What are our Difficulties in Prayer?

Seventeenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Gensis 18:20 - 32

In those days, the LORD said: "The outcry against Sodom and Gomorrah is so great, and their sin so grave, that I must go down and see whether or not their actions fully correspond to the cry against them that comes to me. I mean to find out." While Abraham's visitors walked on farther toward Sodom, the LORD remained standing before Abraham. Then Abraham drew nearer and said: "Will you sweep away the innocent with the guilty? Suppose there were fifty innocent people in the city; would you wipe out the place, rather than spare it for the sake of the fifty innocent people within it? Far be it from you to do such a thing, to make the innocent die with the guilty so that the innocent and the guilty would be treated alike! Should not the judge of all the world act with justice?" The LORD replied, "If I find fifty innocent people in the city of Sodom, I will spare the whole place for their sake." Abraham spoke up again: "See how I am presuming to speak to my Lord, though I am but dust and ashes! What if there are five less than fifty innocent people? Will you destroy the whole city because of those five?" He answered, "I will not destroy it, if I find forty-five there." But Abraham persisted, saying "What if only forty are found there?" He replied, "I will forbear doing it for the sake of the forty." Then Abraham said, "Let not my Lord grow impatient if I go on. What if only thirty are found there?" He replied, "I will forbear doing it if I can find but thirty there." Still Abraham went on, "Since I have thus dared to speak to my Lord, what if there are no more than twenty?" The LORD answered, "I will not destroy it, for the sake of the twenty." But he still persisted: "Please, let not my Lord grow angry if I speak up this last time. What if there are at least ten there?" He replied, "For the sake of those ten, I will not destroy it."

Colossians 2:12-14

Brothers and sisters: You were buried with him in baptism, in which you were also raised with him through faith in the power of God, who raised him from the dead. And even when you were dead in transgressions and the uncircumcision of your flesh, he brought you to life along with him, having forgiven us all our transgressions; obliterating the bond against us, with its legal claims, which was opposed to us, he also removed it from our midst, nailing it to the cross.

Luke 11:1-13

Jesus was praying in a certain place, and when he had finished, one of his disciples said to him, "Lord, teach us to pray just as John taught his disciples." He said to them, "When you pray, say: Father, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come. Give us each day our daily bread and forgive us our sins for we ourselves forgive everyone in debt to us, and do not subject us to the final test." And he said to them, "Suppose one of you has a friend to whom he goes at midnight and says, 'Friend, lend me three loaves of bread, for a friend of mine has arrived at my house from a journey and I have nothing to offer him,' and he says in reply from within, 'Do not bother me; the door has already been locked and my children and I are already in bed. I cannot get up to give you anything.' I tell you, if he does not get up to give the visitor the loaves because of their friendship, he will get up to give him whatever he needs because of his persistence. "And I tell you, ask and you will receive; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks, finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. What father among you would hand his son a snake when he asks for a fish? Or hand him a scorpion when he asks for an egg? If you then, who are wicked, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him?"

Our Gospel for this Sunday is of great significance, for in it the Son of God teaches us to pray. We hear from not just a guru, or a spiritual teacher, but from the very Son of God. This is why the “Our Father”, the Lord’s Prayer, is the model of all prayer. The Lord’s Prayer is the prayer for the Christian journey which has been offered up consistently for the past two thousand years. Nevertheless, we often find our prayer as source of great frustration. Perhaps, we listen to the Gospel, we are edified and inspired by it. But then, many people may say, “I pray and pray, but things don’t seem to happen the way I want them to happen.” How do we explain this beautiful and inspiring Gospel, with people’s lived experience runs against it? When we study the scripture in length, there are certain rules, or directives, on how we should pray. I would like to briefly introduce them.

