“Sunday Homily – Fr. Justin Huang” Evangelization Helps Us Begin Again

The Epiphany of the Lord

Isaiah 60:1-6

Rise up in splendor, Jerusalem! Your light has come, the glory of the Lord shines upon you. See, darkness covers the earth, and thick clouds cover the peoples; but upon you the LORD shines, and over you appears his glory. Nations shall walk by your light, and kings by your shining radiance. Raise your eyes and look about; they all gather and come to you: your sons come from afar, and your daughters in the arms of their nurses. Then you shall be radiant at what you see, your heart shall throb and overflow, for the riches of the sea shall be emptied out before you, the wealth of nations shall be brought to you. Caravans of camels shall fill you, dromedaries from Midian and Ephah; all from Sheba shall come bearing gold and frankincense, and proclaiming the praises of the LORD.

Ephesians 3:2-3A, 5-6

Brothers and sisters: You have heard of the stewardship of God’s grace that was given to me for your benefit, namely, that the mystery was made known to me by revelation. It was not made known to people in other generations as it has now been revealed to his holy apostles and prophets by the Spirit: that the Gentiles are coheirs, members of the same body, and copartners in the promise in Christ Jesus through the gospel.

Matthew 2:1-12

When Jesus was born in Bethlehem of Judea, in the days of King Herod, behold, magi from the east arrived in Jerusalem, saying, “Where is the newborn king of the Jews? We saw his star at its rising and have come to do him homage.” When King Herod heard this, he was greatly troubled, and all Jerusalem with him. Assembling all the chief priests and the scribes of the people, He inquired of them where the Christ was to be born. They said to him, “In Bethlehem of Judea, for thus it has been written through the prophet: And you, Bethlehem, land of Judah, are by no means least among the rulers of Judah; since from you shall come a ruler, who is to shepherd my people Israel.” Then Herod called the magi secretly and ascertained from them the time of the star’s appearance. He sent them to Bethlehem and said, “Go and search diligently for the child. When you have found him, bring me word, that I too may go and do him homage.” After their audience with the king they set out. And behold, the star that they had seen at its rising preceded them, until it came and stopped over the place where the child was. They were overjoyed at seeing the star, and on entering the house they saw the child with Mary his mother. They prostrated themselves and did him homage. Then they opened their treasures and offered him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. And having been warned in a dream not to return to Herod, they departed for their country by another way.

There’s a popular YouTube channel about exercise and one of the videos is entitled, “Can you touch your fingers behind your back? (Big Problem!).” An athlete should be able to put one hand behind their head and one behind their back and then touch their fingers—this flexibility will help them exercise properly.

Just as there are physical diagnostics for the body, so there are spiritual measures for how healthy we are.

Today, the measure at which we’re looking is evangelization. A spiritually healthy follower of Jesus is happy to share Him, looks for ways to evangelize, and wants the whole world to become His followers. One of my friend’s goals for 2021 is to become a saint and invite 50 friends to know Christ—that’s spiritually healthy. Today is the Feast of Epiphany, meaning ‘appearing,’ when Jesus reveals Himself to the nations. Looking at the Readings today, we’re going to examine three diagnostics of spiritual health, and then propose solutions.

If you’re the kind of person who gets discouraged, spiritual diagnostics aren’t designed to discourage, but to show us where God wants us to grow. I’ve entitled this homily: Where do you need to begin again?

1) In the First Reading God says to the city of Jerusalem, “Arise, shine, for your light has come and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you! … Nations shall come to your light and kings to the brightness of your dawn. Lift up your eyes and look around; they all gather together, they come to you” (Is 60:1,3-4). In the year 586 B.C. the Temple in Jerusalem was destroyed by the Babylonians, and now years later, God gives them a hope that the ‘the glory of the Lord has risen upon you’ and ‘nations shall come to your light.’ The point is that God will redeem Jerusalem and people will see God in them!

