Lent is a Time of Grace

First Sunday of Lent

Genesis 9:8-15

God said to Noah and to his sons with him: "See, I am now establishing my covenant with you and your descendants after you and with every living creature that was with you: all the birds, and the various tame and wild animals that were with you and came out of the ark. I will establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all bodily creatures be destroyed by the waters of a flood; there shall not be another flood to devastate the earth." God added: "This is the sign that I am giving for all ages to come, of the covenant between me and you and every living creature with you: I set my bow in the clouds to serve as a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. When I bring clouds over the earth, and the bow appears in the clouds, I will recall the covenant I have made between me and you and all living beings, so that the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all mortal beings."

1 Peter 3:18-22

Beloved: Christ suffered for sins once, the righteous for the sake of the unrighteous, that he might lead you to God. Put to death in the flesh, he was brought to life in the Spirit. In it he also went to preach to the spirits in prison, who had once been disobedient while God patiently waited in the days of Noah during the building of the ark, in which a few persons, eight in all, were saved through water. This prefigured baptism, which saves you now. It is not a removal of dirt from the body but an appeal to God for a clear conscience, through the resurrection of Jesus Christ, who has gone into heaven and is at the right hand of God, with angels, authorities, and powers subject to him.

Mark 1:12-15

The Spirit drove Jesus out into the desert, and he remained in the desert for forty days, tempted by Satan. He was among wild beasts, and the angels ministered to him. After John had been arrested, Jesus came to Galilee proclaiming the gospel of God: "This is the time of fulfillment. The kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel."

What is Lent? It certainly gets a lot of “bad rap” from secular perspectives based solely on half-hearted misunderstanding or outright misinformation. Most people, Christians or not, would have a sense that Lent is a season of “giving-up” and making sacrifices; however, most of these sacrifices remain on a superficial level: giving up chocolates, wine, social media, and so on. In other words, Lent translates into “not having a good time” for many. So, what are we missing? Let us take a pause to consider these questions: Sacrifices are great, but can they be transformative? Do we allow these sacrifices to move our hearts and minds? Or are they simply inconveniences for forty days every year? For whom are we making these sacrifices? This week’s readings reveal the beautiful truth about Lent; that it is a time of grace, a time of introspection, an opportunity for a restart or a do-over, a second chance. At the heart of Lent is an invitation to dig deeper: to reflect, review, and renew; it is, indeed, a springboard for radical transformation of our heart and mind!

Lent is a time of grace. “This is the time of fulfillment. The kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel” (Mk 1:15). Lent gently opens up a space amidst our noisy and busy everyday life for introspection. For what am I grateful? Where do I find solace from pain and regrets? To whom can I go for compassion and support? Am I courageous and humble enough to recognize God’s love in everything that I am and do? No matter where I am right now, I am confident that I can do better, not with my own strength or even will-power, but with Christ who has “suffered for sins once, the righteous for the sake of the unrighteous, that he might lead [us] to God” (1Pt 3:18). As we receive ashes on our forehead on Ash Wednesday, we are, once again, reminded to “repent and believe in the gospel” (Mk 1:15). Let us bow down before God our Saviour and pray, “Remember that your compassion, O LORD, and your love are from of old. In your kindness remember me, because of your goodness, O LORD” (Ps 25:6).

Lent is a time of grace. It firmly pulls us back from our daily preoccupations and redirects our gaze inward: When we wronged someone; when hurtful words flew out like daggers; when we walked away from the poor, the lonely, or the sick; when we were indifferent or too afraid to bear witness for Christ; when we refused to see Christ in our opponents; when we shut out God’s love because we felt small and ashamed. Indeed, we are bound so tightly by our own insecurities that we often fail to see the rainbow in the skies. However, hidden in the shadows of our own fear and pride is the greatest strength that can only come from God. As we read the story of Noah and the great flood, imagine the despair that Noah and his sons must have felt during the flood when all they can see is endless water. Yet God “remembered Noah and all the wild animals and all the domestic animals that were with him in the ark. And God made a wind blow over the earth, and the waters subsided” (Gen 8:1). Not only has the water washed everything clean, but it has also cleansed the heart of every being on earth. Creation has been given a second chance! The image of water, of course, prefigures baptism, “which saves [us] now. It is not a removal of dirt from the body but an appeal to God for a clear conscience, through the resurrection of Jesus Christ” (1Pt 3:21). After the great flood, God establishes a covenant with Noah and his descendants, “I will establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all bodily creatures be destroyed by the waters of a flood; there shall not be another flood to devastate the earth” (Gen 9:11). Though Noah and his sons (and all of creation) are put in a dire situation, God remembers and holds them in His love and compassion. When we fall and sin; when we feel small and ashamed; we must refuse to be drowned by these endless shadows of despair. May we always remember to look up and find God’s “bow in the clouds to serve as a sign of the covenant between [God] and the earth” (Gen 9:13).

