Defeating Spiritual Laziness

First Sunday of Lent

Genesis 9:8-15

God said to Noah and to his sons with him: "See, I am now establishing my covenant with you and your descendants after you and with every living creature that was with you: all the birds, and the various tame and wild animals that were with you and came out of the ark. I will establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all bodily creatures be destroyed by the waters of a flood; there shall not be another flood to devastate the earth." God added: "This is the sign that I am giving for all ages to come, of the covenant between me and you and every living creature with you: I set my bow in the clouds to serve as a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. When I bring clouds over the earth, and the bow appears in the clouds, I will recall the covenant I have made between me and you and all living beings, so that the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all mortal beings."

1 Peter 3:18-22

Beloved: Christ suffered for sins once, the righteous for the sake of the unrighteous, that he might lead you to God. Put to death in the flesh, he was brought to life in the Spirit. In it he also went to preach to the spirits in prison, who had once been disobedient while God patiently waited in the days of Noah during the building of the ark, in which a few persons, eight in all, were saved through water. This prefigured baptism, which saves you now. It is not a removal of dirt from the body but an appeal to God for a clear conscience, through the resurrection of Jesus Christ, who has gone into heaven and is at the right hand of God, with angels, authorities, and powers subject to him.

Mark 1:12-15

The Spirit drove Jesus out into the desert, and he remained in the desert for forty days, tempted by Satan. He was among wild beasts, and the angels ministered to him. After John had been arrested, Jesus came to Galilee proclaiming the gospel of God: "This is the time of fulfillment. The kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel."

Here’s a list of the seven deadly sins: pride, avarice, lust, envy, gluttony, anger, and sloth. We basically understand most of them, except perhaps for sloth, which is more than laziness. The best way to understand sloth is with a description. Imagine a man who’s successful in life: He supports and loves his family, succeeds at work, sleeps enough, exercises, and makes time for friends. When it comes to his relationship with God, he gives little time to this, and does the minimum for his spiritual needs. He’s not a bad person. But we know he has the sin of sloth precisely because, in other areas of his life, he’s driven.

Many of us commit this sin, and remember that it’s a sin because we’re choosing it. We’ve given into the demon of coasting.

I’ve seen this sin in my own life: I’m enthusiastic about all sorts of spiritual things and physical exercise, but not about spiritual fasting, and haven’t done anything about it. We’re willing to talk to anyone about our favourite Netflix show, but not about Jesus. We give time to our physical appearance, but not to our soul.

One of the worst problems of sloth is that we’re often okay with it. It’s extremely hard to motivate the spiritually lazy because they usually don’t care. But, here’s the thing: We must care at least a little, if we’re participating at Mass. Deep down, all of us want to be better. In talking to people who commit sloth, they actually don’t like the way they act. And that’s the beginning of facing this demon.

Now that we’re starting the holy season of Lent, which emphasizes spiritual diligence, energy, and sacrifice, the Holy Spirit wants to help us. Let’s meditate on five points from the Gospel: “After Jesus was baptized, the Spirit drove him out into the wilderness. He was in the wilderness forty days, tempted by Satan; and he was with the wild beasts; and the Angels waited on him” (Mk 1:12-13).

1) First, as we mentioned a month ago (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/10/begin-again-with-equilibrium/), ‘the Spirit drove him out’ to be tested. The word for ‘driving out’ is the same word used when Jesus drives out demons, so now is a time when the Spirit will drive us to confront our demons, and this will happen whether we like it or not, because it’s for our own good.

2) Here are pictures of ‘the wilderness’ where Jesus would have been (https://d3hgrlq6yacptf.cloudfront.net/5f43ec361fb8f/content/pages/uploaded_images/157.jpg; https://waynestiles.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Judean-wilderness-at-sunset.jpg; https://waynestiles.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Judean-wilderness.jpg), and this represents what’s supposed to happen in our lives during Lent: A time that is barren, simple, without distractions and noise; and we’re alone to face the reality of our sins and weaknesses.

3) ‘Forty days’ is the biblical number for testing, as the Hebrew people were in the desert for forty years, where they rebelled against God, but also learned to trust Him. Make a mental note: These next six weeks will be a time of testing.

4) Various biblical scholars note that Jesus being ‘tempted by Satan’ is a fight, a spiritual battle between good and evil (Mary Healy, The Gospel of Mark in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 38; Leroy Huizenga, Loosing the Lion, 91). Will Jesus live as an obedient Son of the Father, or will the devil overcome Him?

