challenge”。詳情請參閱 WordOnFire.org

Posted: September 29, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

丙常年期第廿六主日:拉匝祿的啟示 吳智勳神父

路加福音是社會性最強的,時時表現出對財富的嫌惡及對窮人的關懷,並明確聲明「貧窮的人是有福的」 和「富貴的人是有禍的」。

繼續閱讀 >
我們怎樣關懷窮人 Fr. Jusin Huang

我要宣布一個令人高興的消息,它提醒我們要做一些關於聖經的反思。去年,我們談到對窮人的關懷,談到耶穌對路邊瞎眼的乞討者的憐憫,他讓門徒成為中間人,也正是他們把乞討者帶到了耶穌面前。我們說,為了符合我們的堂區願景,就像耶穌一樣地去愛,現在是時候付諸行動了,我們決定把每年收集的奉獻的十分之一捐贈給那些有需要的人。在那之前的一年,我們請每個人提供反饋,看大家是否覺得天主在呼喚我們這樣做:有100多人回應說「很好」,而7人持保留意見。去年,我們請你給我們一些建議,關於天主要我們支持機構。

繼續閱讀 >