Whom Will You Serve?

Twenty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Joshua 24:1-2A, 15-17, 18B

Joshua gathered together all the tribes of Israel at Shechem, summoning their elders, their leaders, their judges, and their officers. When they stood in ranks before God, Joshua addressed all the people: “If it does not please you to serve the LORD, decide today whom you will serve, the gods your fathers served beyond the River or the gods of the Amorites in whose country you are now dwelling. As for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.” But the people answered, “Far be it from us to forsake the LORD for the service of other gods. For it was the LORD, our God, who brought us and our fathers up out of the land of Egypt, out of a state of slavery. He performed those great miracles before our very eyes and protected us along our entire journey and among the peoples through whom we passed. Therefore we also will serve the LORD, for he is our God.”

Ephesians 5:21 - 32

Brothers and sisters: Be subordinate to one another out of reverence for Christ. Wives should be subordinate to their husbands as to the Lord. For the husband is head of his wife just as Christ is head of the church, he himself the savior of the body. As the church is subordinate to Christ, so wives should be subordinate to their husbands in everything. Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ loved the church and handed himself over for her to sanctify her, cleansing her by the bath of water with the word, that he might present to himself the church in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish. So also husbands should love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. For no one hates his own flesh but rather nourishes and cherishes it, even as Christ does the church, because we are members of his body. For this reason a man shall leave his father and his mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh. This is a great mystery, but I speak in reference to Christ and the church.

John 6:60 - 69

Many of Jesus’disciples who were listening said, “This saying is hard; who can accept it?” Since Jesus knew that his disciples were murmuring about this, he said to them, “Does this shock you? What if you were to see the Son of Man ascending to where he was before? It is the spirit that gives life, while the flesh is of no avail. The words I have spoken to you are Spirit and life. But there are some of you who do not believe.” Jesus knew from the beginning the ones who would not believe and the one who would betray him. And he said, “For this reason I have told you that no one can come to me unless it is granted him by my Father.” As a result of this, many of his disciples returned to their former way of life and no longer accompanied him. Jesus then said to the Twelve, “Do you also want to leave?” Simon Peter answered him, “Master, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We have come to believe and are convinced that you are the Holy One of God.”

A number of us are struggling in our love of God, and I’m referring to those of us who are disciples, who chose to make Jesus the centre of our lives, but there are signs we’re falling out of love with Him.  A number of you has shared how you’re feeling lazy, you’re avoiding coming to Mass in person for no good reason.  This is shocking, because you’re the ones who love Jesus.  I wouldn’t be worried if you were at the beginning of the spiritual journey, but I’m concerned because you made a commitment to Jesus and are going back on your promise.  So, Jesus is leading us to renew and deepen our choice of love for Him.

There are four movements in the Gospel today: 1) Jesus’ teaching; 2) the disciples’ response; 3) Jesus’ asking for a decision; 4) the disciples’ response.

1) Jesus says, “Very truly, I tell you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you” (Jn 6:53).  When Jesus says, ‘Very truly, I tell you,’ He’s signaling this is important, no mere metaphor, something that will be challenging.  He’s telling us that the Eucharist is truly His body and commands us to receive it.  

If we, as Catholics, know this, and know that He died for us, but then we skip Mass to cook, go hiking or shopping, or because we’re lazy, then that’s a mortal sin, spiritual adultery, as the Old Testament puts it, meaning that we’re breaking our marriage with Him.  Some of us also used to go to daily Mass and the chapel but no longer, not because it’s no longer possible, but because it’s hard.  It sounds like Jesus isn’t the centre of our lives anymore.

And one reality that’s affecting your spiritual commitment, one that I should have addressed more clearly before but didn’t, is that COVID is not the worst problem in the world.  When I talk to you, there is so much talk about it, and so little mention of Jesus.  Your hearts and minds are focused on the news cycle, the latest outbreak, the latest variant.  I’m not criticizing physical safety—that’s good.  However, I hear so little concern about spiritual safety, which is what Jesus is talking about.  Can’t we do both?  And isn’t one more important than the other?

Jesus says, “Do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell” (Mt 10:28).  Jesus is saying that sin is worse than COVID, because sin has eternal effects.