Rule #1: Pray with faith. How often in the New Testament, before Jesus heals someone, does He say, “Do you believe I can do this for you” (Mt 9:28)? Recalling an account when Jesus visits His own town but people do not believe in Him, “He did not work many mighty deeds there because of their lack of faith” (Mt 13:58). Our faith is like the opening of a window. God wants to live in us, and act in us. Nevertheless, the divine power is not going to flow until God finds a place in us, where He can “plug in”. If we shut that down, He cannot enter. Therefore, ask in faith, with a passion for the impossible, or say, “Lord, what I can’t do on my own, I ask more of you to the point that I’ve expected of you.” Jesus says, “I tell you, all that you ask for in prayer, believe that you will receive it and it shall be yours” (Mk 11:24). Faith is necessary in prayer.

Rule #2: Forgiveness. When we pray, and we realize that we need to forgive somebody, go and do it! What blocks our access to God? It may mainly be our anger, resentment, past hatred, and our incapacity to forgive. All of these build up in our soul, and they block the flow of God’s power. God wants to speak in and through us, but if our souls are filled with all kinds of obstacles and blockages, then it will not work. So, forgive those against with whom we have a grievance, heal a broken relationship, get rid of the past frustration, hatred, and resentment. Reconcile then pray.

Rule #3: Persistence. As mention throughout the Bible, God wants us to persist in prayer. Our first reading for today is the famous account of Abraham praying to God on behalf of Sodom. Abraham goes on persistently to beg for God for rescuing the city (Ref. Gn 18:23-32). Keep praying, keep asking, be persistence with the Lord. Why Does God make us wait? Is God too busy to answer? St. Augustine says, “Sometimes God makes us wait because He wants to enlarge the capacity of our soul so as to receive the good He wants to give us” (Ref Tract. 4: PL 35, 2008-2009). So, ask persistently!

Rule #4: Pray in Jesus’ name. When we pray, we are relying on His help. But also, when we pray in Jesus name, we are aligning our prayer properly, orienting ourselves to Christ, assuming his attitude, and his perspective. St. Paul says, ” Have among yourselves the same attitude that is also yours in Christ Jesus” (Phil 2:5). Therefore, we have to pray for the “right things”, focus and sanctify our desires and mind in the Spirit of Jesus. Prayer is not designed so much to change God’s mind than it is to change ours. Rather, He is the one who wants nothing other than to give us good things — though they might not always be the things we want. Practice to pray with all our strength, mind, and heart with the above 4 rules. Then God, Abba Father, “who art in heaven”, who creates, sustains, governs, and provides for us, will transform our prayer into daily miracles in our life.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including “The Ways of Prayer”, and “Rules of Prayer”. For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: July 28, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

“A time of waiting and watching” (CCC 672)
Let us join the psalmist to sing praises to the Lord, who on a day unbeknownst to us, “will judge the world with righteousness, and the peoples with equity.” (Psalm… Continue Reading >
“Cherish the hope God gives of being raised by him” (2 Macc 7:14)
As we journey on over hills and valleys, let us turn our gaze away from our own darkness to the light of Christ. Continue Reading >
“For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save” (Luke 19:10)
We like to think that we can have God in our own pocket. But we’ve got it all wrong. It’s God who finds us and reveals Himself to us; it’s… Continue Reading >

我們祈禱上的困難是什麼?

常年期第十七主日

創世紀 18:20-32

那時候,上主說:「控告索多瑪和哈摩辣的聲音,實在很大;他們的罪惡,實在深重!我要下去,看看他們所行的,是否如同我所聽到的控訴一樣。」三人中有兩人,轉身走向索多瑪。亞巴郎走近上主面前,說:「你真要將義人同惡人一起消滅嗎?如果城中有五十個義人,你還要消滅嗎?你不會為了其中的那五十個義人,赦免那地方嗎?你決不能如此行事,將義人同惡人一併誅滅;將義人如同惡人一樣看待,你決不能!審判全地的主,豈能不行公義?」上主答說:「如果我在索多瑪城,找出了五十個義人,為了他們,我要赦免整個地方。」亞巴郎接著說:「我雖只是塵埃灰土,膽敢再對我主說:如果五十個義人中少了五個,怎樣呢?你就為少了五個,而毀滅全城嗎?」上主答說:「如果我在那裡找到四十五個義人,我也不毀滅那城。」亞巴郎再向上主進言說:「如果在那裡找到四十個義人,又怎樣呢?」上主答說:「為了這四十個義人,我也不毀滅那城。」亞巴郎說:「求我主且勿動怒,容我再進一言:如果在那裡找到三十個義人,怎樣呢?」上主答說:「如果在那裡我找到三十個義人,我也不毀滅那城。」亞巴郎說:「我再放膽對我主進一言:如果在那裡找到二十個義人,怎樣呢?」上主答說:「為了這二十個義人,我也不毀滅那城。」亞巴郎說:「求我主不要動怒,容我最後一次進言:如果在那裡找到十個義人,怎樣呢?」上主答說:「為了這十個義人,我也不毀滅那城。」——上主的話。