When people look at us, what do they see: Catholic and surviving? Catholic and thriving? Or Catholic and miserable? We have the greatest gift in the world, Jesus, but sometimes our problems obscure His light.

Think about this: Jesus had a captivating personality. When people met Him, they were intrigued. When people met St. Mother Teresa, they knew they were in the presence of someone holy.

My brother and I often use this truth as a diagnostic of our priesthood. If we’re living our priesthood well, people will want to talk to us, listen to what Jesus has given us, young men will think about being priests themselves.

My proposal to you is that, if people aren’t drawn to Christ in you, ask yourself what’s blocking Him? Maybe the Holy Spirit wants you to spend this upcoming year healing yourself, perhaps through counselling. Maybe you need to work on your marriage before helping your children because the First Reading says, “Your sons shall come from far away, and your daughters shall be carried on their nurses’ arms” (Is 60:4). When our children resist us, it could be because we’re not living the Gospel as parents.

Please take care of yourself! The Catechism talks about legitimate love of self (2264), and St. Teresa of Avila writes, “Take care, then, of the body for the love of God, because at many times the body must serve the soul” (https://www.ccel.org/ccel/teresa/life.viii.xii.html).

I’ve seen many of you come back from weekend retreats and you’re full of God’s love. Think about that this year, for your own sake, and for those around you.

2) The Psalm we prayed today has this phrase: “May he [that is, God] have dominion from sea to sea” (72:8). In Latin, this is translated as, “Et dominabitur a mari usque ad mare.” You’ll see this on your Canadian passport because “From sea to sea” is Canada’s national motto. My point is that, when Canada was founded, most people were Christian, and, while they weren’t perfect, they lived their faith more overtly than we do today.

When we’re spiritually healthy, we’re open about and confident in our faith. Jesus is the centre of our lives. Our identity as sons and daughters of God is our deepest being and we can’t hide it.

When we pray this psalm and ask God to have dominion over the whole earth, it’s because we believe Jesus is God and is the answer to the human heart. Do you see Jesus as the cure to life’s problems?

Some parents say this, “I’m Catholic, but I don’t force it on my kids. When they grow up, they can choose what they believe.” Could you imagine Mary and Joseph saying to Jesus, “Jesus, we believe in God. But when you grow up, you can choose if you want to follow the covenant.” Jesus would say, “Mom, Dad!? Are you okay?” Catholics don’t believe in what they believe because it makes our lives easier; it does make them better, but not necessarily easier. We believe because we consider it’s true. It’s not a question of forcing, and obviously children have freedom to choose. It’s a question of hoping and effort: When we believe Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life, then we hope that and try with all our heart to make Jesus the centre of our children’s lives. I’ve heard atheists who say the same thing, “I believe this because I think it’s true, and I only want my children to follow what’s true.” They’re being consistent.

Speaking of hope and effort, are we enthusiastic about Alpha, this great opportunity to evangelize? Are we looking to invite people, praying for them? If we’re not that enthusiastic about evangelization, then let’s begin again, perhaps spending this year looking for answers to our questions, with more reading, trying to understand our faith logically. For example, go to catholic.com or magiscenter.com for lots of answers.

3) In the Second Reading, St. Paul writes, “Brothers and sisters: Surely you have already heard of the commission of God’s grace that was given me for you” (Eph 3:2). What’s this ‘commission of God’s grace that was given to me’? It’s his responsibility to evangelize the Gentiles, the non-Jews. Another word for ‘commission’ is ‘stewardship,’ referring to a steward who managed the household of a master. And, as we may remember from Jesus’ words, servants have to give accounts of their stewardship to the master.

Let me remind you that we have a solemn duty to evangelize, because that’s the nature of love. When we receive love, it’s only right to give it. The Bible teaches that “God is love” (1 Jn 4:16) and so, if we’ve received God, shouldn’t we help people find their creator and Father?