The weapons in our fight are prayer, fasting and almsgiving. One way to understand spiritual weapons is that they’re signs of sincerity. You see, when we’re sincere, we make signs to God and to ourselves, external gestures that say, “I’m serious about this” (http://orientations.jesuits.ca/Decision-Making%20Format%20For%20Personal%20Use.htm). Many people, for example, ask God for things, but aren’t truly invested. If you really want to grow and improve, prove it: What are you willing to give up? What prayer are you willing to commit to? How are you going to love other people concretely? For example, those of us who want an end to abortion should fast as a sign that we’re begging God to change the hearts of people who are considering abortion—that’s a powerful weapon!

5) ‘Angels waited on him’ means that they ministered to and helped Jesus. So, we’re driven out into the wilderness for 40 days to fight, and we have help.

Today’s help comes from Dr. Peter Kreeft, a Catholic philosopher, with three suggestions in his solution to sloth.

1) The first suggestion has to do with hunger. Our bodies need food, and so do our souls. But, though we hunger for God, we fill ourselves with other things. Jesus, however, did the opposite: When He was fasting for 40 days, He let God fill His bodily hunger. So the first way to defeat our sloth is to feel the hunger for God. If we can, this Lent, give up some food to remind yourself that you hunger for God. For example, skip a meal, skip your favourite food, or eat something healthy that you don’t like—the point is that the practice should make you think of your hunger for God! But, let’s say some of us are too spiritually lazy to do even this. For us, we’re going to pray something very unusual: We’re going to pray today during the Prayer of the Faithful that we feel a souring of our earthly joy, that we feel a divine discontent, an unhappiness that turns us to hunger for God!

2) The second way to defeat our sloth is to pray for more faith. Everyone hungers to receive what’s good, even the lazy. But not everyone hungers to give what’s good. Why is it that not everyone knows that “it is more blessed to give than to receive” (Acts 20:35). “Because we know this only by faith” (Peter Kreeft, Back to Virtue, 162). So, spiritually lazy people are weak in faith, while the energetic are strong in faith. Pray for more faith!

3) Kreeft writes, “How blessed is poverty, suffering, and anything that destroys the most deadly thing in the world, the quiet drift to Hell!” (163). Material poverty can force us to think of God and other people. If we see other people suffering materially, this will also wake us to realize that we shouldn’t hoard material things, but use them for others, and this will make us more spiritually energetic! This is almsgiving. If we donate money to a worthy cause, or needed items to St. Vincent de Paul Society, we create more room for God in our hearts. Give away material things!

Let’s now finish off with a time of silence and reflect on six ideas. As part of our Lenten wilderness experience, we’re going to use silence as a spiritual tool, because it helps us face our demons. Sloth is usually so deep that one homily isn’t enough to defeat it, but an experience in the wilderness is. These six ideas are ones I say to myself, and they’re pointed, because the wilderness isn’t meant to be comfy. Just meditate on the ones that hit you hardest.

1. Because of your sloth, you’re losing spiritual power to help the people you love the most.

2. Stop making excuses and face this demon. God the Father loves you, which is why He says in Revelation: “I wish that you were either cold or hot. So, because you are lukewarm… I am about to spit you out of my mouth” (3:16).

3. Don’t blame COVID-19 for your sloth. It’s just revealed something that’s deeper in you.

4. There are people in your life that want to help you. Talk to them about your struggles.

5. One small step in the right direction is a brave step. Can you fast? Can you give alms?

6. God’s grace is available. Ask daily for an increase in faith.

Source: The JustMeasure – Defeating Spiritual Laziness (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/02/21/defeating-spiritual-laziness/)

Posted: February 21, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

戰勝靈性上的懶惰

四旬期第一主日

創世紀 9:8-15

天主對諾厄和他的兒子說:「看,我現在與你們,及你們未來的後裔立約,並同與你們一起的所有生物:飛鳥、牲畜和地上所有野獸,即凡由方舟出來的地上所有生物立約。我與你們立約:凡有血肉的,以後決不再受洪水湮滅,再沒有洪水來毀滅大地。」天主說:「這是我與你們,及同你們一起的所有生物,立約的永遠標記:我把虹霓放在雲間,作我與大地立約的標記。幾時我興雲遮蓋大地,雲中要出現虹霓,那時,我便想起我與你們,及各種屬血肉的生物,所立的盟約,這樣,水就不會再成為洪水,毀滅所有血肉的生物。」

