“Why are you afraid? Have you still no faith?” (Mk 4:40)

Twelfth Sunday in Ordinary Time

JOB 38:1, 8-11

The Lord addressed Job out of the storm and said: Who shut within doors the sea, when it burst forth from the womb; when I made the clouds its garment and thick darkness its swaddling bands? When I set limits for it and fastened the bar of its door, and said: Thus far shall you come but no farther, and here shall your proud waves be stilled!

2 CORINTHIANS 5:14-17

Brothers and sisters: The love of Christ impels us, once we have come to the conviction that one died for all; therefore, all have died. He indeed died for all, so that those who live might no longer live for themselves but for him who for their sake died and was raised. Consequently, from now on we regard no one according to the flesh; even if we once knew Christ according to the flesh, yet now we know him so no longer. So whoever is in Christ is a new creation: the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.

MARK 4:35-41

On that day, as evening drew on, Jesus said to his disciples: “Let us cross to the other side.” Leaving the crowd, they took Jesus with them in the boat just as he was. And other boats were with him. A violent squall came up and waves were breaking over the boat, so that it was already filling up. Jesus was in the stern, asleep on a cushion. They woke him and said to him, “Teacher, do you not care that we are perishing?” He woke up, rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Quiet! Be still!” The wind ceased and there was great calm. Then he asked them, “Why are you terrified? Do you not yet have faith?” They were filled with great awe and said to one another, “Who then is this whom even wind and sea obey?”

It began as an ordinary day during Jesus’ public ministry. He was teaching by the lake. He sat on a boat and preached and the crowd stood along the shore. When evening came, Jesus and his disciples crossed by boat to the other side. During the crossing, a big storm arose, the waves were so high that the boat was swamped. Jesus was asleep in the stern.

The disciples were fearful that they would perish, so they sought help from Jesus who “woke up and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, ‘Peace! Be still!’ Then the wind ceased, and there was a dead calm” (Mk 4:39). Seeing this, the disciples were filled with great awe and said to one another, “Who then is this, that even the wind and the sea obey him?” (Mk 4:41).

Why are the disciples in awe when Jesus calms the wind and the sea? After all, they have witnessed him performing miracles, curing the sick and driving out demons. This is because Jesus’ authority over nature is a manifestation of his divinity to his disciples who have been taught by Scriptures that only God has the power to calm a raging sea. (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P 73).

In this Sunday’s first reading, we hear from God’s discourse to Job who struggles to understand the tragedy that befalls him out of the blue, that God is the One who has power over nature. God said, “I will question you, and you tell me the answers!” (Job 38:3). He asked Job, among other things, “Who shut in the sea with doors” and who said, “[H]ere shall your proud waves be stopped?” (Job 38: 8,11). Job answered, “I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be hindered” (Job 42:2). In this Sunday’s Responsorial Psalm, the Psalmist give thanks to the Lord who “brought them out of their distress; he made the storm be still, and the waves of the sea were hushed” (Ps 107: 28-29).

The episode of the calming of the sea also signifies the struggles of Christian life. While the world is plagued by the pandemic and everyone is living in unpredictable and difficult times, it adds to the helplessness when we hear about Christians being persecuted in many places. It is hard to imagine that while technology has advanced in leaps and bounds, people are living better lives, yet religious freedom is still not a right for many in this modern day and age. Even for us who are blessed to live in religious freedom, our lives can be full of dangerous storms, attacks from evil forces and temptations of the flesh. These spiritual assaults may awake so that we may become aware of our own helplessness. We are afraid, we may lose our way and fall. To reinforce our faith and to overcome our weaknesses, we must learn to trust in Christ daily, since He alone can restrain these forces and bring us to the safe haven of salvation (Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P73).

To this end, St. Paul reminds us in the second reading that we the faithful should “live no longer for themselves, but for him who died and was raised for them” (2 Corinthians 5:15). In a new life of grace, our lives are “swept up by Christ into the heart of divine life”, “to serve in the communion of the Church … to receive the Sacraments, to be nourished with the Word of God and to be sustained by the other spiritual helps of the Church” (CCC 655, 1269).

By practicing the teachings of the Church, may we be enabled to overcome the tendency to live for ourselves but for Jesus our Redeemer.

Posted: June 20, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Into the Wild
As the Israelites learn to trust God throughout their journey in the wilderness, we, too, must journey through the wilderness of our heart to the doorstep of our loving God,… Continue Reading >
God Speaks Only One Word in the Whole Bible
And when the long-anticipated Christ event finally arrives, it often catches us completely by surprise: it comes with a theological significance and finality no scriptural readers could have expected. Continue Reading >
Having Compassion on Yourself and Others
When I was 25, volunteering at St. Joseph’s Medical Centre in New York, I always finished my days exhausted. When driving back to the seminary with Guillermo, he was always… Continue Reading >

「為什麼你們這樣膽怯﹖你們怎麼還沒有信德呢﹖」

常年期第十二主日

約伯傳 38:1,8-11

"上主由旋風中,向約伯發言,說:「當海水洶湧如出母胎時,是誰用門,將海關閉?是我用雲彩,作海的衣裳,用濃霧,作海的襁褓。是我給海劃定了界限,設立了門和閂,並下令說:『你到此為止,不得越過;你的狂潮到此為止。』」"