Here are six reasons why we forget our commission, and some solutions:

1. We follow current Catholic culture, which is mediocre at best. The solution is: Follow the saints, who show us true Christian living. Bl. Carlo Acutis is perhaps the first saint to have played video games, have social media accounts, and his website is still up.

2. We’re distracted: Our lives are too busy, and the new year is a perfect time to discern God’s goals for us. As we said two days ago (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/01/begin-again-by-going-to-the-heart/), pay attention to what God is saying in your hearts, and focus on that.

3. We’ve fallen into spiritual narcissism: It feels good to receive God’s love, and it’s easy, for example, for me to think only about taking care of you. So I must intentionally try to get all of us to think outside our comfort zone and reach out to those who don’t know and love Jesus. In the same way, you need to get out of yourselves and help others.

4. We evangelize with actions, not with words—that’s the most important part but not enough. Do you know any parents who say, “I teach my children about right and wrong only by my actions. By watching me, they’ve figured out never to lie, always to work hard, never to spend too much time on devices”? Jesus used words, and so must we. Have devout conversations, as we’ve talked about before, and pay attention to the highs and lows of what’s going on in their lives.

5. “I don’t know how to evangelize.” You might be making excuses if this is a repeated reason why you don’t grow. Try going to uevangelize.org, which has amazing practical tools on how to talk about faith with others.

6. “Father Justin, I’m shy.” That is problem you must overcome!

No one should be discouraged, because we have a better idea now how to grow! Look how much we grew in 2020!

Let’s end with a story that’s encouraging, but challenges not to settle. St. John Bosco once had a dream of St. Dominic Savio, in which he saw a place like heaven, with crystal water, golden trees, and everyone full of immense joy.

At one point, St. John asked St. Dominic about the boys in his school whom he loved so much and was trying to evangelize! In this dream, he saw many of his boys happy, and St. Dominic told him that he had done much good: “All those there are… those who have been educated by you and your sons, or who… have been sent on the way to God and their salvation made really possible. Count them if you can! But they would be many, many more still, if only you had greater faith and confidence in God.” That’s encouraging and challenging.

And St. John’s response is ours: “I heaved a great sigh on hearing this admonition and determined to set no limit on my trust in God for the future” (Forty Dreams of St. John Bosco, 64-65).

Evangelization helps us to begin again.

Source: The JustMeasure – Evangelization Helps Us Begin Again (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/03/evangelization-helps-us-begin-again/)

Posted: January 3, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Seeing Into the Future
Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise. Continue Reading >
Lent is a Time of Grace
At the heart of Lent is an invitation to dig deeper: to reflect, review, and renew; it is, indeed, a springboard for radical transformation of our heart and mind. Continue Reading >

【黃謙善神父主日講】傳福音幫助我們重新開始

主顯節

依撒意亞先知書 60:1-6

耶路撒冷啊!起來炫耀吧!因為你的光明,已經來到;上主的榮耀,已經照耀在你身上。看啊!黑暗籠罩著大地,陰雲遮蔽著萬民;但上主卻照耀著你,他的榮耀,要彰顯在你的身上。萬民要奔赴你的光明;眾王要投奔你升起的光輝。舉目向四方觀望吧!他們都聚集來到你這裡;你的眾子,要從遠方而來,你的女兒,要被抱回來。那時,你見到這情形,必要喜形於色,你的心靈,必要興奮愉快,因為,海洋的珍寶,都要歸於你,萬民的財富,都要歸你所有。成群結隊的駱駝,以及米德楊和厄法的獨峰駝,要齊集在你境內;牠們從舍巴,滿載黃金和乳香而來,宣揚上主的榮耀。

厄弗所書 3:2-3,5-6

弟兄姊妹們:想你們必聽說過,天主為了你們,以恩寵賜與我的職分;就是藉著啟示,使我得知他的奧秘;這奧秘在以前的世代,沒有告訴過任何人,現在卻藉聖神,啟示給他的聖宗徒和先知;這奧秘就是:外邦人藉著福音,在基督耶穌內,與猶太人同為承繼人,同為一身,同為恩許的分享人。