2) “When many of his disciples at St. Anthony’s heard this, they said: ‘This teaching is difficult; who can accept it?” (Jn 6:60).  Notice that these disciples don’t say Jesus is wrong; they say His teaching is hard.  I suppose that’s human nature: Most do what’s easy and expedient.  But life, character, and discipleship are about doing what Jesus teaches.

3) “Jesus, being aware that his disciples at St. Anthony’s were complaining about it, said to them, ‘Does this offend you?  Then what if you were to see the Son of Man ascending to where he was before?  It is the spirit that gives life; the flesh is useless.  The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and life.  But among you there are some who do not believe.’  For Jesus knew from the first who were the ones that did not believe, and who was the one that would betray him” (Jn 6:61-64).

One attribute about Jesus that astute observers notice is that He never capitulates to people’s demands.  Since I was a child, I’ve always known there was something wrong with following the crowd’s latest opinion, doing what’s popular.  So, when I met Jesus, I saw someone Who rose above what’s popular, telling us what’s right and wrong, even when no one follows Him, even at the cost of His own life.  Therefore, as we observe, Jesus doesn’t back down. He challenges us.  I love that He doesn’t care if this offends us.  This is our problem, not His problem.

Consequently, He gives us an opportunity to solve it: He asks for a choice, to deepen our love for Him.  The text says, “Because of this many of his disciples turned back, and no longer went about with him.  So Jesus asked the twelve, ‘Do you also wish to go away?’”

Jesus is offering us today the power of decision.  I briefly mentioned to you in January of this year that Dr. Phil McGraw said that there are two kinds of decisions: everyday decisions and life decisions.  Everyday decisions are about what to eat, wear, or where to take a vacation.  Life decisions are when we make it one time, it lasts for life, and we don’t have to think about it anymore.  You make the decision, for example, in the third grade not to steal, and you don’t wonder later on, “I’m short on cash.  Should I rob that 7-11?”  You don’t have the debate because you made the life decision that you don’t steal.  And Dr. Phil himself made the life decision early on that he wasn’t going to drink or do drugs because he saw what that did to his father.

I once asked my brother why he was working so hard, along with his UBC studies in music, and he responded that he made a decision never to be without a job, because Dad was without a job for years, and it devastated our family.

I’ve seen people make Jesus the centre of their lives, the decision to obey all of the Church’s teachings, and that’s it.  I’ve seen people stuck in lust say, “I’m not going back.  I know where that goes.”  I remember making a decision never to leave the Church even though people kept on letting me down.  I remember when I made the decision never to look at pornography again.  I was 19.  And it only occurred to me now that that life decision freed me up to make a decision four months later to follow Jesus with all my heart, even if it meant that I would suffer.  That decision opened up a new world for me: a deeper relationship with Jesus, deeper friendships, and finding the mission for which I was created.  I know that overcoming lust doesn’t happen like this for most people, but I’m pointing to the power of decision.  I do know lots of people who started healing when they made a strong decision, and that decision is to follow Jesus.

Two reasons why some of us struggle in our relationship with Jesus are either because we never made a decision to make Him the centre of our lives, or because our decision needs to be strengthened, meaning our first decision was real, but the honeymoon is over, and Jesus is asking for a deeper one.

Andre Regnier points out that our relationship with Jesus is supposed to lead to a kind of spiritual marriage (Clear & Simple, 11-13).  Jesus loves us, He wants us to get to know Him; this leads to dating, and eventually Jesus proposes, “Will you make Me the centre of your life?”  And if we make a mature decision, that decision will make us disciples and will last a lifetime, and we’ll never wonder, “Should I leave the Church?  Will I go to Mass on Sundays?  Will I follow the Church’s official teachings?”  That’s a mature life decision.

4) “Simon Peter answered him, ‘Lord, to whom can we go?  You have the words of eternal life.  We have come to believe and know that you are the Holy One of God” (Jn 6:68-69).  St. Peter knows the other options and that Jesus is the only way to eternal life.  In St. John’s Gospel, only God is called holy, so here, St. Peter recognizes that Jesus is God (Francis Martin & William Wright IV, The Gospel of John in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 134), and makes a life decision never to turn back from following Him.

Jesus is inviting us to say ‘Yes’ to His proposal to make Him the centre of our lives.  We need time to think over our decision, so I’d like to explain our spiritual programs starting this fall, which should help us prepare to make a decision.

