The Mystery of Mary is the Mystery of our Christian Faith

Fourth Sunday of Advent

Micah 5:1-4A

Thus says the LORD: You, Bethlehem-Ephrathah too small to be among the clans of Judah, from you shall come forth for me one who is to be ruler in Israel; whose origin is from of old, from ancient times. Therefore the Lord will give them up, until the time when she who is to give birth has borne, and the rest of his kindred shall return to the children of Israel. He shall stand firm and shepherd his flock by the strength of the LORD, in the majestic name of the LORD, his God; and they shall remain, for now his greatness shall reach to the ends of the earth; he shall be peace.

Hebrews 10:5:10

Brothers and sisters: When Christ came into the world, he said: “Sacrifice and offering you did not desire, but a body you prepared for me; in holocausts and sin offerings you took no delight. Then I said, ‘As is written of me in the scroll, behold, I come to do your will, O God.’“ First he says, “Sacrifices and offerings, holocausts and sin offerings, you neither desired nor delighted in.” These are offered according to the law. Then he says, “Behold, I come to do your will.” He takes away the first to establish the second. By this “will,” we have been consecrated through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

Luke 1:39-45

Mary set out and traveled to the hill country in haste to a town of Judah, where she entered the house of Zechariah and greeted Elizabeth. When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the infant leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth, filled with the Holy Spirit, cried out in a loud voice and said, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb. And how does this happen to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? For at the moment the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the infant in my womb leaped for joy. Blessed are you who believed that what was spoken to you by the Lord would be fulfilled.”

It is our privilege that each year during Advent, in the celebration of the Liturgy, to hear the different ancient prophecies that were once foretold and, to retell the plan of salvation that was once proclaimed (rf First Reading). In preparing the coming of the Messiah, the Old Testament “gradually bring into clearer light the figure of a woman, the Mother of the Redeemer” (Lumen Gentium, Par 55). In the Epistle to the Hebrews (Second Reading), St Paul says, “When Christ came into the world, he said, ‘Sacrifice and offering you did not desire, but a body you prepared for me’ ”, this body was born of the Virgin Mary, the chosen Daughter of Israel (Heb. 10:5). On this fourth and the last Sunday of Advent, we are invited to reflect on the mystery of Mary in whom both the promises of the Lord and the salvation of humankind are fulfilled.

The mystery of Mary can never be separated from the mystery of the Incarnation, without which, Mary would remain an anonymous ordinary woman, hidden among many of the nameless women in Palestine and lost in the ebbs and flows of the human history. However, in order to fully enter into the mystery of Mary, we have to recognize the intimate connection among the mysteries of our Christian faith (Nexus Mysteriorum). It is the belief of the Church that all of the divine mysteries of salvation are inter-related and that no one mystery exists in isolation from one another, that is, each is incomplete without the others (rf Vatican Council I DS 3016). With this in mind, we can see that though Mary’s mystery springs from the mystery of the Incarnation which begins at the angel’s annunciation of her exceptional conception, it does not stop there but continues throughout and even after Jesus’ death; for instance, at the wedding of Cana (the initiation of Jesus’ public ministry rf Jn 2:5,11), at the foot of the cross (the culmination of the redemption mystery rf Jn 19:26-27) and at Pentecost (the birth of the Church rf Acts 1:14). Elizabeth’s words: “Blessed are you who believed that what was spoken to you by the Lord would be fulfilled” are more than words of praise. It is a salutation affirming that through Mary comes the mystery of salvation (Lk 1:45).

Though Mary is a creature, God has entrusted Himself entirely to her. The Son of God is her son and the Holy Spirit is her spouse. She is an exemplary model of faith, hope and charity; not only for us individually but also for the Church collectively. Just as Mary accompanied Jesus while He was on earth, she also accompanies the Church and her people now. And as Mary is the one who perfectly identifies with Christ, so the Church, being His mystical body, naturally recognizes her as her Mother and by extension, also her vocation and mission. St Bernard of Clairvaux who once wrote, “Of Mary there is never enough” (rf De Maria numquam satis), the importance of Mary’s role in the divine mysteries could never be overstated.

Today we are given an example to follow as we soon welcome the birth of our Lord. Let us come to a deeper understanding of Mary in the mystery of our Christian faith. Let us welcome the Word of God into our own lives as Mary did. Let our devotion to her be sincere and let her draw us evermore closer into the mystery of her son whose mother she became that we might be saved.

Posted: December 19, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

“Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another” (Jn 13:34)
The love that Jesus refers to is the divine love for one another that is modeled on his own acts of charity and generosity on the Cross (Ref ICSB P191) Continue Reading >
Beyond Loneliness
Were you ever lonely as a child? If so, do you remember how often? A while back, I saw some students at our school waiting to be picked up by… Continue Reading >
We Are His people, the sheep of His Flock (Ps 100:3)
This week’s readings invite us to renew our confidence in the one true God, our Good Shepherd, Lord Jesus Christ, who remains faithful and steadfast throughout our pilgrimage on earth. Continue Reading >

瑪利亞的奧蹟就是我們基督信仰的奧蹟

將臨期第四主日

米該亞先知書 5:1-4

上主這樣說:「厄弗辣大白冷!你在猶大郡邑中,雖是最小的,但是,將由你為我出生一位統治以色列的人;他的來歷源於亙古,遠自永遠的時代。」因此,上主必將遺棄他們,直到孕婦生產之時;那時,他弟兄中的遺民,必將歸來,與以色列子民團聚。他必卓然屹立,以上主的能力,及上主、他天主之名的威權,牧放自己的羊群。他們將獲得安居,因為他必大有權勢,直達地極。他本人將是和平!