瑪竇福音 2:1-12

當黑落德為王時,耶穌誕生在猶大的白冷。看,有賢士從東方來到耶路撒冷,說:「剛誕生的猶太人君王在那裡?我們在東方見到了他的星,特來朝拜他。」黑落德王聽見了,就驚慌起來;全耶路撒冷也同他一起驚慌。黑落德王便召集了眾司祭長和民間的經師,仔細考問他們:「默西亞應當生在那裡?」他們對他說:「在猶大的白冷,因為先知曾這樣記載:『你猶大白冷啊!你在猶大的郡邑中,決不是最小的,因為將由你出來一位領袖;他將牧養我的百姓以色列。』」於是,黑落德暗暗把賢士叫來,仔細詢問他們那星出現的時間;然後打發他們往白冷去,說:「你們去仔細尋訪那嬰孩,幾時找到了,就向我報告,好讓我也去朝拜他。」 賢士聽了王的話,就走了。看,他們在東方所見的那星,走在他們前面,直至來到嬰孩所在的地方,就停在上面。他們一見到那星,極其高興歡喜。他們走進屋裡,看見嬰孩和他的母親瑪利亞,就俯伏朝拜了那嬰孩,並打開自己的寶匣,給嬰孩奉獻了禮物,即黃金、乳香和沒藥。賢士在夢中得到指示,不要回到黑落德那裡,就由另一條路,返回自己的地方。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/03/evangelization-helps-us-begin-again/)為準。)

YouTube上有一個很受歡迎的有關鍛煉的頻道,​​其中一個視頻的標題是「你能摸到你背後的手指嗎?(超艱難!)。運動員應該能夠將一隻手放在腦後,另一隻手放在背後,讓雙手手指碰到—–這種靈活性將幫助他們進行適當的鍛煉。

就像身體有生理診斷一樣,我們的健康程度也有神修上的衡量標準。

今天,我們關注的是福傳。一個神修健康的耶穌追隨者樂於分享耶穌,尋找傳福音的方法,並希望全世界都成為祂的追隨者。我的一個朋友的2021年的目標是成為聖人,並邀請50個人認識耶穌。這是健康的神修。今天是主顯節,意思是「顯現」,是耶穌向萬民顯現的時候。看看今天的讀經,我們要檢查神修健康的三個診斷,然後提出解決方案。

如果你是那種灰心喪氣的人,神修診斷的目的不是讓你灰心喪氣,而是告訴我們天主想要我們在哪裡成長。我將這篇講道命名為:「你需要從哪裡開始呢?」

1)在第一篇讀經中天主對耶路撒冷城說:「耶路撒冷啊! 起來炫耀罷! 因為你的光明已經來到,上主的榮耀已經照耀在你身上。萬民要奔赴你的光明,眾王要投奔你升起的光輝。舉起你的眼向四方觀望罷! 他們都聚集來到你這裏:你的眾子要從遠方而來,」(依60:1,3-4)。公元前586年,耶路撒冷的聖殿被巴比倫人摧毀,幾年後的今天,上主給了他們一個希望,那就是「上主的榮耀已經照耀在你身上」,「眾王要投奔你升起的光輝。萬國將會降臨到你們的光芒中。」關鍵是上主會救贖耶路撒冷,人們會在他們身上看到上主!

當人們看著我們時,他們看到的是什麼?是:天主教徒和倖存者嗎?天主教徒和茁壯成長的嗎?還是天主教徒和迷惘的?我們擁有世界上最偉大的恩賜———耶穌,但有時因我們的問題掩蓋了祂的光芒。

