With whom do we identify ourselves, Martha or Mary?

Sixteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Gensis 18:1 - 10A

The LORD appeared to Abraham by the terebinth of Mamre, as he sat in the entrance of his tent, while the day was growing hot. Looking up, Abraham saw three men standing nearby. When he saw them, he ran from the entrance of the tent to greet them; and bowing to the ground, he said: “Sir, if I may ask you this favor, please do not go on past your servant. Let some water be brought, that you may bathe your feet, and then rest yourselves under the tree. Now that you have come this close to your servant, let me bring you a little food, that you may refresh yourselves; and afterward you may go on your way.” The men replied, “Very well, do as you have said.” Abraham hastened into the tent and told Sarah, “Quick, three measures of fine flour! Knead it and make rolls.” He ran to the herd, picked out a tender, choice steer, and gave it to a servant, who quickly prepared it. Then Abraham got some curds and milk, as well as the steer that had been prepared, and set these before the three men; and he waited on them under the tree while they ate. They asked Abraham, “Where is your wife Sarah?” He replied, “There in the tent.” One of them said, “I will surely return to you about this time next year, and Sarah will then have a son.”

Colossians 1:24-28

Brothers and sisters: Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I am filling up what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ on behalf of his body, which is the church, of which I am a minister in accordance with God’s stewardship given to me to bring to completion for you the word of God, the mystery hidden from ages and from generations past. But now it has been manifested to his holy ones, to whom God chose to make known the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; it is Christ in you, the hope for glory. It is he whom we proclaim, admonishing everyone and teaching everyone with all wisdom, that we may present everyone perfect in Christ.

Luke 10:38-42

Jesus entered a village where a woman whose name was Martha welcomed him. She had a sister named Mary who sat beside the Lord at his feet listening to him speak. Martha, burdened with much serving, came to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me by myself to do the serving? Tell her to help me.” The Lord said to her in reply, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things. There is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.”

In Luke’s Gospel, the story of Martha and Mary follows the parable of the Good Samaritan (rf Lk 10:30-37). While the Samaritan obeys the commandment of love by actively giving help to a man victimized by robbers, despite of him being a Jew and an enemy of Samaritans, Luke gives a different illustration of love in Mary – a love of placing herself at Jesus’ feet and listening to Him. Jesus certainly appreciates Martha’s love in serving Him, just like the “three men” appreciates Abraham’s hospitality and generosity in the First Reading (rf Gn 18:2). Jesus’ gentle reproach of Martha for being “anxious and worried about many things” is not about her service, but as a reminder of not letting the busy life of service to distract her from spending time with Him (Lk 10:41).

If Jesus is visiting us today, with whom do we identify ourselves, Martha or Mary? Most of us would not be completely like Martha or Mary. It is likely we have both of them within us and at times we may alternate to act like Martha or Mary. Some people engage in direct ministry to the poor and the sick but some do not have the opportunities to practice active service. Contemplative religious, for example, spend their lives within convents or monasteries; working, praying and meditating on the Word of God. They are greatly valued as the “power house” of prayers for the Church and the world.

St. Therese of the Child Jesus has an unsettling longing to be a missionary, but as a contemplative nun in the convent of Lisieux in France, her wish could not be possibly realized. Yet together with St Francis Xavier who travelled extensively and actively converted much of Asia, she was declared a co-patron of the missions in 1927 by Pope Pius XI. In reading St. Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians in which the apostle says that the greater gifts (like martyrdom and apostleship) are nothing at all if they are without love (rf to 1 Cor 12, 13), St Therese finally finds her calling and her place in the Church – a call to love in the heart of the Church and to be a missionary to save souls through prayers and sacrifices (rf St Therese Story of a Soul Chapter IX). Thus, contemplative life is not meant only for one’s sanctity but for the Church and humanity at large. In the Gospel, Mary has similarly found her place – it is by her Master’s feet, listening to His words.

Evidently, discipleship of Jesus includes not only knowing about Him, like learning His past, His deeds and sayings but more essentially, knowing Him in person, that is, being in relationship with Him. Jesus as the son of God, while He was on earth, in His busy ministry of teaching, preaching and healing, often found time to be with His heavenly Father in quietness and solitude (rf Mt 14:23, Mk 6:46, Lk 6:12 Jn 6:15). Therefore, true discipleship implies not only following the example of Jesus in daily activities, but also taking time to be with Him in silence and stillness, in prayer and adoration and in each other’s company and love.

So the first step to establish a good relation with someone is to listen but how are we able to listen if there are distractions all around? Likewise, service is a good thing but there is often a danger that excessive activism will overwhelm us and draw us away from spending time in God’s presence. No doubt, monasteries or convents are ideal settings for contemplative life to prosper; but by no means that it is the only mode of life that leads us closer to God. Christian spirituality, consists of a daily spiritual practice in silence with its full maturity in a contemplative dimension, can have equal opportunity to develop that good relationship with God. Good works will flow from a Christ-centered life naturally but on their own, they will not produce a Christ-centered life if they are done without the presence of Christ. When we make room for God’s presence, He will certainly provide us with guidance and strength, empowering us to serve others.

Posted: July 21, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Will only a few people be saved?
Will we be the ones to stand outside knocking when the master come? Continue Reading >
Finding Peace
When we care for someone, we have to reveal to them their value and gifts. Continue Reading >
Making a decision
In Rome I once met a newly married couple who were visiting from Vancouver. They were clearly in love—it was very sweet. Over lunch I asked how they met. The… Continue Reading >

我們認同自己是瑪爾大還是瑪利亞呢?

