“Men of Galilee, why gaze in wonder at the heavens?” (Acts 1:11)

The Ascension of the Lord

Acts 1:1-11

In the first book, Theophilus, I dealt with all that Jesus did and taught until the day he was taken up, after giving instructions through the Holy Spirit to the apostles whom he had chosen. He presented himself alive to them by many proofs after he had suffered, appearing to them during forty days and speaking about the kingdom of God. While meeting with them, he enjoined them not to depart from Jerusalem, but to wait for "the promise of the Father about which you have heard me speak; for John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit." When they had gathered together they asked him, "Lord, are you at this time going to restore the kingdom to Israel?" He answered them, "It is not for you to know the times or seasons that the Father has established by his own authority. But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, throughout Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth." When he had said this, as they were looking on, he was lifted up, and a cloud took him from their sight. While they were looking intently at the sky as he was going, suddenly two men dressed in white garments stood beside them. They said, "Men of Galilee, why are you standing there looking at the sky? This Jesus who has been taken up from you into heaven will return in the same way as you have seen him going into heaven."

Ephesians 1:17-23

Brothers and sisters: May the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, give you a Spirit of wisdom and revelation resulting in knowledge of him. May the eyes of your hearts be enlightened, that you may know what is the hope that belongs to his call, what are the riches of glory in his inheritance among the holy ones, and what is the surpassing greatness of his power for us who believe, in accord with the exercise of his great might, which he worked in Christ, raising him from the dead and seating him at his right hand in the heavens, far above every principality, authority, power, and dominion, and every name that is named not only in this age but also in the one to come. And he put all things beneath his feet and gave him as head over all things to the church, which is his body, the fullness of the one who fills all things in every way.

Mark 16:15-20

Jesus said to his disciples: “Go into the whole world and proclaim the gospel to every creature. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved; whoever does not believe will be condemned. These signs will accompany those who believe: in my name they will drive out demons, they will speak new languages. They will pick up serpents with their hands, and if they drink any deadly thing, it will not harm them. They will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.” So then the Lord Jesus, after he spoke to them, was taken up into heaven and took his seat at the right hand of God. But they went forth and preached everywhere, while the Lord worked with them and confirmed the word through accompanying signs.

“Men of Galilee, why gaze in wonder at the heavens? This Jesus whom you saw ascending into heaven will return as you saw him go”, said two angels appearing as “men in white robes” after Jesus was “lifted up and a cloud took him out of their sight” 40 days after His Resurrection (Acts 1:9-11). The account of the Ascension of our Lord marks the end of the Gospel of Mark and the beginning of the Acts of the Apostles which contains 30 years of Christian history beginning with the Ascension to Paul’s imprisonment in Rome (Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible).

Before His Ascension, Jesus’ mandate to the Apostles is to “be [His] witnesses in Jerusalem, in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth” (Acts 1:8). The Apostles faithfully carried out their mission as recorded in the last verse of the gospel, “They went out and proclaimed the good news everywhere, while the Lord worked with them and confirmed the message by the signs that accompanied it” (Mk 16:20). Our church today is indeed the “one, holy, catholic and apostolic church” that Jesus commissions (Nicene Creed).

The time of the Church begins with the Ascension of our Lord that signifies his participation, in his humanity, in God’s power and authority. The redemption is the source of the authority that Christ, by virtue of the Holy Spirit, exercises over the Church. “God puts his power to work in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand … far above all rule and authority and power and dominion … not only in this age but also in the age to come”, “And he has put all things under his feet and has made him the head over all things for the Church, which is his body” (Eph 1:20-22, Ref ICSB, CCC 668-9).