希伯來書 10:5-10

弟兄姊妹們:為此,基督一進入世界便說:「犧牲與素祭,已非你所要,卻給我預備了一個身體;全燔祭和贖罪祭,已非你所喜,於是我說:看,我已來到!關於我,書卷上已有記載:天主!我來為承行你的旨意。」前邊說:「祭物和素祭,全燔祭和贖罪祭,已非你所要,已非你所喜」——這一切都是按照法律所奉獻的;後邊他說:「看,我已來到,為承行你的旨意」。由此可見,他廢除了那先前的,為要成立那以後的。我們就是因這旨意,藉耶穌基督的身體,一次而為永遠的祭獻,得到了聖化。

路加福音 1:39-45

瑪利亞就在那幾日起身,急速往山區去,到了猶大的一座城。她進入匝加利亞的家,就向依撒伯爾請安。依撒伯爾一聽到瑪利亞請安,胎兒就在她的腹中歡躍。依撒伯爾於是充滿了聖神,高聲說:「在女人中,你是蒙祝福的,你的胎兒,也是蒙祝福的。我主的母親,駕臨我這裡,這是我那裡得來的呢?看,你請安的聲音,一入我耳,胎兒就在我腹中,歡喜踴躍。那信了由上主傳於她的話必要完成的,是有福的。」

我們有幸在每年的將臨期間,在彌撒禮儀中,聽到曾經預告的不同古代預言,並重述曾經宣佈的救恩計劃(參看 讀經一)。在預備默西亞的到來,《舊約》「把一個婦人為救主母親的典型漸漸清楚地托出」(Lumen Gentium,第 55 段)。在《希伯來書》 (讀經二)中,聖保祿說:「基督一進入世界便說:『犧牲與素祭,已非你所要,卻給我預備了一個身體』」,這身體便是由被揀選的以色列女兒,童貞瑪利亞所生(希10:5)。在這將臨期的第四個也是最後的一個主日,我們被邀反思瑪利亞的奧蹟。 在她身上,上主的應許和人類的救贖得以實現。
瑪利亞的奧蹟與聖子降生成人的奧蹟是不可分割的,因為沒有這奧蹟,瑪利亞便會是一個不為人知的普通女子,隱藏在巴勒斯坦眾多寂寂無名的女性中,並消失於人類歷史的興衰。然而,為了完全能進入瑪利亞的奧蹟,我們必須認識基督信仰當中,各個奧蹟之間的密切聯繫 (Nexus Mysteriorum)。教會相信,救恩計劃的所有神聖奧蹟都是相互關聯的,沒有一個奧蹟是孤立存在的,也就是說,如果沒有其他奧蹟,每個奧蹟都是不完整的(參看 第一屆梵蒂岡大公會議 DS 3016)。按這信念,我們可以看到,雖然瑪利亞的奧蹟源於聖子降生成人的奧蹟,而那奧蹟則始於天使為她的特別受孕而向瑪利亞報喜,但奧蹟並不止於此,而是繼續貫徹始終,甚至在耶穌死後; 就如在加納婚宴上(耶穌開始公開傳道,參看 若 2:5,11),在十字架下(救贖奧蹟的高峰,參看 若19:26-27)和在五旬節(教會的誕生,參看 宗 1:14)。依撒伯爾的話語:「那信了由上主傳於她的話必要完成的,是有福的」,不僅僅是讚美之詞,而是一種敬禮,肯定了藉着瑪利亞帶來了救贖的奧蹟(路 1:45)。
雖然瑪利亞是受造者,但天主把自己完全託付給她。天主子是她的兒子,聖神是她的淨配。她是信仰、希望和慈善的典範;不僅是為我們個人而言,為整個教會都是如此。正如耶穌在世時,瑪利亞陪伴著衪,她現在也陪伴著教會和她的子民。正如瑪利亞是完美地肖似基督的那一位,因此教會,作為基督的妙身,自然地視她為母親,進而也承認她的聖召和使命。格萊福的聖伯爾納鐸 (St Bernard of Clairvaux) 曾寫道:「關於瑪利亞的,是永遠不會夠的」(參看 De Maria numquam satis),瑪利亞的角色在神聖奧蹟中的重要性,是永不會言過其實的。
今天,在即將迎來上主的誕生時,我們獲得一個可以仿效的榜樣。讓我們從基督信仰的奧蹟中,對瑪利亞有更深的了解。讓我們像瑪利亞一樣,歡迎天主聖言進入我們的人生。讓我們對她的敬禮是真誠的 ,也讓她拉近我們,使我們更接近她兒子的奧蹟。她成為衪的母親,就是為使我們能得救。

Posted: December 19, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

克服弱點 Fr. Justin Huang

我想給你講一個關於布萊恩的故事。在他25歲左右的時候,他和他的女朋友遠離天主,性生活活躍。布萊恩沉迷色情, 上癮極深,以至於他不能再與人保持身體上的親密關係,所以他另找了一個新的女朋友。 (他自嘲說他是自私黑帶四段高手。)。但他仍然有“親密”問題。最終,他和他的前女友重修舊好,並在教堂結婚,因為她是天主教徒。

繼續閱讀 >
丙年(路加) 將臨期第四主日: 女人,妳們是蒙祝福的! 吳智勳神父

路加福音以若翰洗者不平凡的誕生,帶出另一個更不平凡的耶穌基督的誕生。這個重要時辰的來臨,有如一天的早晨,充滿美感、詩意、喜樂和希望。路加是個藝術家,四部福音以他寫得最有美感;這一幕,他安排了兩個女性做主角,用讚美詩去歌頌天主的仁慈,提也不提她們的丈夫。就讓我們跟隨路加,從兩個女人身上做反省。

繼續閱讀 >