Alpha (Starting Wednesday evening, Sept. 22, 2021 online; Thursday evening, Sept. 23, 2021 in Chinese, online; Friday morning, Sept. 24, 2021 and Saturday evening, Sept. 25, 2021 in our parish hall): Alpha explores if there’s more to life, Who is Jesus, how can I grow spiritually.  Alpha allows us and those we love to explore faith—that’s the key.  It starts with dinner, a 25-minute video, and a conversation.  If you’re interested in spiritual renewal and inviting non-Christian friends to talk about faith, Alpha is for you and them.  If you’ve made Jesus the centre of your life, please invite your friends to give it a try.  There’s no commitment, so it’s a great first step.

Faith Studies (Hopefully starting on demand in September, 2021): Faith Studies takes us through the beginning and end of the spiritual journey, in five levels each lasting six to ten weeks.  It uses study guides that explore the Bible and teachings of the saints and the Church.  If you’re interested in growing in faith, try Faith Studies.

Journey Through Scripture (Starting Tues. Sept. 14, 2021, 7 p.m. online): This is for disciples, those who have already made Jesus the centre of their lives, who want a deeper understanding of the whole Bible.

The Marriage Course (Starting Thurs. Sept. 16, 2021, 6:30 p.m. online): This is for couples interested in strengthening their marriage.  Seven weeks where couples watch a video and then have time to discuss questions between themselves.  This is a great place to invite our non-Christian friends, because it’s rooted in the Gospel but not explicitly religious.  It’s not counselling, but marriage enrichment!

All these programs will culminate in our Christ the King Challenge.  This is something about which I’ve been thinking for three years.  Every parish in the Divine Renovation Network does a challenge where they ask people in the pews to raise their hands if Jesus has changed their life in the last year.  I’ve always been afraid of doing this because I fear no one will raise their hands.

So, as an easier way: On Sunday, November 21, 2021 on the solemnity of Christ the King, I’m going to ask people who have made a life decision to place Jesus at the centre of their lives to raise their hands, and then if anyone has done this in the past 12 months.  If we take Alpha, Faith Studies, or The Marriage Course, hopefully we’ll be ready by then to raise our hands publicly.

To finish, I’d ask you to read the following two paragraphs from today’s First Reading, on the screens.  You can read it silently, because the decision Joshua puts before the people is what Jesus is putting before us: Whom will we serve?

“And Joshua said to all the people, ‘If you are unwilling to serve the Lord, choose this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served… or the gods of the Amorites…; but as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.’

Then the people answered, ‘Far be it from us that we should forsake the Lord to serve other gods; for it is the Lord our God who brought us and our ancestors up from the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery, and who did those great signs in our sight.  He protected us along all the way that we went…  Therefore we also will serve the Lord, for he is our God’” (Jos 24:15-18).

Posted: August 22, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

你會為誰服務?

常年期第二十一主日

若蘇厄書 24:1-2, 15-17, 18

那時候,若蘇厄聚集以色列眾支派,來到舍根,也召集了以色列的長老、首領、判官和官長,叫他們站在天主面前。若蘇厄對全民眾說:「如果你們不樂意事奉上主,那麼,今天就選擇你們所願意事奉的神吧!或是你們祖先,在大河那邊,所事奉的神,或是你們現在居住的地方,阿摩黎人的神。至於我和我的家族,我們一定要事奉上主。」百姓回答說:「我們絕對不願背棄上主,去事奉其他的神!因為上主是我們的天主,是他領我們和我們的祖先,離開了埃及地,為奴之家;是他在我們眼前,行了那些絕大的神蹟;是他在我們所走的一切路上,在我們所經過的一切民族中,始終保護了我們。為此,我們必要事奉上主,因為他是我們的天主。」

厄弗所書 5:21-32

弟兄姊妹們:你們要懷著敬畏基督的心,互相順從。你們作妻子的,應當服從自己的丈夫,如同服從主一樣,因為丈夫是妻子的頭,如同基督是教會的頭,他又是這身體的救主。教會怎樣服從基督,作妻子的,也應怎樣事事服從丈夫。你們作丈夫的,應該愛妻子,如同基督愛了教會,並為她捨棄了自己,以水洗,藉言語,來潔淨她,聖化她,好使她在自己面前,呈現為一個光耀的教會,沒有瑕疵,沒有皺紋,或其他類似的缺陷;而使她成為聖潔和沒有污點的。作丈夫的,也應當如此愛自己的妻子,如同愛自己的身體一樣;那愛自己妻子的,就是愛自己,因為從來沒有人恨過自己的肉身,反而培養撫育它,一如基督之對教會;因為我們都是他身上的肢體。「為此,人應離開自己的父母,依附自己的妻子,兩人成為一體。」 這奧秘真是偉大!但我是指基督和教會說的。