Since the Ascension, God’s plan has entered into fulfillment. We are now in the final age of the world, the renewal of which is underway.  Jesus confirms the coming of the messianic kingdom to bring humanity justice, love and peace but conceals the precise timing as determined by the Father, “It is not for [us] to know times or seasons which the Father has fixed by his own authority” (Acts 1:7, Ref ICSB, CCC 672). The present time is “the time of the Spirit and of witness, but also a time still marked by ‘distress’ and the trial of evil which does not spare the Church and ushers in the struggles of the last days”, it is a time of waiting and watching for the second coming of Christ in glory (CCC 672).

The second reading is St. Paul’s prayer for the Ephesians. One of the things he prays for them (and for us as well) is that “with the eyes of [their] heart enlightened, [they] may know what is the hope to which Christ has called [them]” (Eph 1:18).  We are the faithful who believe that “He will come again to judge the living and the dead and his kingdom will have no end”. As we endure the inevitable challenges, struggles and trials of the world, may we remain in joyful hope and “look forward to the resurrection of the dead and the life of the world to come” (Nicene Creed). Amen.

Posted: May 16, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Perfect Freedom is Found in Christ
In June of this year, I read an article by Sohrab Ahmari, an Iranian who converted to Catholicism in 2016, and about his anxiety as a new father. The anxiety… Continue Reading >
The Mystery of Suffering
The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the pre-Pentecost… Continue Reading >
Jesus' mission in one word
“Today, if you hear [God's] voice, hardened not your hearts” Continue Reading >

「加里肋亞人!你們為什麼站著望天呢﹖ 」(宗 1:11)

耶穌升天節(節日)

宗徒大事錄 1:1-11

德敖斐羅,我在第一部書中,已論及耶穌所行所教的一切,直到他藉聖神,囑咐了所選的宗徒之後,被接去的那一天為止。他受難以後,用了許多憑據,向他們顯明自己還活著,四十天之久,顯現給他們,講論天主國的事。耶穌與他們一起進食時,吩咐他們不要離開耶路撒冷,但要等候父的恩許,說:「你們聽我所說過的,若翰固然以水施了洗,但不多幾天以後,你們要因聖神受洗。」他們聚集的時候,就問耶穌說:「主,現在就要給以色列復國嗎?」耶穌回答說:「父以自己的權柄,所定的時間和日期,不是你們應當知道的;但當聖神降臨於你們身上時,你們將充滿聖神的德能,要在耶路撒冷,及全猶太和撒瑪黎雅,並直到地極,為我作證人。」耶穌說完這些話,就在他們觀望中,被舉上升;有一朵雲彩接了他去,離開他們的眼界。他們向天注視著他上升的時候,忽然,有兩個穿白衣的人,站在他們面前,向他們說:「加里肋亞人!你們為什麼站著望天呢?這位離開你們,被接到天上去的耶穌,你們看見他怎樣升了天,也要怎樣降來。」

厄弗所書 1:17-23

弟兄姊妹們:願我們的主耶穌基督的天主,即那光榮的父,把智慧和啟示的神恩,賜與你們,好使你們認識他。並願他光照你們心靈的眼目,為叫你們認清:他的寵召,有什麼希望;在聖徒中,他嗣業的光榮,是怎樣豐厚;他對我們相信的人,所施展強而有效的德能,是怎樣偉大。正如他已將這德能,施展在基督身上,使他從死者中復活,叫他在天上,坐在自己右邊,超乎一切率領者、掌權者、異能者、宰制者,以及一切現世及來世,可稱呼的名號以上。天主又將萬有置於他腳下,使他在教會內做至高的元首;這教會就是基督的身體,是基督在一切內,充滿一切的圓滿。

馬爾谷福音 16:15-20

那時候,耶穌顯現給十一位宗徒,對他們說:「你們往普天下去,向一切受造物,宣傳福音;信而受洗的,必要得救;但不信的,必被判罪。「信的人,必有這些奇蹟相隨:因我的名驅逐魔鬼、說新語言、手拿毒蛇,甚或喝了什麼致命的毒物,也不會受害;按手在病人身上,可使人痊瘉。」主耶穌給宗徒說了這些話以後,就被接升天,坐在天主的右邊。宗徒出去,到處宣講;主與他們合作,並以奇蹟相隨,證實所傳的道理。