想想看:耶穌有著迷人的個性。當人們見到祂時,他們都被深深地吸引住了。當人們見到聖德肋撒修女時,他們知道他們正站在一個神聖的人面前。

我哥哥和我經常用這個事實來診斷我們作為神職人員的身份。如果我們過好神父的生活,人們會想要和我們交談,聽聽耶穌給了我們什麼,年輕人也會考慮當神父。

我給你的建議是,如果人們沒有被你心中的基督吸引,問問你自己,是什麼阻礙了祂?也許聖神想讓你在即將到來的一年裡治愈好自己,也許是通過心理輔導。也許在幫助你的孩子之前,你需要先處理好你的婚姻,因為第一篇讀讀經說:「你的眾子要從遠方而來,你的女兒要被抱回來」(依60:4 )。當我們的孩子反抗我們時,可能是因為我們沒有像生活在福音中的父母一樣。

請照顧好自己!天主教教理談到「對自己的愛legitimate love of self(2264),聖德蘭寫道,「那麼,為了天主的愛,照顧好身體,因為很多時候身體必須為靈魂服務。」(https://www.ccel.org/ccel/teresa/life.viii.xii.html).。

我看到你們許多人從周末退省歸來,你們都充滿了天主的愛。今年,為了你自己,也為了你周圍的人,考慮那樣做。

2)我們今天的聖詠有這樣一句話:「他(天主)將統治大地,從這海到那海(72:8)。在拉丁語中,這被翻譯為“et domabitur a mari usque ad mare ”。你會在你的加拿大護照上看到這一句,因為「從這海到那海」是加拿大的國訓。我的觀點是,在加拿大建國時,大多數人都是基督徒,雖然他們並不完美,但他們比我們今天更公開地踐行自己的信仰。

當我們神修健康時,我們就會敞開心扉,對自己的信仰充滿信心。耶穌是我們生活的中心。我們作為天主的兒女的身份是我們最深層的存在,我們不能隱藏它。

當我們以這首聖詠祈禱時,祈求天主掌管整個世界,是因為我們相信耶穌是天主,是人類心靈的答案。你認為耶穌是解決生活問題的良方嗎?

一些家長說,「我是天主教徒,但我不會強迫我的孩子照做。當他們長大後,他們可以選擇他們相信的東西。」你能想像瑪利亞和約若瑟對耶穌說:「耶穌,我們信上主。但當你長大後,你可以選擇是否要遵守盟約。」耶穌會說,「媽,爸,你沒事吧?」天主教徒相信他們的信仰,因為它讓他們的生活變得更容易;其實是讓他們變得更好,不一定是更容易。我們相信是因為我們認為這是真的。這不是強迫的問題。顯然,孩子們有選擇的自由,這是一個希望和努力的問題。當我們相信耶穌是道路、真理和生命時,我們就希望並全心全意地讓耶穌成為我們孩子生活的中心。我聽過無神論者說過同樣的話,「我相信這點,因為我認為這是真的,我只想讓我的孩子追隨真理。」他們是始終如一的。

談到希望和努力,我們對Alpha這個傳福音的大好機會懷有熱情嗎?我們有設法邀請人們參加,為他們祈禱嗎?如果我們不那麼熱衷於傳福音,那麼讓我們重新開始吧,也許今年要花一年的時間來尋找我們問題的答案。多花點時間閱讀,設法更有理智地了解自己的信仰。比如: 上天主教的網站: catholic.com or magiscenter.com 以尋找答案。

3)在第二篇讀經中,聖保祿寫道:「想你們必聽說過天主的恩寵,為了你們賜與我的職分,」(厄3:2)。這「天主的恩寵」」是什麼意思?他有責任向非猶太人傳福音。 「恩寵」的另一個意思是「管家stewardship」指的是管理主人家的管家。而且,我們可能還記得耶穌的話,僕人必須向主人交代他們的管家職責。

讓我提醒大家,我們有莊嚴的責任去傳福音,因為這是愛的本質。當我們得到愛的時候,給予愛是唯一正確的選擇。聖經教導說:「天主是愛」(若1:4:16),所以,如果我們接受了天主,我們不是應該幫助人們找到他們的創造者和天父呢?

