How to be joyful?

Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Zephaniah 2:3; 3:12-13

Seek the LORD, all you humble of the earth, who have observed his law; seek justice, seek humility; perhaps you may be sheltered on the day of the LORD's anger. But I will leave as a remnant in your midst a people humble and lowly, who shall take refuge in the name of the LORD: the remnant of Israel. They shall do no wrong and speak no lies; nor shall there be found in their mouths a deceitful tongue; they shall pasture and couch their flocks with none to disturb them.

1 Corinthians 1:26-31

Consider your own calling, brothers and sisters. Not many of you were wise by human standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. Rather, God chose the foolish of the world to shame the wise, and God chose the weak of the world to shame the strong, and God chose the lowly and despised of the world, those who count for nothing, to reduce to nothing those who are something, so that no human being might boast before God. It is due to him that you are in Christ Jesus, who became for us wisdom from God, as well as righteousness, sanctification, and redemption, so that, as it is written, "Whoever boasts, should boast in the Lord."

Matthew 5:1-12A

When Jesus saw the crowds, he went up the mountain, and after he had sat down, his disciples came to him. He began to teach them, saying: "Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are they who mourn, for they will be comforted. Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the land. Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be satisfied. Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. Blessed are the clean of heart, for they will see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God. Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when they insult you and persecute you and utter every kind of evil against you falsely because of me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven."

Today’s Gospel is one of the most beautiful and important text in the New Testament. It is the beginning of the Sermon on the Mount – the eight Beatitudes.

“Jesus went onto the mountain site. And when he was seated his disciples came to him.” (Matthew 5:1) In Old Testament, Moses went up the mountain to get the Ten Commandments, and Jesus is now the new Moses, giving us the new law. “Seat”, in the ancient world, was a position of authority. A teacher would be seated, and his disciples would be at his feet. So, Jesus is in a solemn way, teaching us about his vision, laying out his program. Why is this text so important? Because it is the Son of God telling us how to be happy! Please notice that Jesus speaks not primarily about obligation, law, or demand. He first talks about joy. Joy is what the Lord has wanted from the beginning. It is what religion is all about! “Beatitudos”, in Latin, means joy and happiness. Everything flows from this; everything circles around it.

As we listen with great attention to this sermon, I would suggest a new way of ordering the famous eight Beatitudes, with the beginning of these two: “Blessed are the merciful” (Matthew 5:7), and “Blessed are the peacemakers” (Matthew 5:7). These two named the very heart of the spiritual program, in which we participate most directly in the divine life. God is mercy. “Hesed,” in Hebrew, means “tender mercy.” It is often used to describe God. God is merciful and compassionate (from Latin word “compati” – to suffer with). When we are full of compassion, we are entering into the suffering of the others, their joy, anguish, and pain. This is what compassion means and what God is, who is by nature, compassion and love. Therefore, how blessed are we if we live like God as a person of mercy. If we are feeling depressed and unhappy, engage in a simple act of compassionate love. Show mercy and we will find joy.

Secondly, God is essentially peace, harmony, and consonance. He is a communio of peace. When God creates, he creates in a non-violent manner to assure it is a generous act of love that brings the world into being. When the risen Jesus appears to his disciples, he says to them, “Shalom”, which is the peace that comes from the very heart of God. It is offered to his disciples and to our Church. Therefore, when we make peace, we are participating in the divine life. Become someone who in all his gestures creates the conditions for peace. This is Christian life. Seek mercy and peace, and become a conduit of these two.

Once the goal is clear, then we should want them with all our heart, soul, and strength. We should desire them in a clear and focused way. So, listen to one of the other two Beatitudes. “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for uprightness” (Matthew 5:7). What are we hungering and thirsting for? It is a good spiritual question. Jesus says you will be happy if you seek your hunger and thirst, not for the trivial things in this world, but for righteousness, and this means for mercy and peace. Here is a related one: “Blessed are the pure in heart (cleanness of heart)” (Matthew 5:8). It means that we have one clear desire and focus in our heart, the deepest center of the self. What is in your heart? Is it cluttered, unclean, divert in all things? Seek this one thing with purity of heart: Seek to be like God, which is the divine mercy, and you will be happy.

Having surveying the above four Beatitudes, may I suggest the remaining ones can be seen in clear light, because they give us the conditions that make this central desire possible. They articulate means by which great end can be best achieved.

One of the principle blocks to attaining mercy and peace is a preoccupation with material things. So, “Blessed are the poor in spirit” (Matthew 5:3). How happy we will be if we are detached from material things, because then we can hunger and thirst for righteousness, and we will have room in our heart for the tender mercy of God. Moreover, if we have some wealth, we will know what to do with it. We will use it as means of expressing God’s mercy.

Another blockage to attain divine life is that we get hung up on good feelings. So, “Blessed are those who mourn” (Matthew 5:5). We think we would not be happy unless we feel good all the time. If negative experiences flooded into our life, we convince ourselves we are not content. In fact, authentic compassion, mercy and love will sometimes hurt deeply. When we walk in a way of love, it will be the center of our life, not pleasure. Therefore, we must rid ourselves of attachment to good feelings if we want to be truly happy.