哥羅森書 2:12-14

弟兄姊妹們:你們既因聖洗與基督一同埋葬了,也就因聖洗,藉著信德,即信使基督由死者中復活的天主的能力,與基督一同復活了。你們從前因為你們的過犯,和未受割損的肉身,原是死的,但天主卻使你們與基督一同生活,赦免了我們的一切過犯;勾銷了那反對我們,及告發我們違反誡命的罪狀,並把它除去,將它釘在十字架上。——上主的話。

路加福音 11:1-13

有一次,耶穌在一個地方祈禱;祈禱完了,他的一個門徒對他說:「主,請教給我們祈禱,如同若翰教給了他的門徒一樣。」耶穌對他們說:「你們祈禱時,要說:父啊!願你名被尊為聖!願你的國來臨!我們的日用糧,求你天天賜給我們!寬恕我們的罪過,因為我們自己,也寬恕所有虧負我們的人;不要讓我們陷入誘惑。」耶穌對他們說:「你們中,有人有一個朋友,半夜去他那裡,給他說:朋友,借給我三個餅吧!因為我的朋友,行路到了我這裡,我沒有什麼可以款待他。「那人從裡面回答說:不要煩擾我了!門已經關上,我的孩子同我一起在床上,我不能起來,拿給你。「我告訴你們:這人即使不是為了朋友的原故,而起來拿給他,也要因他厚著臉皮,一直請求,而起來,把他所需要的一切,拿給他。「所以,我告訴你們:你們求,必要給你們;你們找,必要找到;你們敲,必要給你們開門。因為凡求的,就必得到;找的,就必找到;敲的,就必給他開門。「你們中間那有做父親的,當兒子求餅時,反而給他石頭呢?或是求魚,反而將蛇當魚給他呢?或者求雞蛋,反而將蝎子給他呢?你們縱然不善,尚且知道把好的東西,拿給你們的兒女,何況在天之父,豈不更會將聖神,賜與求他的人嗎?」 -- 基督的福音

本主日的福音有重大意義,因為天主之子教導我們怎樣禱告。我們不只是在聽一位大師,或屬靈導師的教導,而是天主之子親自教導我們。所以說《天主經》是所有祈禱經文的楷模。二千年來,《天主經》是基督徒信仰路上一貫奉獻的禱文。然而,我們很多時候會發現祈禱是挫折感的來源。或許我們聽福音時會得到開導和啓發,但很多人卻可能說:「我不斷禱告,卻未能得到我想要的。」那麼我們怎樣解釋這美麗而鼓舞人心的福音,但和人的生活經驗不一樣呢?我們如能細讀聖經,會留意到一些禱告的規則和指引。我想在此簡單介紹一下。

守則一:祈禱時滿懷信德。新約聖經中,有多少記載是耶穌在治病前會問:「你們相信我能作這事嗎?」( 瑪 9:28) 有一段福音記載耶穌回到祂的故鄉,但沒人相信衪,「祂在那裡,因為他們不信,沒有多行奇能 」(瑪 13 : 58)。所以,我們有信德的,便如同打開了窗子,天主想住在我們內,在我們當中行事。天主要在我們心中找到一席位,讓祂可以「連線」,否則從天主而來的能量,便不能通過。如果我們把連線關了,祂便不能進來。所以我們要用信德來祈求,對不可能的事情仍保持熱切,或說:「主,我自己無能為力,我求祢多一些,對祢的應許也滿懷着相應的期望」。耶穌說:「我告訴你們:你們祈禱,不論求什麼,祇要你們相信必得,必給你們成就 」(谷 11:24) 。所以,祈禱時必需懷著信德。