若望福音 6:60-69

那時候,耶穌的門徒中,有許多人聽了耶穌的講話,便說:「這話生硬,誰能聽得下去呢?」耶穌自知他的門徒,對他這番話,竊竊私議,便對他們說:「這話使你們起反感嗎?那麼,如果你們看到人子,升到他先前所在的地方,又將怎樣呢?使人生活的是神,肉一無所用;我對你們所講的話,就是神,就是生命。但你們中有些人,卻不相信。」原來,耶穌從開始,就知道那些人不信,和誰要出賣他。所以他又說:「為此,我對你們說過:除非蒙父恩賜的,誰也不能到我這裡來。」從此,他的門徒中,有許多人離開了他,不再同他往來。於是,耶穌對那十二人說:「難道你們也要走嗎?」西滿伯多祿回答說:「主!唯你有永生的話,我們去投奔誰呢?我們相信,而且知道:你是天主的聖者。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
我們中的許多人都在為愛天主而掙扎,我指的是我們這些選擇耶穌作為生活的中心門徒們,但有跡象顯示,我們正在失去對祂的愛。有些人分享,覺察到自己是無比的懶惰,無緣無故地不來參與線下彌撒。這太令人震驚了,因為你們是愛耶穌的人。如果你是靈性之旅的起步者,我不會擔心,但我擔心的是:你對耶穌做出了承諾,現在卻背棄了諾言。
因此,耶穌正在帶領我們更新並加深我們愛祂的選擇。
今天的福音有四個行動:1)耶穌的教導;2)宗徒的回應;3)耶穌要求我們做出決定;4)門徒的回應。
1)耶穌說:「我實實在在地告訴你們:你們若不吃人子的肉,不喝他的血,在你們內,便沒有生命。」(若6:53)。當耶穌說,「我實實在在地告訴你們 …」
祂是在暗示這是重要的,而不僅僅是比喻,這將是具有挑戰性的事情。祂告訴我們聖體確實是祂的身體,並命令我們接受它。如果我們作為天主教徒,明知道這一點,知道祂為我們而死,卻為了做飯、遠足或購物,或者懶惰而不參與彌撒,就是犯了大罪,就像舊約中所說的「靈性通姦」,意味著我們正在破壞我們與天主的神婚。
我們中的一些人過去也經常參與每天的彌撒和朝拜聖體,但現在不再去了,不是因為這不再可行,而是因為太難了。聽起來耶穌不再是我們生活的中心了。
影響你的靈性承諾的一個現實,我本來應該更清楚地表述但我之前沒有說, 那就是COVID並不是世界上最嚴重的問題 ,但當我和你交談時,談論它的太多了,而關於耶穌的卻很少提到。你們的心思都在關注新聞、最新的疫情、最新的病毒變種。我不是在批評註意身體安全—那很重要。但我聽到的是對靈性安全的極少關注,而這正是耶穌所說的。我們不能兩個都關注嗎?而不是其中一個比另一個更重要?
耶穌說:「你們不要害怕那殺害肉身,而不能殺害靈魂的,但更要害怕那能使靈魂和肉身陷於地獄中的。」(瑪10:28) 耶穌說罪比COVID更壞,因為罪會有永恆的影響。
2)祂(…在聖安東尼…)的許多門徒聽見這話,就說:「這話生硬,誰能聽得下去呢?」。 (若6:60)。請注意,這些門徒並沒有說耶穌是錯的,他們說祂的教導很難。我想這是人類的本性:大多數人都能接受做容易和方便的事情。但是,生活、品格和門徒生涯都是要我們照耶穌所教導的去做。
3)「耶穌知道(…聖安東尼的…)門徒們在抱怨這件事,就對他們說:『這話使你們起反感嗎?那麼,如果你看到人子升到他先前所在的地方去,將怎樣呢?使生活的是神,肉一無所用;我給你們所講論的話就是神,就是生命。但你們中間有些人,卻不相信。』原來耶穌從起頭就知道哪些人不信,和誰要出賣他。」(若6:61-64)
精明的觀察者註意到耶穌的一個特點是,祂從不屈服於人們的要求。我從小就知道跟隨大眾的最新意見,做隨波逐流的事情是有問題的。所以,當我遇到耶穌時,我看到了一個超越流行的人,祂告訴我們什麼是對的,什麼是錯的,即使沒有人跟隨祂,甚至犧牲自己的生命。