伯多祿前書 3:18-22

親愛的弟兄姊妹:基督曾一次為罪而死,且是義人代替不義的人,為將我們領到天主面前;就肉身來說,他固然被處死了;但就神魂來說,他卻復活了。他藉這神魂,曾去給那些在獄中的靈魂宣講;這些靈魂從前在諾厄建造方舟的時日、天主耐心期待之時,原是不信的人。當時賴方舟,經過水,而得救的不多,只有八個生靈。這水所預表的聖洗,現在賴耶穌基督的復活,拯救了你們,並不是滌除肉體的污穢,而是要求對天主有一顆純潔的良心。至於耶穌基督,他升了天,坐在天主的右邊;眾天使、掌權者和異能者,都屈伏在他權下。

馬爾谷福音 1:12-15

那時候,聖神催促耶穌到曠野去。耶穌在曠野裡,四十天之久,受撒旦的試探,與野獸在一起,並有天使服事他。若翰被監禁後,耶穌來到加里肋亞,宣講天主的福音,說:「時期已滿,天主的國臨近了,你們悔改,信從福音吧!」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/02/21/defeating-spiritual-laziness/ 為準。)

以下是七宗罪的清單:貪婪、嫉妒、貪吃、淫慾、傲慢、憤怒和懶惰。我們基本上理解了其中的大多數,也許除了懶惰之外,懶惰不僅僅是躲懶。理解懶惰的最好方法是描述一下。想像一個在生活中取得成功的男人:他他供養並熱愛著自己的家庭、在工作中取得成功、睡眠充足、鍛煉身體,並騰出時間與朋友在一起。當談到他與天主的關係時,他很少花時間去做這件事,對他的靈修需要做的事情也是微乎其微的。他不是個壞人。但我們明確地知道他有懶惰之罪,正是因為在他生活的其他方面,他是激進的。

我們很多人都犯了這種罪,記住這是一種罪,因為這是我們自己選擇的。我們已經順服於魔鬼了。

我在自己的生活中看到了這種罪過:我熱衷於各種靈修的事情和體育鍛煉,但關於靈性的齋戒,我什麼也沒設想過。我們願意與任何人談論我們最喜歡的Netflix節目,但不會談論耶穌。我們把時間花在我們的外表上,而不是我們的靈魂上。

懶惰最糟糕的問題之一就是我們常常覺得這無所謂。要激勵靈性上上懶惰的人是極其困難的,因為他們一般對此毫不在乎。但是,事情是這樣的:如果我們要參與彌撒,我們必須至少關心一點。在內心深處,我們都想變得更好。在與懶惰的人交談時,發覺他們實際上並不喜歡他們的行為方式。這就是面對這個惡魔的開始。

現在我們已經開始了神聖的四旬期(也稱封齋期)。四旬期強調靈性上的勤奮、活力和犧牲,聖神想要幫助我們。讓我們默想福音中的五點:「聖神立刻催他到曠野裡去。他在曠野裡,四十天之久,受撒殫的試探,與野獸在一起,並有天使服侍他。(谷1:12-13)。

1)首先,正如我們一個月前提到的,(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/10/begin-again-with-equilibrium/),「聖神立刻催(drive out)他」去接受試探。 「催他(drive out)」這個詞與耶穌驅逐魔鬼時所用的詞是一樣的,所以現在是聖神立刻催(驅使)我們對抗魔鬼的時候了,無論我們喜歡與否,這都會發生,因為這是為了我們自己的益處。

2)這裡是耶穌在「曠野」的圖片(https://d3hgrlq6yacptf.cloudfront.net/5f43ec361fb8f/content/pages/uploaded_images/157.jpghttps://waynestiles.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Judean-wilderness-at-sunset.jpghttps://waynestiles.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Judean-wilderness.jpg),這代表了四旬期間我們的生活應該發生的事情:一個貧瘠、簡單、沒有分心和噪音的時空;面對我們罪惡和弱點的現實,我們是孤軍奮戰的。

3)「四十天」是聖經上用作「試探」的數字,因為希伯來人在沙漠中生活了四十年,他們在那裡反抗上主,但也學會了信任祂。記住:接下來的六週將是考驗的時期。

4)許多聖經學者指出,耶穌被「撒旦的誘惑」是一場戰鬥,是一場善惡之間的靈性鬥爭。 (Mary Healy, The Gospel of Mark in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, 38; Leroy Huizenga, Loosing the Lion, 91)。耶穌是會像順從天父的兒子一樣,還是會受制於魔鬼呢?

