The miracle of the ten lepers

Twenty-eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time

2 Kings 5:14-17

Naaman went down and plunged into the Jordan seven times at the word of Elisha, the man of God. His flesh became again like the flesh of a little child, and he was clean of his leprosy. Naaman returned with his whole retinue to the man of God. On his arrival he stood before Elisha and said, “Now I know that there is no God in all the earth, except in Israel. Please accept a gift from your servant.” Elisha replied, “As the LORD lives whom I serve, I will not take it;” and despite Naaman's urging, he still refused. Naaman said: “If you will not accept, please let me, your servant, have two mule-loads of earth, for I will no longer offer holocaust or sacrifice to any other god except to the LORD.”

2 Timothy 2:8-13

Beloved: Remember Jesus Christ, raised from the dead, a descendant of David: such is my gospel, for which I am suffering, even to the point of chains, like a criminal. But the word of God is not chained. Therefore, I bear with everything for the sake of those who are chosen, so that they too may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, together with eternal glory. This saying is trustworthy: If we have died with him we shall also live with him; if we persevere we shall also reign with him. But if we deny him he will deny us. If we are unfaithful he remains faithful, for he cannot deny himself.

Luke 17:11-19

As Jesus continued his journey to Jerusalem, he traveled through Samaria and Galilee. As he was entering a village, ten lepers met him. They stood at a distance from him and raised their voices, saying, “Jesus, Master! Have pity on us!” And when he saw them, he said, “Go show yourselves to the priests.” As they were going they were cleansed. And one of them, realizing he had been healed, returned, glorifying God in a loud voice; and he fell at the feet of Jesus and thanked him. He was a Samaritan. Jesus said in reply, “Ten were cleansed, were they not? Where are the other nine? Has none but this foreigner returned to give thanks to God?” Then he said to him, “Stand up and go; your faith has saved you.”

In this Sunday’s gospel reading, we hear the miracle that Jesus heals the ten lepers who approach him when he goes through the region between Samaria and Galilee. Jesus heals the ten lepers including a Samaritan, a sign that salvation is not just for the Chosen people. Jesus does not tell them that they will be made clean as in the healing of the leper at the beginning of Jesus’ ministry (rf. Mk 1:41), instead, Jesus said to them “Go and show yourselves to the priests” and they are made clean on their way (Luke 17:14). When the Samaritan, the only one among the ten, returns to Jesus to praise God, Jesus asked “Was none of them found to return and give praise to God except this foreigner?” (Luke 17:18) and then said to him “… your faith has made you well” (Luke 17:19). In this miracle, Jesus teaches us faith and gratitude.

Let us hear more about faith and gratitude in Christian life from Pope Francis. In his General Audience on June 27, 2018, he said that Christian life is our expression of gratitude to our Father in heaven who loves us immensely and gives generously. It is our Father who loves us first and gives first, “First God saves his people in the Red Sea; then on Sinai, he tells them what they have to do”. If we reflect on our own situation, we will be reminded of the graces that God has given us. We must be grateful for the beautiful things he has done and is doing for me in my life. It is on this foundation of gratitude that we build our Christian life, a grateful heart is one “that has been visited by the Holy Spirit”, the Holy Father said. In our journey of faith, we must place this relationship of love with the Father before our Christian obligations and responsibilities. Then we will be able to “obey with joy to the One who has given us so much, infinitely more than we could ever give to him”.

What if I am still struggling to build a relationship of love with the Father; Pope Francis urges us to reflect on our relationship with our Father: am I still living a Christian life … What should I do? Citing from the Book of Exodus, he said “And the people of Israel groaned under their bondage, and cried out for help, and their cry under bondage came up to God. And God heard their groaning, and God remembered his covenant with Abraham, with Isaac, and with Jacob. And God saw the people of Israel, and God knew their condition” (Ex 2:23-25). The Pope encouraged us to cry for help, “Lord save me; teach me the way; give me some joy”. This cry is a prayer; we are aware that there are certain things in us that we need to be freed from. When God hears us, he will help us break our chains to enable us to live joyfully in gratitude.

Let us offer a prayer of thanksgiving to God for all that he has done, is doing and will do for us, Amen.

Posted: October 13, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

十個痳瘋病人的奇蹟

常年期第二十八主日

列王紀下 5:14-17

那時候,納阿曼便下去,按照天主的人的話,在約但河裡,浸了七次;他的肌肉就復原了,如同嬰兒的肌肉一樣,完全潔淨了。納阿曼於是同他的全體隨員,再回到天主的人那裡,站在天主的人面前說:「現在我確實知道:全世界只在以色列有天主。現在,請你收下你僕人的禮物吧!」厄里叟回答說:「我指著我所服事的永生上主起誓:我決不接受。」納阿曼再三催促他接受,厄里叟卻堅決拒絕。納阿曼於是說:「你既不接受,至少請你讓你的僕人,將兩隻騾子所能負荷的泥土,運回家,因為你的僕人,從此不再給別的神,只給上主,奉獻全燔祭和犧牲。」