Indeed, Lent is a time of grace! Just as the water cleanses and renews the face of the earth, we are invited to take a pause and create a space to reflect with gratitude, acknowledge our weaknesses, and remember the goodness of the Lord. During Lent, not only do we strive to make sacrifices for our own good and for the good of each other; but we must also strive to let go of the things that bind us: things that stand between us and God. Therefore, what we are giving up, especially during Lent, is ourselves: “The sacrifice acceptable to God is a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart” and “to do good and to share what you have” (Ps 51:17, Heb 13:16). During this Lenten season, may we begin our journey with a heart filled with gratitude, take courage when we stumble, and humbly offer up our limitations and weaknesses so that God’s glory may shine through us.

Posted: February 21, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Catholic Church and Catholicity
When the Catholic Church opens her arms to welcome all peoples, she does so not only because of charity, important as it is in Jesus’ teaching, it’s also because of… Continue Reading >
“Abide in me as I abide in you.”
From Jesus the Vine comes the natural outflow of life Continue Reading >
What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands
The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste… Continue Reading >

四旬期是一個恩寵時節

四旬期第一主日

創世紀 9:8-15

天主對諾厄和他的兒子說:「看,我現在與你們,及你們未來的後裔立約,並同與你們一起的所有生物:飛鳥、牲畜和地上所有野獸,即凡由方舟出來的地上所有生物立約。我與你們立約:凡有血肉的,以後決不再受洪水湮滅,再沒有洪水來毀滅大地。」天主說:「這是我與你們,及同你們一起的所有生物,立約的永遠標記:我把虹霓放在雲間,作我與大地立約的標記。幾時我興雲遮蓋大地,雲中要出現虹霓,那時,我便想起我與你們,及各種屬血肉的生物,所立的盟約,這樣,水就不會再成為洪水,毀滅所有血肉的生物。」

伯多祿前書 3:18-22

親愛的弟兄姊妹:基督曾一次為罪而死,且是義人代替不義的人,為將我們領到天主面前;就肉身來說,他固然被處死了;但就神魂來說,他卻復活了。他藉這神魂,曾去給那些在獄中的靈魂宣講;這些靈魂從前在諾厄建造方舟的時日、天主耐心期待之時,原是不信的人。當時賴方舟,經過水,而得救的不多,只有八個生靈。這水所預表的聖洗,現在賴耶穌基督的復活,拯救了你們,並不是滌除肉體的污穢,而是要求對天主有一顆純潔的良心。至於耶穌基督,他升了天,坐在天主的右邊;眾天使、掌權者和異能者,都屈伏在他權下。

馬爾谷福音 1:12-15

那時候,聖神催促耶穌到曠野去。耶穌在曠野裡,四十天之久,受撒旦的試探,與野獸在一起,並有天使服事他。若翰被監禁後,耶穌來到加里肋亞,宣講天主的福音,說:「時期已滿,天主的國臨近了,你們悔改,信從福音吧!」

四旬期是什麼?四旬期在世俗裡有很多「不太美好的聲譽」,都是基於不求甚解,甚至是徹頭徹尾被誤導。大多數人,不管是否基督徒,大概會認為四旬期是一個「捨棄」和犧牲的時節;然而,犧牲大多數是表面的:放棄巧克力、酒、社交媒體等等。換言之,四旬期對很多人來說,是沒有生趣的時間。這樣的想法欠缺了什麼?讓我們先停一停,考慮以下幾個問題:犧牲是偉大的,但有轉化性嗎?我們是否容許犧牲來感動我們的心靈?還是,這只是每年四十天的不便?我們為誰犧牲?本週的讀經展示了四旬期美麗動人的真相:這是一個恩寵、內省的時期,也是一個重新起步,捲土重來的新機會。四旬期的核心,邀請我們進入自己的內心:反省、回顧及更新,也是徹底改變我們的心靈的跳板!