我們戰鬥的武器是祈禱、齋戒和施捨。理解靈性武器的一種方式就是: 它們是真誠的象徵。你看,當我們真誠的時候,我們會向天主和我們自己發出信號,這些外在行動會告訴我們,「我是認真的。

(http://orientations.jesuits.ca/Decision-Making%20Format%20For%20Personal%20Use.htm)。例如,許多人向天主祈求東西,但並沒有真正投入其中。如果你真的想成長和進步,那就證明:你願意放棄什麼?你願意踐行什麼祈禱?你將如何具體地去愛別人?例如,我們中那些想要維護生命的人應該禁食,以此作為我們懇求天主改變正在考慮墮胎的人改變念想—-這是一個強大的武器!

5)「天使服侍他」的意思是他們服侍和幫助耶穌。因此,我們被驅趕到曠野中戰鬥了40天,我們得到了幫助。

天主教哲學家彼得•克里夫特(Peter Kreeft)博士,他在解決「懶惰」問題上提出了三點建議。 1)第一個建議與飢餓有關。我們的身體需要食物,我們的靈魂也需要食物。但是,雖然我們渴望天主,但我們卻用其他東西填滿了我們自己。然而,耶穌卻反其道而行之:當他禁食40天時,祂讓天主來填飽祂身體的飢餓。

所以戰勝懶惰的第一個方法就是去感受對天主的渴望。如果我們可以,這個四旬期,放棄一些食物來提醒自己對天主的渴望。例如,跳過一頓飯,跳過你最喜歡的食物,或者吃一些你不喜歡的健康食物—-關鍵是這種做法應該讓你想到你對天主的渴望!但是,讓我們說,我們中的一些人在靈修上太懶了,甚至連這都做不到。對我們來說,我們將祈禱一些非常不同尋常的事情:我們今天要虔誠地祈禱,讓我們感到對世上的喜悅「變酸」,我們感到神聖的不滿,這不滿讓我們渴望天主!

2)戰勝懶惰的第二種方法是祈求更多的信仰。每個人都渴望得到好的東西,即使是懶惰的人也是如此。但並不是每個人都渴望給予好的東西。為什麼不是每個人都知道「施比受更有福」(宗20:35)?「因為我們只有通過信仰才能知道這一點(Peter Kreeft, Back to Virtue, 162)。所以,靈性上懶惰的人信仰薄弱,而精力充沛的人信仰堅強。為更多的信仰祈禱!

3)克里夫特寫道:「貧窮、苦難,以及任何能摧毀世界上最致命的那些「靜靜地漂流到地獄的東西—-是多麼的受祝福!」(163)。物質貧乏會迫使我們想到天主和其他人。如果我們看到別人在物質上受苦,這也會喚醒我們意識到,我們不應該囤積物質,而應該用於其他人,這會讓我們的靈修更有活力!這是施捨。如果我們把錢捐給有價值的事業,或者向聖文生會捐贈需要的物資,我們就在心中為天主創造了更多的空間。把物質的東西送出去!

現在讓我們靜默一段時間,來思考一下六個觀點。作為我們四旬期荒曠野體驗的一部分,我們將把沉默作為一種精神工具,因為它幫助我們面對我們的惡魔。懶惰通常植根很深,一次宣講不足以克服它,但在曠野中的一次經歷就足以擊敗它。這六個想法是我對自己說的,而且它們都很尖銳,因為曠野並不意味著舒適。只要默想那些對你打擊最大的事情。

1.因為你的懶惰,你正在失去幫助你最愛的人的靈性力量。

2.停止找藉口,面對這個惡魔。天父愛你,這就是為什麼祂在默示錄中說:「我巴不得你或冷或熱!但是,你既然是溫的,也不冷, 也不不熱,我必要從我口中把你吐出來。(默3:15-16) 3.不要因為你的懶惰而責怪新冠肺炎。它只是揭示了你內心深處的一些東西。

4.你生活中有些人想要幫助你。跟他們談談你的掙扎。

5.朝正確方向邁出的一小步就是勇敢的一步。你能禁食嗎?你能施捨嗎?

6.天主的恩典是可得的。每天祈求增加信仰吧。

Posted: February 21, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

四旬期是一個恩寵時節 Susanna Mak

四旬期的核心,邀請我們進入自己的內心:反省、回顧及更新;的確是一個徹底改變我們心靈的跳板!

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第一主日:時期已到,天主臨近了! 吳智勳神父

四旬期裏我們應做甚麼?總的來說,傳統的答案是克己補贖。你可能會問:我為什麼需要克己補贖?然後再問:我該如何克己補贖?先來看看「為甚麼?」這問題。

繼續閱讀 >
【神修話語】四旬期第一主日 – 何庭耀神父

這個周末,教會慶祝四旬期第一主日,耶穌入荒野被魔鬼誘惑,藉此提醒我們尚未入天堂,故必克己、與天主恩寵配合。四旬 […]

在線聆聽 >