To Love Outside of the Box

Seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Leviticus 19:1-2, 17-18

The LORD said to Moses, "Speak to the whole Israelite community and tell them: Be holy, for I, the LORD, your God, am holy. "You shall not bear hatred for your brother or sister in your heart. Though you may have to reprove your fellow citizen, do not incur sin because of him. Take no revenge and cherish no grudge against any of your people. You shall love your neighbor as yourself. I am the LORD."

1 Corinthians 3:16-23

Brothers and sisters: Do you not know that you are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwells in you? If anyone destroys God's temple, God will destroy that person; for the temple of God, which you are, is holy. Let no one deceive himself. If any one among you considers himself wise in this age, let him become a fool, so as to become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in the eyes of God, for it is written: God catches the wise in their own ruses, and again: The Lord knows the thoughts of the wise, that they are vain. So let no one boast about human beings, for everything belongs to you, Paul or Apollos or Cephas, or the world or life or death, or the present or the future: all belong to you, and you to Christ, and Christ to God.

Matthew 5:38-48

Jesus said to his disciples: "You have heard that it was said, An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth. But I say to you, offer no resistance to one who is evil. When someone strikes you on your right cheek, turn the other one as well. If anyone wants to go to law with you over your tunic, hand over your cloak as well. Should anyone press you into service for one mile, go for two miles. Give to the one who asks of you, and do not turn your back on one who wants to borrow. "You have heard that it was said, You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy. But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your heavenly Father, for he makes his sun rise on the bad and the good, and causes rain to fall on the just and the unjust. For if you love those who love you, what recompense will you have? Do not the tax collectors do the same? And if you greet your brothers only, what is unusual about that? Do not the pagans do the same? So be perfect, just as your heavenly Father is perfect."

This week’s readings lead us to the heart of our faith: the imperative of love above everything else. We are called to go the extra mile without complaints, to love without conditions, and to be perfect as our Heavenly Father is perfect.

Those are some tall orders! Let’s be real. How many of us have had the urge to return crude words or gestures to reckless drivers cutting dangerously close to our vehicle? Or considering retaliation against a rude or unreasonable colleague at work?

Indeed, our love for one another needs to be as deep and wide as God’s love for us. That’s easier said than done, right? Every time I reflect on this central teaching of our faith, I can’t help but feel discouraged. How could I, an imperfect mortal, be as “holy” and as “perfect” as our Heavenly Father is holy and perfect? Fortunately, we are given a roadmap and a role model to light our journey. We must be willing to go the extra mile; to push the boundaries and love outside of the box.

In Leviticus, Moses instructs the Israelites to be holy, neighbourly and kind, but honest, to their own “kin”. For instance, one must not “take vengeance” nor “bear a grudge” against each other (Lv 19:18). One needs to be honest with their neighbours and “reprove” them where necessary. Most notably, at the heart of Moses’ instructions is “love your neighbour as yourself” (Lv 19:18).

While Leviticus teaches us not to hate but love our kin as ourselves, Jesus boldly pushes the boundaries much further. In fact, Jesus demands a paradigm shift of our understanding of love. We are asked not only to love those who love us but also those whom we deem unlovable or difficult to love; even our rivals and those who bear hate against us (Ref Mt 5:46). Jesus reveals to us through his own humble life that love must be boundless and unconditional: “turn the other cheek”; “give your cloak as well”; “go also the second mile”; “give to everyone”; “love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you” (Mt 5:39-44).

What if we fail to love today, tomorrow, or next week? Let’s not be dismayed for our Lord is “merciful and gracious” (Ps 103:8). As long as we remain open to God’s love and let this love run its course in our life; as long as we keep getting up when we stumble; as long as we keep pushing the boundaries as Christ has done; and most of all, as long as we strive to love outside of the box, we are on the right path. Know that Christ walks with us along this journey.

Don’t forget:
“Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.”
(Samuel Beckett)

Posted: February 23, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

What's the relevance of resurrection during the coronavirus pandemic?
If resurrection is not true, then the whole foundation of our faith will come crumbling down. Continue Reading >
Are we ready to accompany Jesus into Jerusalem and point out His true identity to others?
It is not until after Jesus' death does His true identity is revealed. Continue Reading >
Doing What We Should Do
There are certain things that we should be doing right now but maybe don’t feel like doing. Like what? Forgiving, smiling, doing our duty, being agreeable. Some of us are… Continue Reading >

超越範圍地行仁愛

常年期第七主日

肋未紀 19:1-2,17-18

上主訓示梅瑟說:「你告訴以色列子民全體會眾說:你們應該是聖的,因為我,上主,你們的天主是聖的。「不可存心懷恨你的兄弟;應坦白勸戒你的同胞,以免因為他而負上罪債。不可復仇;對你本國人,不可心懷怨恨;但應愛人如己:我是上主。」