A preoccupation with power is also another stumbling block to attain mercy and peace. So, “Blessed are the meek (lowly)” (Matthew 5:4). When we are so hooked up on the goods and values of this world, we become ruthless in pursuit. We make ourselves interiorly miserable. Blessed are those who are detached from earthly power, honor, and glory. It frees us for what is truly good, which is doing God’s will. Blessed are we if we find that freedom.

Finally, an obsession with being liked can prevent the realization of divine life in us. So, “Blessed are you when people abuse you and persecute you and speak all kinds of calumny against you falsely on my account” (Matthew 5:11) Many of us base our lives on seeking approval of others. We crave popularity among our friends and find titles in workplace. Nevertheless, doing the will of God sometimes can involve anything but approval. Therefore, how happy are we if we are not attached to the approval of others, because then we can achieve mercy and peace, with cleanness of heart. We can hunger and thirst for what is right and good.

So, friends, here it is the program. Do you want to be a joyful person? Incorporate these eight Beatitudes as the structuring elements of our life. We have the guarantee from the son of God for happiness.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including BLESSED ARE WE”, “HOW TO BE HAPPY”, “THE BEATITUDES: A SPIRITUAL PROGRAM” and “THE PROGRAM FOR FREEDOM. For more information, please visit Word On Fire

Posted: January 29, 2017

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Epiphanies in our life
Today’s readings are about God’s epiphanies in our life, but we need patience, focused listening, and faith before we can hear or see them. Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >

怎樣才可以歡欣喜悅?

常年期第四主日

索福尼亞先知書 2:3; 3:12-13

地上所有遵守他法律的卑微人!你們應尋求上主,你們要追求公義,要務求謙和,也許你們在上主憤怒的日子,能藏身免禍。但我必在你中間,留下謙遜和貧苦的百姓;他們必依賴上主的名號。以色列的遺民不再作惡,也不再說謊;在他們的口裡,也再找不到欺詐的舌頭。的確,他們或是牧放,或是休息,再沒有人來恐嚇他們。

格林多前書 1:26-31

弟兄姊妹們:你們看看你們是怎樣蒙召的:按肉眼來看,你們當中有智慧的人並不多,有權勢的人也不多,顯貴的人也不多。天主偏召選了世上愚妄的,為羞辱那有智慧的;召選了世上懦弱的,為羞辱那堅強的;甚至天主召選了世上卑賤的和受人輕視的,以及那些一無所有的,為消滅那些有的,為使一切有血肉的人,在天主前無所誇耀。你們得以結合於基督耶穌,全是由於天主,也是由於天主,基督成了我們的智慧、正義、聖化者和救贖者,正如經上所記載的:「凡要誇耀的,應因主而誇耀。」

瑪竇福音 5:1-12

那時候,耶穌一見群眾,就上了山,坐下;他的門徒來到他面前,他於是開口教訓他們說:「神貧的人是有福的,因為天國是他們的。「哀慟的人是有福的,因為他們要受安慰。「溫良的人是有福的,因為他們要承受土地。「飢渴慕義的人是有福的,因為他們要得飽飫。「憐憫人的人是有福的,因為他們要受憐憫。「心裡潔淨的人是有福的,因為他們要看見天主。「締造和平的人是有福的,因為他們要稱為天主的子女。「為義而受迫害的人是有福的,因為天國是他們的。「幾時人為了我而辱罵迫害你們,捏造一切壞話毀謗你們,你們是有福的。你們歡喜踴躍吧!因為你們在天上的賞報是豐厚的。」

今天的福音是新約聖經裡,其中最美麗和重要的一篇。就是「真福八端」—山中聖訓的開始。

耶穌「就上山,坐下後,門徒來到祂面前」(瑪 5:1) 。在舊約裡,梅瑟上山取得十誡。現在,耶穌是新梅瑟,給我們新誡命。在古時,「座位」是權力的象徵。師傅會坐下來,門徒在他的腳下受教。同樣地,耶穌用了此嚴肅的方式來教導我們祂的願景,展示給我們祂的方案。為什麼這篇福音這樣重要?因為天主子親自告訴我們怎樣才會歡樂!請注意,耶穌基本上沒有談及責任、誡律或要求。祂首先談及的是喜樂。從一開始,天主最想我們獲得的是喜樂。這也是宗教的意義! “Beatitudos” 拉丁原文是歡喜和快樂。一切從喜樂而來,一切都圍繞着喜樂。