以下是我們忘記恩寵的六個原因和一些解決方案:

1.我們遵循的是目前的天主教文化,充其量也就是平庸。解決的辦法是:跟隨聖人,他們向我們展示了真正的基督徒生活。真福Carlo Acutis 也許是第一位電子遊戲圈,擁有社交網站的聖人 , 他的網頁至今還在運作。

2.我們心煩意亂:我們的生活太忙了,新的一年是洞察天主為我們設定目標的絕佳時機。就像我們兩天前說的(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/01/begin-again-by-going-to-the-heart/),注意天主在你們心中所說的話,並專注於此。

3.我們陷入了神修上的自戀:接受天主的愛感覺很好,例如,我很容易只想著照顧你。因此,我必須有意識地讓我們所有人都走出我們的舒適區,去接觸那些不認識和不愛耶穌的人。同樣,你也需要走出自我,幫助別人。

4.我們用行動傳福音,而不是用言語–這是最重要的部分,但還不夠。你知道有誰的父母會說:「我只通過我的行動來教我的孩子明白是非,單憑觀察我,他們就發現永遠不應撒謊、永遠努力工作、永遠不花太多時間在上網。 」?耶穌用言語,我們也必須用言語。以他們進行虔誠的交流,正如我們以前提過的,全面注意他們的生活。

5.「我不知道怎麼傳福音。」如果這是你不成長的反復原因,你可能是在找藉口。嘗試上 uevangelize.org 這個網站, 那有很多如何與他人談論信仰、另人驚訝的和實用的好方法!

6.「神父,我很害羞。這是你必須自己克服的問題!

任何人都不應該氣餒,因為我們現在對如何成長有了更好的想法!看看我們在2020年的多方面的成長!

讓我們以一個鼓舞人心、告訴我們「挑戰是不能停下來」的故事來結束。聖若望鮑斯高St. John Bosco曾經做過一個關於聖多明我沙維豪St. Dominic Savio的夢,在夢中他看到了一個像天堂一樣的地方,那裡有晶瑩剔透的水,金色的樹木,每個人都充滿了巨大的喜悅。

有一次,聖若望鮑斯高問起聖多明我沙維豪那些學校裡那些他嘗試向他們傳福音的男孩們!在這個夢裡,他看到他的許多男孩們都很開心,聖多明我告訴他,他做了很多好事:「那裡所有的人都是—–受你教育過的人和你的孩子們,或者…已經走上通往天主的道路的人;他們都有可能獲得救贖。你試數數看!但如果你對天主有更大的信心和信任,數目會更多,更多。 」太鼓舞人心了,也是具有挑戰性的。

聖若望鮑斯高的反應跟我們的一樣:「我聽到這個告誡非常驚嘆,並決心未來對天主的信任將是無限的。」(Forty Dreams of St. John Bosco, 64-65).

傳福音幫助我們重新開始。

Posted: January 3, 2021

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

【主日聖言與反省】當外邦人來到耶路撒冷的時候 Edmond Lo

當賢士向馬槽裏軟弱無力的嬰孩朝拜時, 就是這奧秘要成為現實的時刻,也是時候讓耶路撒冷成為世界歷史的核心,讓熙雍女子成為基督的新娘 — 即聖而公的教會。

繼續閱讀 >
主日的聖言與反省 (乙年主顯節) : 信仰旅程 吳智勳神父

主顯節是個重大的節日,從前稱為三王來朝,那是不太正確的稱呼,因為聖經既沒有說是三個,更沒有說他們是皇帝,稱他們為賢士或聰明人似乎比較妥當。主顯表示天主顯示自己給人,首先是猶太人,後是外邦人,整件事表示耶穌基督是全人類的救主。

繼續閱讀 >
【神修話語】主顯節 – 何庭耀神父

這個周末,教會慶祝主顯節,紀念耶穌向三種人顯示自己:其一、祂在接受來自東方的三位賢士所獻上的禮品顯示自己給外邦 […]

在線聆聽 >