格林多前書 3:16-23

弟兄姊妹們:你們不知道,你們是天主的宮殿,天主聖神住在你們內嗎?誰若毀壞天主的宮殿,天主必要毀壞他,因為天主的宮殿是聖的,這宮殿就是你們。誰也不要自欺:你們當中,如果有人在今世自以為是有智慧的人,他該變為一個愚拙的人,好成為一個有智慧的人,因為這世界的智慧在天主眼中原是愚拙。經上記載說:「他以智者的計謀,捕捉智者;」又說:「上主洞悉智者的思想,全是虛幻。」所以,誰也不應以人來誇口,因為一切都是你們的:無論是保祿,或是阿頗羅,或是刻法,或是世界,或是生命,或是死亡,或是現在,或是將來,一切都是你們的;你們卻是基督的,而基督是天主的。

瑪竇福音 5:38-48

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「你們一向聽說過:『以眼還眼,以牙還牙。』我卻對你們說:不要抵抗惡人;而且,若有人掌擊你的右頰,你把另一面也轉給他。那要與你爭訟,拿你內衣的,你連外衣也讓給他。若有人強迫你走一千步,你就同他走兩千步。求你的,就給他;有人向你借貸,你不要拒絕。「你們一向聽說過:『你應愛你的近人,恨你的仇人!』我卻對你們說:你們當愛你們的仇人,當為迫害你們的人祈禱,好使你們成為你們在天之父的子女,因為他使太陽上升,光照惡人,也光照善人;降雨給義人,也給不義的人。「你們若只愛那愛你們的人,你們還有什麼賞報呢?稅吏不是也這樣做嗎?你們若只問候你們的弟兄,你們做了什麼特別的呢?外邦人不是也這樣做嗎?所以你們應當是成全的,如同你們的天父是成全的一樣。」

本主日的讀經帶領我們走到信仰的核心:仁愛比一切更為重要。我們被召叫,要毫無怨言地多走一步,無條件地行仁愛,要完美,如同我們在天之父一樣完美。

這些都很難辦到!讓我們實際一點。當有魯莽的司機危險地切入行車線,迫近我們的車子時,我們可會有衝動向他還以粗言穢語?或考慮過向無禮或無理的同事報復?

的確,我們之間的互愛,應該像天主對我們的愛一樣深而廣。知易行難,對嗎?每當我反思自己信仰的核心教導時,難免會感到灰心。我這個不完美的的人,怎能像我們在天上的父一樣「神聖」和「完美」?幸好我們得到一張地圖、一個榜樣,以照亮旅程。我們必需願意加倍努力;推開界限和超越範圍地行仁愛。

在《肋未紀》,梅瑟訓示以色列子民,他們應該是聖的,應該睦鄰和仁慈,但誠實地對自己的「同胞」。例如:人「不可復仇」,亦不可互相「心懷怨恨」(肋 19:18)。人要對同胞坦白,並在有需要的時候「勸戒」他們。最明顯的是「愛人如己」是梅瑟訓令的中心(肋 19:18)。

當《肋未紀》教導我們不要仇恨,要愛自己的同胞如同愛自己一樣,耶穌卻勇敢無懼,將界限推至更廣更遠。事實上,耶穌要求我們徹底改變對仁愛的理解。衪不但要求我們愛那些愛我們的人,更要求我們愛那些很難去愛的人;甚至是我們的競爭對手或憎恨我們的人(瑪 5:46)。耶穌藉着自己謙卑的生命顯示給我們,仁愛當是無界限和無條件的:「把另一面也轉給他」;「連外衣也讓給他」;「同他走兩千步」;「求你的,就給他」;「當愛你們的仇人,當為迫害你們的人祈禱」(瑪 5:39-44)。

若我們今天、明天或下星期都未能成功地行仁愛,那怎麼辦?不要沮喪,因為我們的主「富於仁愛寬恕」 (詠 103:8)。只要我們保持開放自己,接受天主的仁愛,並讓我們的人生被這愛潛移默化;只要我們在跌倒時不斷站起來;只要我們如耶穌一樣,不斷超越仁愛的界限;而最重要的是,只要我們努力超越範圍地行仁愛,我們便在行走正確的路。須知耶穌在這路上與我們同行。

不要忘記:
「嘗試過。失敗過。不要緊。再嘗試。再失敗。沒那麼失敗。」
(Samuel Beckett)

Posted: February 23, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第七主日: 如同天父一樣愛仇 吳智勳神父

「以眼還眼,以牙還牙」這條法律,今天已成為成語,可惜帶有消極報復的意味。舊約中,它卻是幫助法官判案的公平原則或償還原則,免得人毫無標準地野蠻報復,有點像孔子所主張的「以直報怨」。這句話並非給私人執行法律時作報復用。

繼續閱讀 >