Desire for a Better Year


Happy New Year again, everyone!

I’m going to make a statement, and I’d ask for your honest reaction, either a thumbs up, halfway, or thumbs down.  And the statement is this: 2022 is not going to be easier than 2021.  How do you feel about that?

Now, I didn’t say it’s not going to be better, I just said it’s not going to be easier.  The Father wants it to be better, but it needs to be without illusions.  Let’s be clear: The difficulties we face each year are not out there.  They’re in us.  The Father wants to improve the world, but He does it from the inside out.  He wants to do powerful things in our hearts this year!

The Gospel about the wise men is about a journey of spiritual growth.  They make a long journey, arrive in Jerusalem, and ask, “Where is the child who has been born king of the Jews?  For we observed his star at its rising, and have come to pay him homage” (Mt 2:2).  There are four qualities of these wise men on which we can meditate from the very little we know about them, namely, wisdom, hope, fortitude, and community:

1) Wisdom.  Pope Benedict XVI notes and accepts that in the year 7-6 B.C., which many scholars believe to be the year of Jesus’ birth, there was a conjunction of three planets, Jupiter, Saturn, and Mars, and that astronomers during this time could have predicted this; this is likely the star that the wise men saw.  But that wouldn’t have been enough for them to make the sacrificial journey.  They would need to have been aware of a prophecy about the Jewish king, and then put that information together with the star—that’s their wisdom (Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth: The Infancy Narratives, 92-102).

Now, can we piece together why we’re in this time in history, why things in our lives are the way they are?  It’s hard for a lot of us.  Why?  Wisdom tells us that it’s not by accident.  But these are signs from the Holy Spirit.  The star was given to the wise men as a sign.  The word, ‘Epiphany,’ which we celebrate today means ‘manifestation.’  God has brought us to this point for a reason.  For me, I don’t enjoy the challenges of recent times: I think very soon I will get in trouble for just saying what the Bible and Church teach.  But God has brought me to this point for a purpose, and He wants to bring good out of evil!

2) Hope—this is the greatest gift today.  Even if people back then had seen the star and knew the Biblical prophecies, many still would not have chosen to go to Bethlehem because they weren’t seeking anything.  Pope Benedict says the wise men were full of hope and inner unrest, and were searching for transcendence.

The Holy Spirit speaks through the deep desires of our hearts.  What are they?  Where is the pain in our lives?  Because the Spirit speaks through our pain, to heal it.

Fr. Jacques Philippe writes: “Ultimately, God gives us what we desire, neither more nor less” (Interior Freedom, 34).  Those who desire the fullness of life receive it!  But those who want instant gratification, which is really a life of emptiness, receive that.  So, if we want a fuller life this year, again not an easier life but a better one, Jesus will give it.

3) Fortitude.  The wise men were men of action, not just wanting to meet Jesus, but actually going to Him.  This journey wasn’t easy, but they went.  The desire to meet the King of the Jews was so strong in their hearts that they went.  Whenever we struggle to improve, go back to the desires to meet Christ.

4) Community.  This isn’t a virtue, strictly speaking, but it is a gift of which we need more.  We always think there were three wise men because they gave three gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh, but we don’t know for sure.  We just know that they were a team with the goal of finding the King of the Jews, and so we conclude that spiritual growth needs the support of other people.  Perhaps this is the year we’ll talk to a doctor, get a coach, see a counsellor, or ask a friend to do a program together.

One of our parish goals in the future is that everyone could have a small group community, starting in AlphaThe Marriage Course, then moving towards Faith StudiesJourney Through Scripture, and then some stable small groups.  We’re starting Faith Studies and Journey Through Scripture in four weeks.

Most spiritual growth happens with other people, when they actively listen and share what Jesus is doing in each other’s lives so that our hearts are touched and we move to that fuller life.

This year is not going to be easier than last year, but it can be better.  The Father is doing His part.  He’s offering us wisdom, hope, fortitude, and community.  The question is: Will we do our part?

Posted: January 2, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another” (Jn 13:34)
The love that Jesus refers to is the divine love for one another that is modeled on his own acts of charity and generosity on the Cross (Ref ICSB P191) Continue Reading >
Beyond Loneliness
Were you ever lonely as a child? If so, do you remember how often? A while back, I saw some students at our school waiting to be picked up by… Continue Reading >
We Are His people, the sheep of His Flock (Ps 100:3)
This week’s readings invite us to renew our confidence in the one true God, our Good Shepherd, Lord Jesus Christ, who remains faithful and steadfast throughout our pilgrimage on earth. Continue Reading >