弟茂德後書 2:8-13

親愛的:你務要記住:根據我所傳的福音,達味的後裔耶穌基督,從死者中復活了。為了這福音,我受苦,以至帶上鎖鏈,如同凶犯一樣;但是,天主的道,決束縛不住。為此,我為蒙選的人,忍受一切,為使他們也獲得那在基督耶穌內的救恩,及永遠的光榮。這話是確實的:如果我們與他同死,也必與他同生;如果我們堅忍到底,也必與他一同為王;如果我們否認他,他也必要否認我們;如果我們不忠信,他仍然是信實的,因為他不能否認自己。

路加福音 17:11-19

耶穌往耶路撒冷去的時候,經過撒瑪黎雅及加里肋亞中間,走進一個村莊。有十個痳瘋病人,迎面而來,遠遠地站著。他們大聲喊說:「師父,耶穌,可憐我們吧!」耶穌定睛一看,向他們說:「你們去,叫司祭們檢驗你們吧!」他們去的時候,便潔淨了。其中一個,看見自己痊瘉了,就回來,大聲光榮天主,並且跪伏在耶穌腳前,感謝他;那人是一個撒瑪黎雅人。耶穌便說:「潔淨了的,不是十個人嗎?那九個人在那裡呢?除了這個外邦人,就沒有別人回來,歸光榮於天主嗎?」耶穌於是給那人說:「起來,去吧!你的信德救了你。」

在本主日的福音讀經,我們聽到耶穌經過撒瑪黎雅及加里肋亞一帶的時候,治癒了十個走向祂的痲瘋病人。耶穌治好的十個患者,包括一個撒瑪黎雅人,象徵着救恩不單是為以色列選民。祂開始公開傳教時,治癒了一個痲瘋患者,衪對他說,他會被潔淨 (參 谷 1:41),這一次,耶穌沒有說病者會被潔淨,卻說:「你們去,叫司祭們檢驗你們吧!」他們去的時候,便潔淨了 (路 17:14)。當那撒瑪黎雅人,十個患者中唯一的一個,回到耶穌處,光榮天主時,耶穌問:「除了這個外邦人,就沒有別人回來,歸光榮於天主嗎?」(路 17:18)於是對那人說:「 ⋯ 你的信德救了你」(路 17:19)。藉著這個奇蹟,耶穌教導我們何謂信德和感恩之心。

讓我們聽聽教宗方濟各有關基督徒生活中信德和感恩的教導。在2018年6月 27日教宗會見信眾時說,天上的父親深愛我們,慷慨地賜予,基督徒的生活是我們表達對祂的感激。我們的父先愛了我們,厚賜了我們。「首先,天主領祂的人民穿過紅海;然後在西乃山,祂告訴他們應做什麼」。如果我們反思自己的情況,便會想起天主所賜予的恩寵。對祂以往及現在所賜的恩惠,要銘感於心。我們要將自己的基督徒生命建基於感激,教宗說:「天主聖神臨在」於一個常懷感恩的心。在信仰路上,我們必要把與天父愛的關係,放在基督徒的責任和義務之前。這樣,我們便能「喜樂地服從厚賜恩寵的那一位,祂所施予的遠遠多過我們可能付出的」。

如果仍然為愛天主而掙扎的話,教宗鼓勵我們反思與天父的關係:我是否仍然過着基督徒的生活 ⋯ 我應該怎麼辦?他引述 《出谷紀》:「那時以色列子民由於勞苦工作,都嘆息哀號:他們因勞役所發出的求救聲,升到天主面前。天主聽見了他們的哀號,就記起了他與亞巴郎、依撒格和雅各伯所立的盟約。天主遂眷顧了以色列子民,特別垂念他們」(出 2:23-25)。教宗鼓勵我們向天主呼求:「上主,救我;指導我的路;讓我得到一些喜樂」。這呼求是祈禱;我們知道要從一些事情中釋放自己。天主聽見禱告,會幫助我們,除去枷鎖,讓我們可以在感恩中喜樂地生活。

為天主對我們一直以來及未來的眷顧,讓我們向天主奉獻感恩的祈禱,亞孟。

Posted: October 13, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

丙常年期第廿八主日:救恩的渴求 吳智勳神父

今日的第一篇讀經和福音明顯地有很多共通點:敘利亞人納阿曼和撒瑪黎雅人,這兩個外邦人都患了痲瘋;兩人都排除初步困難,找到適當的人求醫,納阿曼找到以色列的先知厄里叟,撒瑪黎雅人找到耶穌;

繼續閱讀 >
治愈比想像中更容易 Fr. Jusin Huang

我認識一個人,他有很多問題:他與他最親密的關係、他的工作以及他的生活方向鬥争着。他什麼都抱怨:說天主沒有幫他,人們都是混蛋,政府都是白痴,他嘗試的一切都沒有起過作用。但當有人問他是否可以改變自己的哪些方面時,他拒絕回答。他向周遭寻找解決方案,卻不知道就在自己腳下。

繼續閱讀 >