所以,正如我們所觀察到的,耶穌並沒有退縮。祂挑戰我們。我喜歡祂不在乎這是否冒犯了我們。這是我們的問題,不是祂的問題。
因此,祂給了我們一個解決問題的機會:祂要求我們做出選擇,加深我們對祂的愛。經文上說:「從此,他的門徒中有許多人退去了,不再同他往來。於是耶穌向那十二個人說:『難道你們也願走嗎?』
耶穌今天給予我們決定的權利。
我在1月份向你們簡要提到,菲爾·麥格勞博士(Dr. Phil McGraw)說,有兩種決定:日常決定和終生決定。每天的決定都是關於吃什麼、穿什麼或去哪裡度假。終生的決定就是當我們做出一次決定後,它將持續一生,我們不必再去考慮它了。舉個例子,你在三年級的時候決定不去偷東西,然後就不會猶豫了,「我缺錢, 我應該搶劫7-11( 便利店)嗎?」。你不必糾結,因為你決定了終生不偷竊。菲爾博士自己很早就做出了一個終生決定,他不再酗酒或吸毒,因為他看到了這對他的父親所造成的影響。 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/31/we-get-to-choose-our-anxieties/)
我曾經問我的哥哥,為什麼在UBC學習音樂的同時還這麼努力地工作,他回答說,他做出了一個永遠不失業的決定,因為爸爸多年來一直沒有工作,這毀了我們的家庭。我看到人們把耶穌作為他們生活的中心,決定服從教會的所有教義,就像這樣。我見過沉溺於性慾望中的人說:「我不願再重蹈复轍了,我知道這將導致什麼田地。」我記得我做出了一個決定,即使人們不斷讓我失望,我也不會離開教會。我還記得當我決定再也不看色情作品的時候。我那時19歲,直到現在我才意識到,做出這個終生決定讓我在四個月後決定全心全意跟隨耶穌,即使這意味著我會受苦。這個決定為我打開了一個新的世界:與耶穌建立更深的關係,更深的友誼;我找到我被創造的使命。我知道對大多數人來說,克服性慾望不是都像這樣的,但我要指出的是決定的力量。我確實認識很多人,當他們做出一個堅定的決定時,他們就開始得到療愈,而這個決定就是跟隨耶穌。
我們中的一些人在與耶穌的關係中掙扎,其原因有兩個:要么是因為我們從來沒有做出讓祂成為我們生活中心的決定,要么是因為我們的決定需要加強,這意味著我們的第一個決定是真實的,但蜜月期已經結束,耶穌正在要求更深層次的決定。
安德烈·雷尼耶(Andre Regnier)指出,我們與耶穌的關係應該導致一種屬靈的婚姻((Clear & Simple, 11-13))。耶穌愛我們,祂想讓我們了解祂;因此有了約會,最終耶穌向我們求婚:「你願意讓我成為你生活的中心嗎?」如果我們做出一個成熟的決定,這個決定會讓我們成為祂的門徒,並且會持續一生,我們永遠不會質疑,「我應該離開教會嗎?」「我會在星期天去參與彌撒嗎?我會遵循教會的教義嗎?」這是一個成熟的人生決定。
西滿伯多祿對祂說:「主!你有永生的話, 我們去投奔誰呢?我們相信,而且已知道你是天主的聖者。」(若:68-69)。聖伯多祿知道其他的選擇,耶穌是通向永生的唯一道路。在聖若望的福音中,只有天主被稱為神聖的,所以在這裡,聖伯多祿承認耶穌是天主((Francis Martin & William Wright IV, The Gospel of John in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 134)),並做出了一生的決定:追隨耶穌, 永不回頭。
耶穌邀請我們答應祂提出的提議, 讓祂成為我們生活中心。我們需要時間來考慮我們的決定,所以我想解釋一下我們從今年秋天開始的靈性計劃,這應該會幫助我們準備做出決定。
「Alpha 啟發課程」
