Humility is the pathway to God

Thirtieth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sirach 35:12-14, 16-18

The LORD is a God of justice, who knows no favorites. Though not unduly partial toward the weak, yet he hears the cry of the oppressed. The Lord is not deaf to the wail of the orphan, nor to the widow when she pours out her complaint. The one who serves God willingly is heard; his petition reaches the heavens. The prayer of the lowly pierces the clouds; it does not rest till it reaches its goal, nor will it withdraw till the Most High responds, judges justly and affirms the right, and the Lord will not delay.

2 Timothy 4:6-8, 16-18

Beloved: I am already being poured out like a libation, and the time of my departure is at hand. I have competed well; I have finished the race; I have kept the faith. From now on the crown of righteousness awaits me, which the Lord, the just judge, will award to me on that day, and not only to me, but to all who have longed for his appearance. At my first defense no one appeared on my behalf, but everyone deserted me. May it not be held against them! But the Lord stood by me and gave me strength, so that through me the proclamation might be completed and all the Gentiles might hear it. And I was rescued from the lion's mouth. The Lord will rescue me from every evil threat and will bring me safe to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory forever and ever. Amen.

Luke 18:9-14

Jesus addressed this parable to those who were convinced of their own righteousness and despised everyone else. “Two people went up to the temple area to pray; one was a Pharisee and the other was a tax collector. The Pharisee took up his position and spoke this prayer to himself, ‘O God, I thank you that I am not like the rest of humanity -- greedy, dishonest, adulterous -- or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week, and I pay tithes on my whole income.’ But the tax collector stood off at a distance and would not even raise his eyes to heaven but beat his breast and prayed, ‘O God, be merciful to me a sinner.’ I tell you, the latter went home justified, not the former; for whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and the one who humbles himself will be exalted.”

I believe many of us cannot but marvel at Jesus’ mastery in story-telling. Today’s Gospel reading is one of the memorable parables that Jesus used as a means of bringing out His message.

The characters in the parable that Jesus employed are an oppugnant pair in Jesus’ time – a Pharisee and a tax collector. The Pharisee, who not only strictly observes the Law, but even goes far beyond it, is both self-righteous and righteous in the eyes of many Jews. On the other hand, the tax collector, due to the nature of his job, is publicly regarded as sinner and often being despised. While the Pharisees’ words are probably true, they are no prayer but braggadocio! And while the tax collector may truly be a sinner, he acknowledges his sins and feels sorry for them. So while the Pharisee feels that God needs him, the tax collector feels he needs God; his need for God’s mercy.

The story ends with a famous saying which can be found in four different contexts in both Matthew’s and Luke’s Gospels (rf Mt 18:4, 23:12; Lk 14:11, 18:14) – “everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted” (Lk 18:14). The collection of similar sayings throughout the Synoptic Gospels teach that humility is the pathway to God and a prerequisite to be Jesus’ disciple. They depict a complete reversal of situations – the first become last (rf Mt 20:16, Lk 14:7-11); the greatest, the least (rf Lk 9:48, Mk 9:33-37, Lk 22:24-30, Mt 20:20-28); the leader, the servant (rf Mk 10:41-45, Lk 22:24-27 Mt 23:8-11). In Luke’s Gospel, the first glimpse of such reversal of situation is in Mary’s Magnificat. It is the lowly handmaid who would receive praise throughout all generations; it is the poor and humble whom God would lift up and it is the hungry that God would fill them with good things (rf Lk 1:46-55).

The Hebrew word anaw means humble, lowly or meek. It is a favorite word found in the books of Psalms and Proverbs. A person of such disposition is described as one who is dear to God. He will hear his/her prayers and will uplift, defend and save such a one. In the New Testament, it is from the lips of Jesus that affirms such favor of God. This is the attitude that the tax collector displayed, a proper manner before God and therefore “he went back to his home justified rather than the [Pharisee]” (Lk 18:14).

Inasmuch as humility wins favor from God, it also enhances one’s life and relationship with others. In social encounters, a humble person is more approachable and welcoming than the one who is arrogant and aloof. In potential conflicts, a humble person is more likely to avoid unnecessary hostility and confrontation. In personal hurts, a humble person will not retaliate but entrust himself/herself to God who “judges justly” (1 Pt 2:23) and in facing challenges and hardships, a humble person who acknowledges self inadequacy, will not be discouraged but depend on God for strength and guidance.

Humility is not weakness rather, as St Augustine says, it is “the foundation of all the other virtues hence, in the soul in which this virtue does not exist, there cannot be any other virtue except in mere appearance” – as is reflected in the Pharisee today.

Posted: October 27, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

What do I want to be when I grow up?
We are “formed” by God; “called to be saints” and chosen to bring the Good News to all; to testify for our Lord Jesus Christ. Continue Reading >
The Feast of the Baptism of the Lord
“I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?” (Matthew 3:14)
"Let it be so for now, for it is proper for us in this way to fulfill all righteousness" (Matthew 3:15) Continue Reading >
The Feast of the Baptism of the Lord
How to Realize You’re Special
Bob was only 13 when his father left the family. Being the second oldest of seven children, Bob felt he had to become the man of the home. Weeks later,… Continue Reading >

謙遜是通往天主之路

常年期第三十主日

德訓篇 35:12-14,16-18

上主是審判者,決不看情面。他決不偏袒任何人,而加害窮人;他倒樂於俯聽受壓迫者的祈禱。他決不輕視孤兒的哀求,及寡婦訴苦的歎息。凡誠心誠意恭敬天主的,必蒙接納;他的祈禱上徹雲霄。謙卑人的祈禱,穿雲而上,不達到目的,決不罷休;不等至高者見了,為義人伸冤,執行正義,決不離開。上主決不遲延。