今年不會比去年輕鬆,但可以做得更好


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
各位新年快樂!
我要提出一個聲明,希望請你做出誠實的反應,贊同的就豎起大拇指,中和的就橫著大拇指,或者不贊同就倒立大拇指。是這樣的:2022年不會比2021年更容易。你對此有何感想?
注意,我沒有說不會變得更好,我只是說不會更容易。天父希望它變得更好,但它需要沒有幻想。讓我們明確一點:我們每年面臨的困難並不存在於外部,它存在於我們的內心。天父想要改善世界,但祂是從裡到外做的。今年祂想在我們心中做一些有影響力的事情!
「主顯節(三皇來朝)」的福音是關於靈性成長的旅程。他們長途跋涉,來到了耶路撒冷,問道:「才誕生的猶太君王在哪裡? 我們在東方見到了他的星,特來朝拜他」。 ( 瑪2:2 )我們雖然對他們所知甚少,但是可以對這些賢士們的以下四個品質進行思考:
1)他們的智慧。教宗本篤十六世注意到並認可的一點,即在公元前7-6年,許多學者認為是耶穌出生的年分,木星、土星和火星這三顆行星相遇,天文學家在這個時候就可以預測到這一點;這很可能是智者看到的恆星。但這還不足以讓他們踏上犧牲之旅。他們必定意識到關於猶太國王的預言,然後將這些信息與星星聯繫在一起-這就是他們的智慧。 ope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth: The Infancy Narratives, 92-102)
2)現在,我們能拼湊出為什麼自己生活在在歷史上的這一時期,為什麼我們生活中的事情是現在的樣子嗎?這對我們很多人來說都很難。為什麼?智慧告訴我們,這不是偶然的。這是聖神的啟示。星辰正是給賢士們的啟示。文中說「主顯節」正是我們今天所慶祝的「聖神彰顯」。天主把我們帶到這個境地是有原因的。對我來說,我不喜歡最近的挑戰:我認為很快我就會因為僅僅說出聖經和教會所教導的東西而陷入麻煩。但是天主把我帶到這個境地是有目的的,他想從邪惡中帶出善!
他們的希望——這是今天最偉大的禮物。即使當時的人們看到了那顆星星並知道聖經中的預言,許多人仍然不會選擇去白冷郡,因為他們沒有在尋找任何東西。教宗本篤( Pope Benedict )說: 賢士們內心充滿希望和不安,他們在尋找超凡的事實。
聖神通過我們內心深處的願望說話。它們是什麼?。它們是在我們生活中的痛苦嗎?因為聖神通過我們的痛苦說話,治愈我們。
雅克·菲利普神父(Jacques Philippe)寫道:「最終,天主會給我們想要的東西,不多也不少。」(Interior Freedom, 34)。那些渴望生活充實的人獲得了它!但那些想要即時滿足的人,這實際上是一種空虛的生活,他們得到了這一點。所以,如果我們今年想要更充實的生活,不是更輕鬆的生活,而是更好的生活,耶穌會給我們的。
3)堅韌不拔。智者是實行家,他們不僅想見見耶穌,而且還真的去見祂了。這次旅行並不容易,但他們去了。智者心中想見猶太國王的意願如此強烈,以至於跋涉去見祂。當我們在提高的過程中有掙扎的時候,想一下自己對於見到耶穌的渴望。
4)他們的集體。嚴格地說,這不是一種美德,但它是一份禮物,於我們多多益善。我們一直認為有三個智者,因為他們送出了黃金、乳香和沒藥三種禮物,但我們不確定。我們只知道他們是一個以尋找猶太人之王為目標的團隊,所以我們記住,精神上的成長需要其他人的支持。也許這一年我們會去看醫生、找教練、去看輔導師,或者請朋友一起做項目。
我們未來的目標之一是:每個人都參加一個小團體,從「啟發(Alpha)」、婚姻課程開始,然後轉向信仰研究( Faith Studies) 、「聖經之旅( Journey through Scripture)」,然後是一些穩定的小團體。
我們將在四周後開始「信仰研究」和「聖經之旅」。
大多數屬靈成長的發生都是與其他人一起的,當他們積極傾聽和分享耶穌在彼此生活中所做的事情時,我們的心就會受到觸動,我們就會走向更充實的生活。
今年不會比去年輕鬆,但可以做得更好。天父正在盡祂的努力。祂給予我們智慧,希望,堅韌和團體。問題是:我們會儘自己的一份力嗎?

資料來源:Desire for a Better Year

Posted: January 2, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 主顯節:主顯與逾越 吳智勳神父

路加福音裡面,他記載的聖誕故事,時時都是一個很溫馨的故事,時時都是所有基督徒很喜歡听,津津樂道的。這樣好多人認為瑪竇的福音裡也有一個很美麗的關於聖誕的故事,就是今天的瞻禮 ─ 賢士來朝拜的瞻禮。

繼續閱讀 >
鼓起勇氣,站起來,離開我們的舒適區,走向遠方,直至我們看見剛誕生的君王。 Susanna Mak

當我們給人食物和水、接待陌生人、把衣物給赤身露體的人穿、照顧病者及被忽略的人或探望在囚人士和孤單的人,我們便是將自己奉獻給嬰孩基督作禮物。這些愛德行為就是我們的黃金、乳香和沒藥;適合奉獻給君王的禮物。

繼續閱讀 >