(線上從9月22日星期三晚上開始,星期四晚上9月23開始中文的 ;9月24日週五上午和25日週六晚上,在我們的教堂大禮堂舉行):啟發課探索生命中更多的東西,誰是耶穌,我如何才能在靈性上成長。啟發課讓我們和我們所愛的人探索信仰–這是關鍵。首先是晚餐、然後觀看25分鐘的視頻和交流對話。如果你對靈性更新和邀請非基督徒朋友談論信仰問題感興趣的話,Alpha是為你和他們準備的。如果你把耶穌作為你生活的中心,請邀請你的朋友來試一試。不必有承諾,所以這是邁出第一步的好機會。
「信仰學習Faith Studies」
(若有需求9月份即開始):信仰學習帶我們有始有終的經歷靈性之旅,分五個層次,每個層次持續六到十週。它以探索聖經以及聖人和教會教義為學習指南。如果你對信仰的成長感興趣,試試信仰研究。
「經文之旅Journey Through Scripture」
(9月14日 星期二晚上7點。在線):這是為那些已經把耶穌作為自己生活中心的門徒們舉行的,他們想要更深入地理解整本聖經。
「婚姻課程The Marriage Course」
(9月16日 週四傍晚6:30開始。在線):這是為對鞏固婚姻感興趣的情侶們準備的。為期七週,情侶們觀看視頻,然後有時間討論他們之間的問題。這是邀請非基督徒朋友來參加的好機會,因為它植根於福音,但沒有明確的宗教信仰成分。這不是婚姻輔導,而是婚姻充實!
所有這些項目都將在「基督普世君王挑戰Christ the King Challenge達到高峰。」這是我三年來一直在思考的事情。 「神聖更新網絡Divine Renovation Network」
中的每個堂區都會進行一項挑戰,要求在座的人舉手, 看看耶穌在過去一年裡有否改變了他們的生活。我一直害怕這樣做,因為我生怕沒有人舉手。
所以,以一種更簡單的方式:11月21日(星期日),在耶穌君王瞻禮,我會請那些在過去12個月裡決定一生把耶穌放在生命中心的人舉手。如果我們選修啟發課程、信仰研究課程或婚姻課程,希望到那時我們就能準備好公開舉手了。
作為結束,我想請大家在屏幕上讀一下今天的第一篇讀經中的以下兩段。你可以默默地讀,因為若蘇厄問人民, 也就是耶穌問我們的決定:我們要服事誰?
「若蘇厄對眾民說:『若是你們不樂意事奉上主,那麼今天就選擇你們那所願事奉的,或是你們祖先在大河那邊事奉的神,或是你們現住地的阿摩黎人的神;至於我和我的家族,我們一定要事奉上主。』
百姓回答說: 『我們絕對不背棄上主,去事奉其他的神!因為上主是我們的天主,是祂領我們和我們的祖先出離了埃及地,為奴之家,在我們眼前行了那些絕大的神蹟, 在我們所走的路上,在我們所經過的一切民族中,始終保護了我們……為此, 我們必要事奉上主, 我們的天主』」(蘇24:15-18)。

資料來源:Whom Will You Serve?

Posted: August 22, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿一主日:伯多祿的宣認 吳智勳神父

一連五個主日,若望福音的讀經都圍繞著「生命食糧」這個主題,今天是總結,重點在伯多祿宣認耶穌的話上:「主啊!唯獨你有永生的話,我們還投奔誰呢?我們信,而且確實知道你是天主的聖者。」這是若望福音中記載伯多祿說的第一句話,作者往往把重要人物的第一句話凸顯其啟示性,如耶穌的第一句話是問兩位門徒:「你們找甚麼?」(若1:38)讓我們知道信仰不是找東西,而是找耶穌…

繼續閱讀 >
可以愛而不忠信或忠信而不結合嗎? Edmond Lo

保祿有關婚姻的教導及耶穌堅持必須吃祂的血和肉, 與舊約中有關對天主忠信的主題有何關連?

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題: 信德的自由
繼續閱讀 >