四旬期是恩寵時節。「時期已滿,天主的國臨近了,你們悔改,信從福音罷」(谷 1:15)。在繁囂的日常生活裡,四旬期輕柔地為我們開闢了一個自省的空間。我為什麼感恩?在痛苦和遺憾中,我從那裡可找到慰藉?我可以向誰尋求同情及支持?我是否有足夠的勇氣和謙卑,從自己和所做的一切中,認出天主的愛?無論我在那裡,我相信自己能做得更好,不是靠自己的力量或意志,而是憑著基督,「基督也曾一次為罪而死,且是義人代替不義的人,為將【我們】領到天主面前(伯前 3:18)」。在聖灰禮儀日,當我們在額頭上領受聖灰時,我們再一次被提醒要「悔改,信從福音」(谷 1:15)。讓我們在天主,我們的救世主面前低頭禱告,「上主,求你憶及你的仁慈和恩愛,因為它們由亙古以來就常存在上主 ⋯ 求你紀念我,照你的仁慈和良善」(詠 25:6-7)」。

四旬期是恩寵時節。堅定地把我們從日常的煩憂中抽離,並將目光轉放於自己的內在:當我們冤枉別人;當傷人的話像匕首一樣衝口而出;當我們丟下窮人、孤獨者或病人,不顧而去;當我們漠視或不敢為基督作見證;當我們拒絕在對手中看見基督;當我們因為感到自己的渺小和羞愧而拒絕天主的仁愛。真的,我們被自己的不安全感緊緊束縛,而往往看不見天空上的彩虹。然而,隱藏在自己的恐懼和驕傲的陰影下,是只能來自天主的最大的力量。我們讀諾厄和洪水的故事,當諾厄和他的兒子能見的只是無邊無際的洪水時,試想像一下,他們所感到的絕望。然而,「天主想起了諾厄和同他在方舟內的一切野獸和牲畜,遂使風吹過大地,水漸漸退落」(創 8:1)。這洪水不但洗滌了大地的一切,也潔淨了世上所有的心靈。萬物得到一個新機會!當然,水是聖洗的預像,「如今賴耶穌基督的復活拯救了【我們】,並不是滌除肉體的污穢,而是向天主要求一純潔的良心」(伯前 3:21)。洪水過後,天主跟諾厄和他的後代,建立新的約定:「凡有血肉的,以後決不再受洪水湮滅,再沒有洪水來毀滅大地(創 9:11)」。儘管諾厄和他的兒子(及所有的受造物)處於險境,但天主記得他們,並以祂的仁愛和關懷,保守着他們。當我們跌倒和犯罪時;當我們感到渺小和羞愧時;我們必須拒絕被絕望的無盡陰谷所淹沒。讓我們謹記,要仰望和找到天主的「虹霓,放在雲間,作衪與大地之間立約的標記」(創 9:13)。

的確如此,四旬期是恩寵的時節!正如水淨化和更新大地的面貌一樣,我們被邀請停一停,創造心靈的空間,以感恩的心來反省和承認自己的弱點,並謹記上主的至善。在四旬期間,我們不只要努力為自己和彼此的益處作出犧牲;我們還須努力擺脫那些束縛我們的事物:那些擋在我們與天主中間的事物。因此,我們在四旬期所放棄的,是自己:「我的祭獻就是這痛悔的精神 … 痛悔和謙卑的赤心」及「慈善和施捨,也不可忘記」(詠 51:19、希 13:16)。 在這四旬期,願我們以滿懷感恩的心,開始我們的旅程,遇到跌撞時,鼓起勇氣,並謙卑地獻上自己的不足和弱點,好讓天主的榮光照亮我們。

Posted: February 21, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第一主日:時期已到,天主臨近了! 吳智勳神父

四旬期裏我們應做甚麼?總的來說,傳統的答案是克己補贖。你可能會問:我為什麼需要克己補贖?然後再問:我該如何克己補贖?先來看看「為甚麼?」這問題。

繼續閱讀 >
戰勝靈性上的懶惰 Fr. Justin Huang

以下是七宗罪的清單:貪婪、嫉妒、貪吃、淫慾、傲慢、憤怒和懶惰。我們基本上理解了其中的大多數,也許除了懶惰之外,懶惰不僅僅是躲懶。理解懶惰的最好方法是描述一下。想像一個在生活中取得成功的男人:他他供養並熱愛著自己的家庭、在工作中取得成功、睡眠充足、鍛煉身體,並騰出時間與朋友在一起。當談到他與天主的關係時,他很少花時間去做這件事,對他的靈修需要做的事情也是微乎其微的。他不是個壞人。但我們明確地知道他有懶惰之罪,正是因為在他生活的其他方面,他是激進的。

繼續閱讀 >