耶穌復活後四十天,祂「被舉上升,有塊雲彩接了祂去,離開【宗徒們】的眼界」,兩位天使出現為「兩個穿白衣的人」對他們說「加里肋亞人!你們為什麼站著望天呢﹖ 這位離開你們,被接到天上去的耶穌,你們看見他怎樣升了天,也要怎樣降來」(宗 1:11)。上主升天是《馬爾谷福音》的完結篇,也展開了《宗徒大事錄》及其後三十年 的基督宗教歷史 — 從耶穌升天直至保祿在羅馬入獄 (參考  Ignatius Catholic Study Bible)。

在祂升天之前,耶穌交給宗徒們的任務是「在耶路撒冷及全猶太和撒瑪黎雅,並直到地極,為【祂】作證人」(宗 1:8)。福音的最後一節,記錄了宗徒們忠誠地履行使命,「他們出去,到處宣講,主與他們合作,並以奇跡相隨,證實所傳的道理」(谷 16:20)。確實,我們今天的教會是「唯一、至聖、至公、從宗徒傳下來的教會」(信經)。

教會的時代始於耶穌升天,表明祂在自己的人性內,參與了行使天主的能力和權威。救贖是基督權力的來源,祂藉着聖神的德能,在教會內行使權力。「祂已將這德能,施展在基督身上,使祂從死者中復活 ⋯坐在自己右邊,超乎一切率領者、掌權者、異能者、宰制者 ⋯ 以及一切現世及來世」,「又將萬有置於祂脚下,使祂在教會內做至高的元首,這教會就是基督的身體」( 厄 1:20-22, Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible, 天主教教理 668-9) 。

從耶穌升天起,天主的計劃進入了完成的階段。我們現在身處的是世界的最後期,更新亦在進行中。耶穌肯定了默西亞神國將會到來,給人類帶來公義、仁愛與和平,但祂沒有說出準確的時間,這要待天父决定,「父以自己的權柄,所定的時候和日期,不是【我們】應當知道的」(宗 1 :7, Ref ICSB, CCC 672)。 現時是「聖神和見證的時刻,但也是一個標誌著『急難』和邪惡考驗的時刻,連教會也不能倖免。此刻也開始了最後時期的戰鬥」,這是警醒和等待耶穌再次光榮地來臨的時期 (天主教教理 672)。

《讀經二》是聖保祿為厄弗所人的祈禱。他為他們 (也為我們) 祈求的其中一項是「光照【他們】心靈的眼目,為叫【他們】認清:祂的寵召,有什麼希望」(厄 1:18)。我們是相信耶穌的人,相信「祂還要光榮地降來,審判生者死者,祂的神國,萬世無彊」。當我們在忍受世上無可避免的挑戰、挣扎與磨練之時,願我們懷着喜樂的希望「期待死人的復活及來世的生命」(信經)。 亞孟。

 

Posted: May 16, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 聖神降臨節(五旬節主日):火舌的溝通能力 吳智勳神父

教父聖啟祿說:「第一個有生命的人接受了聖神。」創世紀記載:「天主用塵土形成了人,在他的鼻孔內吹了一口生氣,人就成了一個有靈的生物。」(創2:7)教父把上主的氣息,看成是聖神的標記,確是很有見地。

繼續閱讀 >
我們罪惡的根源 Fr. Justin Huang

一位著名的神父馬克·圖普斯(Mark Toups) 用蘋果和盆栽蘋果樹教授精神療愈。他對學生們說:「假設這個蘋果就是你的罪孽。每次你來辦修和聖事時,都會帶來更多的蘋果…。這是一件好事,因為你得到了赦免。但這些罪孽是更深層次的靈魂疾病(樹)的症狀。

繼續閱讀 >