格林多後書 5:14-17

弟兄姊妹們:因為基督的愛,催迫著我們,故此,我們斷定:既然一個人替眾人死了,那麼眾人就都死了;他替眾人死,是為使活著的人,不再為自己生活,而是為替他們死而復活了的那位生活。所以,我們從今以後,不再按人的看法,認識誰了;縱使我們曾按人的看法,認識過基督,但現在,不再這樣認識他了。所以,誰如果在基督內,他就是一個新受造物,舊的已成過去,看,都成了新的。

馬爾谷福音 4:35-41

有一天傍晚,耶穌對門徒說:「我們渡海,到對岸去吧!」門徒於是離開群眾,載耶穌走了;與耶穌一起的,還有其他小船。忽然狂風大作,波浪打進船裡,以致船已積滿了水。耶穌卻在船尾,依枕而睡。門徒叫醒耶穌,給他說:「師父!我們要死了,你不管嗎?」耶穌醒來,叱喝了風,並向海說:「不要作聲,平靜吧!」風就停止了,於是風平浪靜。耶穌對門徒說:「你們為什麼這樣膽怯?你們怎麼還沒有信德呢?」門徒非常驚懼,彼此說:「這人到底是誰?連風和海也聽從他。」

事情在耶穌公開傳教時,平常的一天開始。耶穌在湖邊講道。祂坐在船上,向站滿岸上的群眾講道。黄昏時,耶穌和門徒坐船橫渡對岸。正在渡海之時,竟起了大風浪,波浪大得把船積滿了水。耶穌在船尾睡著了。
門徒恐怕從此喪亡,便去找耶穌幫忙。祂「醒來,叱喝了風,並向海説:『不要作聲,平靜吧!』風就停止了,於是風平浪靜」(谷 4:39)。 門徒看見了,心中充滿敬畏,彼此說: 「這人到底是誰?連風和海也聽從祂」 (谷 4:41)。

為什麽門徒看見耶穌平息風浪會驚懼呢?他們不是經常見證祂行奇蹟,治病和驅魔的嗎?他們驚懼,是因為耶穌駕馭大自然的權柄,彰顯了祂的天主性,而門徒從經書中學到的,是只有天主才有平靜怒海的能力。 (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament 73 頁)。

本主日的《讀經一》當約伯在掙扎,試圖理解那突如其來的噩運時,我們從天主對約伯的發言,便知道祂是掌管大自然的那一位。天主說: 「我要問你,請指教我」 (約伯 38:3)。祂問約伯其中的一個問題是「是誰用門,將海關閉」,又是誰說 「你的狂潮到此為止? 」(約伯 38:8,11) 。約伯回答說: 「我知道祢事事都能,祢所有的計劃,沒有不實現的」。在本主日的《答唱詠》聖詠作者感謝上主因為他們「於急難中,一哀求上主, 上主立即拯救他們脱離困苦。上主化風暴為平靜,海濤頓時安定」(詠 107:28-29) 。

平息風浪這件事也代表基督徒生活上的掙扎。世界被疫情蹂躪,大家活在無窮無盡的變幻和困難中,當我們聽到很多地方的基督徒更蒙受迫害的時候,我們的無助感更加強了。很難想像,科技進展一日千里,人也過着較好生活,然而,在現今世代,宗教自由對很多人來說仍然不是權利。即使我們有福,活在宗教自由中,我們的生活也可能滿佈着危險的風暴、邪惡勢力的攻擊和肉身上的誘惑。這些靈性上的襲擊,可能使我們醒覺,明白自己的無助。我們害怕,我們可能迷路,甚至跌倒。要加強我們的信德和克服自己的弱點,我們要學習每天信靠基督,只有祂才能抑制這些邪惡的勢力,救贖我們至平安的避風港 (參考 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament 73頁)。

要達到這個目的,聖保祿在 《讀經二》提醒我們受過洗的人不應「再為自己生活,而是為替【我們】死而復活了的那位生活 」(格後 5:15)。在蒙恩的新生命中,我們的生命「被基督提昇到天主生命的懷抱」,「在教會的共融裡彼此服事 ⋯ 領受聖事,接受天主聖言的滋養,並獲得教會靈性上的支持和幫助」(天主教教理 655, 1269)。

藉著實行教會的教導,願我們可以克服為自己而生活的傾向,轉而為耶穌 — 我們的救主 — 而生活。

Posted: June 20, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

真相或潮流 Fr. Justin Huang

我想談談坎盧普斯(Kamloos)印第安人寄宿學校的現狀,著重於真相與和解。請記住,我只是在跟聖安東尼堂區的教友們宣講。但是,既然有人問起我的想法,我就在此作簡短地回答。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十二主日:耶穌是誰? 吳智勳神父

耶穌一出命,風浪就停止了。耶穌埋怨門徒沒有信心,他們的反應是非常害怕,因為他們遇上一個連風浪都要聽祂話的人。祂究竟是誰?

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:天主的大能
繼續閱讀 >