弟茂德後書 4:6-8,16-18

親愛的:我已被奠祭,我離世的時期,已經近了。這場好仗,我已打完;這場賽跑,我已跑到終點;這信仰,我已保持了。從今以後,正義的冠冕,已為我預備好了,就是主、正義的審判者,到那一日,必要賞賜給我的;不但賞賜給我,而且也賞賜給一切愛慕他顯現的人。在我初次過堂時,沒有人在我身旁;眾人都離棄了我。願天主不歸罪於他們!但是,主卻在我左右,堅固了我,使福音的宣講,藉著我而完成,使一切外邦人,都能聽見;我也從獅子口中,被救了出來。主要救我脫離各種凶惡的事,也要使我安全地進入他天上的國。願光榮歸於他,於無窮世之世!阿們。

路加福音 18:9-14

那時候,耶穌向幾個自充為義人,而輕視其他人的人,設了這個比喻:「有兩個人上聖殿去祈禱:一個是法利塞人,另一個是稅吏。「那個法利塞人站著,心裡這樣祈禱:天主,我感謝你,因為我不像其他人,勒索、不義、姦淫,也不像這個稅吏。我每周兩次禁食,凡我所得的,都捐獻十分之一。「那個稅吏卻遠遠地站著,連舉目望天都不敢,只是捶著自己的胸膛說:天主,可憐我這個罪人吧!「我告訴你們:這稅吏回到他家裡,成了正義的人,而那法利塞人卻不然。因為凡高舉自己的,必被貶抑;凡貶抑自己的,必被高舉。」

我相信很多人都會讚嘆耶穌講故事的技巧。今天的福音讀經,是耶穌用來帶出祂訊息的其中一個令人難忘的比喻。

耶穌比喻中的主角,在當時是兩個相反對立的人 — 一個法利塞人和一個稅吏。法利塞人不但嚴守律法,甚至做得比律法要求更多,是一個自以為正義的人,也是當時很多猶太人心目中的義人。在另一方面,那個稅吏由於工作的本質,被大眾認為是罪人,經常被人看不起。法利塞人所說的話,可能是真的,卻不是禱告,而只是自大的宣言!稅吏可能真是罪人,但他承認且痛悔自己的罪。所以法利塞人自覺得天主需要他,而稅吏卻覺得他需要天主;他需要天主的憐憫。

這故事以一名句來結束,這句話也在《瑪竇福音》和《路加福音》裏面四個不同的情況下找到(參 瑪 18:4, 23:12; 路 14:11, 18:14) — 「凡高舉自己的,必被貶抑,凡貶抑自己的,必被高舉」(路 18:14)。類似的說話,多次在對觀福音中出現,教導我們謙遜是通往天主之路,是做耶穌門徒的先決條件。這些說話所描寫的是被完全逆轉 的情境 — 首席成為末席(參 瑪 20:16, 路14:7-11); 最大的成為最小的 (參 路 9:48, 瑪 9:33-37, 路 22:24-30, 瑪 20:20-28); 首領成為僕人 (參 谷 10:41-45, 路 22:24-27 瑪 23:8-11)。在《路加福音》首次看到逆轉的情境是在聖母瑪利亞的【讚主曲】中。是上主的卑微婢女在萬世萬代被稱為有福;是卑微貧困的人上主舉揚,是饑餓者得飽饗美物(參 路1:46-55)。

希伯來語 “ anaw” 這個字的意思是謙虛、卑微或溫順,是《聖詠集》和《箴言》很歡喜用的一個字。這樣性格的人被描寫為天主喜愛的人。天主會聽他們的禱告,並會舉揚、保衞和拯救這樣的人。在新約聖經裹,是從耶穌口中肯定了天主對他們的寵愛。稅吏展示出來的就是這種態度,一種在天主面前正確的態度,故此「這稅吏回到他家裡,成了正義的,而那[法利塞人]卻不然」(路 18:12)。

謙遜可以贏得天主的寵愛,亦豐富了人的生命,促進與別人的關係。在社交上,一個謙虛的人比傲慢自大的人較為容易接近,受人歡迎。在可能有衝突的時候,謙遜的人多數會避免無謂的敵意和對立。在自己受到損害的時候,謙虛的人不會報復而會將自己交給那「照正義行審判」的天主(伯前 2:23)。 在面對挑戰和困難的時候,謙遜的人會承認自己的不足,不會氣餒卻會倚賴天主的力量和指引。

謙遜不是軟弱,如聖奧思定所說,謙遜是「所有德行的基礎,所以一個沒有謙遜美德的靈魂,不會有其他的德行,有的只是在表面而已」 — 今天正好反映在那法利塞人身上。

Posted: October 27, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

自發祈禱 Fr. Jusin Huang

我一生中說過不少愚蠢的話。有一次我遇到一位女士,她說,「我的名字是Sunday(星期天)。」我說,「我叫…。我叫Justin 」。我猶豫了一下,因為其實我正想說,「我的名字是Monday(星期一)。」她可能覺得有些不對勁,不高興了。我感覺很糟糕,因為她可能以前經歷過這種情況。

繼續閱讀 >
丙常年期第三十主日:祈禱的心態 吳智勳神父

讀了今日的福音,我們很容易以為耶穌僅是教人勿自高自大,要自謙自卑,因為天主貶抑驕傲的人,高舉謙遜的人。若是如此,我們可能錯過了比喻最重要的訊息。

繼續閱讀 >