守則二:寬恕。當我們祈禱時發現自己應該寬恕某人,就去做吧!妨礙我們往天主處的是什麼? 可能是我們的憤怒、怨恨、過去的仇恨和自己未能寬恕別人。這些積聚在我們的靈魂內,阻礙天主注入能量。天主想在我們內說話和透過我們說話,但若我們的靈魂被各種各樣的障礙所淤塞,便不能成就。所以,原諒那些令我們受委屈的人,修補破裂的關係,將以往的挫折、仇恨、怨懟拋開,與人修和後再祈禱。

守則三:毫不間斷。聖經告訴我們,天主要我們不間斷地禱告。今天讀經一裏面是一個著名的記載,亞巴郎代表索多瑪向天主的祈禱。亞巴郎不斷懇求天主拯救那城市 (參創 18:23-32)。對上主要毫無間斷,繼續祈禱、請求。為什麼天主要我們等?天主是否太忙碌,未能及時回應?聖奧斯定說:「有時天主要我們等待,因為祂要擴大我們靈魂的容量,好能收到祂給我們的好處」(參考 Tract. 4: PL 35, 2008-2009)。所以我們要毫不間斷地請求!

守則四:奉耶穌之名祈禱。我們祈禱時,我們依賴祂的幫助。但當我們以耶穌之名祈禱,我們的祈禱便有一個正確的定位,將自己面向基督,採用了祂的態度和目光。聖保祿說:「你們該懷有基督耶穌所懷有的心情」(斐 2:5)。所以我們應該為「正確的事」祈禱,以耶穌的精神為焦點,聖化自己的渴望和心靈。祈禱是為改變自己的心意比為改變天主的心意為多。其實祂別無所想,天主是只想給我們最好的那一位,雖然那些好東西有時可能並不是我們要的。用以上的四個守則,練習全心、全意、全力地祈禱。然後天主,我們的「天父」,那創造、支持、治理和供給我們所需的阿爸父,必會將我們的祈禱轉化為我們在一生中,日常生活的奇蹟。

鳴謝
這是Bishop Robert Barron的講道摘錄,包括 “The Ways of Prayer”, and “Rules of Prayer”。詳情請溜覽 WordOnFire.org

Posted: July 28, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

像耶穌一樣祈禱 Fr. Jusin Huang

經驗告訴我們,祈禱最常見的四個絆腳石:1)我們不知道如何祈禱。 2)我們沒什麼可說的了。 Tim Gray博士分享了一個故事,講的是當他還是個十幾歲的孩子時,他說會在退修和青年團體中祈禱的,但他自己卻不知道該怎麼做。他想听天主說話,但都聽不到。他會請求天主幫助他做這個或那個,但在那之後,他就沒有什麼可說的了。 3)很多人問,「我們怎樣知道: 什麼時候在和天主說話,什麼時候在和自己說話?」4) 我們從中什麼也得不到。

繼續閱讀 >
丙年常年期第十七主日: 耶穌教祈禱 吳智勳神父

今日的福音記載耶穌教門徒祈禱,然後用兩個比喻去講祈禱要懇切及有信心,天主會俯允人的要求,並把最好的東西賞賜給他。猶太人有一個習慣,就是由長輩教後輩,由師父教徒弟祈禱。路加特別重視祈禱,門徒的請求大概由於看到耶穌祈禱而引起。我們可能有過這種經驗,別人祈禱引發自己也想祈禱。可見祈禱並非從理念開始,耶穌並沒有對門徒講一套祈禱的理論,而是立刻祈禱,以祈禱教導門徒祈禱。

繼續閱讀 >