當我們細心聆聽這人所共知篇的「真福八端」時,我提議用其中的一種排列,就從這兩端為開始:「憐憫人的人真有福」(瑪 5:7),和「締造和平的人真有福」(瑪 5:7)。這兩端是此屬靈方案的中心,也是我們直接參與從天主而來的生命。天主是慈悲。”Hesed”—希伯來語的意思是「溫柔的慈悲」,常被用來形容天主。天主是富於慈悲和憐憫的 (拉丁語 “compati” 是一同受苦的意思)。當我們富於憐憫,便進入別人的痛苦、喜樂、憂傷和苦惱。這就是憐憫的意思,也就是天主。天主的本性是憐憫和愛。如果我們生活得像天主,做一個慈悲的人,我們是多麼有福。如果我們現感到沮喪或不開心,就做一件簡簡單單,憐憫人的愛德善行。在表現慈悲時,我們便會找到喜樂。

第二,天主是平安、和諧與協調的。祂是和平的共融。天主創造天地萬物的時候,祂以非暴力形式來創造,以確保世界來自慷慨的愛德行為。當復活的耶穌顯現給祂的門徒時,祂的第一句話是:「平安」,意思是來自天主心中的平安。祂把這平安送給祂的門徒和教會。因此,與人和諧共融時,我們便參與來自天主的生命。做一個舉手投足為和平締造條件的人吧!這也就是基督徒的生命。尋找慈悲與和平,把慈悲與和平連接起來。

當目標清楚後,我們便應全心和全靈地強力追求,也應該清晰專心地渴望。現在聽聽另外二端真福中的一端。「慕義如飢似渴的人真有福」(瑪 5:7)。我們飢渴什麼?這是一個好的靈修問題。耶穌說你若為義,而不是為世間事物而飢渴,那就是慈悲與和平。相關的一端「心地純潔 (心裡潔淨) 的人真有福」(瑪 5:8)。意思是,在我們心中,在自己五內的最深處, 有一個清晰的渴望和專注。你的心裡有什麼?心裡面是否不整齊乾淨,或注意力不集中?用純潔的心去找尋唯一件事:找尋肖似天主,來自祂的慈悲,你便會快樂。

細察以上四端後,我們已能看得清楚餘下幾端,而這幾端為我們提供了實踐這中心渴望的條件,也清楚告訴我們完成這偉大目標的方法。

過份專注物質是達至慈悲與和平的其中一個主要障礙。所以「神貧的人真有福」(瑪 5:3)。如果我們不受世物的吸引而綀博,我們會很快樂。若我們慕義如飢似渴,我們的心便得容下天主的溫柔仁慈。到我們是富有時,便會知道怎樣善用財富,彰顯天主的慈悲。

過份喜歡愉快的感覺是我們得到來自天主的生命的另一障礙。因此,「哀慟的人真有福」(瑪5:5) 。我們有種錯覺,就是除非令自己的觸覺感到愉快,否則我們便不會快樂,更不應該面對生命裡的負面經驗和傷害。其實真正的同情與憐憫、慈悲和愛情有時會帶來很深的傷害。我們生命的中心是在愛的路上同行,而不是霋時感覺愉快。要得到真快樂,我們不要戀棧觸覺的暢快。

太專注於權力是達至慈悲與和平的另一阻礙。所以,「溫良 (卑微低下) 的人真有福。」(瑪5:5) 。如果我們看重世物,我們便會不擇手段地追求,令自己內心非常懊惱。不在乎世間權力、名譽和榮耀的人是有福的。我們有自由去做真正的好事,就是承行天主的旨意。如果找到那份自由,我們便是有福。

最後,沉迷於得到別人喜愛亦會阻礙我們得到來自天主的生命。所以,「幾時有人為了我而辱罵迫害你們,捏造一切壞話譭謗你們,真有福」(瑪5:11)。很多人的一生都在追求別人的認同 — 在朋輩中,我們渴望受人喜愛、愛慕和擁戴。在工作岡位上,我們更四處找尋名聲人望。其實承行天主的旨意往往是得不到世人的認同。如果我們不着眼別人的認同而心裡潔淨,便能得到慈悲與和平。我們便能因為做對的事和美好的事而如飢似渴。

朋友,這就是歡欣喜悅的祕訣。你想做一個歡喜快樂的人嗎?融合「真福八端」為我們生命的支柱吧!天主之子將必保證我們快樂。

鳴謝
這是Bishop Robert Barron講道的摘錄, 包括 “BLESSED ARE WE”, “HOW TO BE HAPPY”, “THE BEATITUDES: A SPIRITUAL PROGRAM” 和 “THE PROGRAM FOR FREEDOM”。.詳情請溜覽 Word On Fire

Posted: January 29, 2017

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第四主日:真福八端的挑戰 吳智勳神父

山中聖訓(瑪5-7章)濃縮地道出基督徒應有的生活,真福八端是山中聖訓的序言、天國大憲章的開始。瑪竇有意突出這是新開始,故拿梅瑟來作比較。梅瑟在山上接受十誡,使以色列子民開始新生活;耶穌卻以自己的權威,在山上「頒布」新約憲章,指出基督徒生活的準則。真福八端每端都具革命性,挑戰人以全新的態度去生活。

繼續閱讀 >