常年期第十六主日

創世紀 18:1-10

天正熱的時候,亞巴郎坐在帳幕門口;上主在瑪默勒橡樹林那裡,給亞巴郎顯現出來。亞巴郎舉目一望,見有三人站在對面,就由帳幕門口,跑去迎接他們,俯伏在地,說:「我主,如果我蒙你垂愛,請你不要由你僕人這裡走過;容我叫人拿點水來,洗洗你們的腳;然後,請在樹下休息休息。你們既然路過你僕人這裡,等我拿點餅來;請吃點點心,然後再走。」那三人答說:「就照你所說的,做吧!」亞巴郎趕快進入帳幕,走到撒辣前,說:「你快拿三斗細麵,和一和,做些餅。」於是,亞巴郎又跑到牛群中,選了一頭又嫩又肥的牛犢,交給僕人,要他趕快煮好。亞巴郎就拿了乳酪和牛奶,及預備好了的牛犢,擺在那三人面前;他們吃的時候,亞巴郎在樹下侍候。那三人對亞巴郎說:「你的妻子撒辣在那裡?」他答說:「在帳幕裡。」其中一位說:「明年此時,我必回到你這裡,那時,你的妻子撒辣,要有一個兒子。」——上主的話。

哥羅森書 1:24-28

弟兄姊妹們:現在,我在為你們受苦,反覺高興,因為這樣,我可在我的肉身上,為基督的身體——教會,補充基督苦難所欠缺的。我依照天主為你們,所授與我的職責,作了這教會的僕役,好把天主的道理,充分地宣揚出去。這道理,就是從世世代代以來,所隱藏,而現在卻顯示給他聖徒的奧秘。天主願意他們知道,這奧秘為外邦人,是如何富有豐盛的光榮。這奧秘就是:基督在你們中,作了你們獲得光榮的希望。我們所傳揚的,就是這位基督;因而,我們以各種智慧,勸告一切人,教訓一切人,好把一切人,呈獻於天主前,成為在基督內成全的人。——上主的話。

路加福音 10:38-42

那時候,耶穌進入一個村莊。有一個名叫瑪爾大的女人,把耶穌接到家裡。她有一個妹妹,名叫瑪利亞,坐在主的腳前,聽他講話。瑪爾大為侍候耶穌,忙碌不已,便上前來,說:「主!我的妹妹丟下我一個人工作,你不介意嗎?請叫她來幫助我吧!」主回答瑪爾大說:「瑪爾大,瑪爾大!你為了許多事,操心忙碌,其實需要的,唯有一件。瑪利亞選擇了更好的一份,是不能從她奪去的。」 -- 基督的福音

在《路加福音》, 瑪爾大和瑪利亞的故事是緊接着《慈善的撒瑪黎雅人》的比喻 (參 路 10:30-37)。撒瑪黎雅人服從愛的誡命,積極幫助一位遭遇強盜的受害人,雖然受害人是猶太人, 是撒瑪黎雅人的敵人。但路加從瑪利亞身上刻劃出另一種仁愛的表現 — 她坐在耶穌的腳前,聽他講話。耶穌固然對瑪爾大的殷勤待候感到欣慰,就像讀經一裏面,那「三人」對亞巴郎的接待和慷慨大方感到欣慰一樣 (參 創 18:2)。耶穌輕責瑪爾大的「為了許多事,操心忙碌」, 不是因為她的服侍,而是提醒她,不要因為忙碌的事奉,而不能專心與主相伴 (路 10:41)。

如果耶穌今天來探訪我們,我們認同自己是瑪爾大還是瑪利亞呢?我們大多數人都不會是完全像瑪爾大或完全像瑪利亞。在我們內,可能都有他們兩人的存在,在行為上,我們可能有時會交替地肖似瑪爾大或瑪利亞。有些人直接事奉窮困和患病的人,但有些人沒有機會直接服務。例如隱修者,他們一生在修道院裏工作、祈禱或默想天主聖言。但他們被視為珍貴,是為教會和世界祈禱的「能量所」。

聖女小德蘭有一個惴惴不安的渴望,她嚮往成為傳敎士。 但作為一位在法國里修修院的隱修女,她的願望沒有什麼可能實現。然而在 1927 年,教宗庇護十一世册封了聖女小德蘭和在世界各地致力傳教並使亞洲很多人皈依基督的聖方濟沙勿略,同為傳教主保。在閱讀《聖保祿致格林多人前書》,當聖保祿說,大的恩賜(如成為殉道者或宗徒),若沒有愛,是什麼也不算的(參 格前 12, 13)。聖女小德蘭終於找到她的聖召和在教會的位置 — 在教會的中心,以仁愛, 藉着祈禱和犧牲來救靈的傳道者(參 聖女小德蘭 《一個靈魂的故事》 第九章)。所以,隱修生活不僅是為自己的成聖,而是為教會和全人類的成聖。在福音𥚃,瑪利亞同樣地找到了她的位置 — 就是坐在主人的腳前,聽祂講話。

明顯地,做耶穌的門徒不單包括認識祂,例如知道祂的過去、學習祂的行實和話語,最重要的,是認識祂本人,意思是跟祂建立關係。耶穌是天主子,當祂在世的時候,在忙於教導、傳敎和治病時,祂也經常找時間與祂的天父靜靜地單獨相處 ( 參考 瑪 14:23, 谷 6:46, 路 6:12 若 6:15)。所以作為真正的門徒,不僅在日常生活中跟隨耶穌的表樣,也要有時間在靜默、祈禱和朝拜中與祂在愛內相伴。

與人建立良好關係的第一步是聆聽,但若四週都充斥着令人分心的事物,又如何聆聽呢?同樣,事奉是好的,但有時過度熱衷使我們陷入危機,忽略了與主相伴的時間。毫無疑問,修道院是一個成就豐盛的隱修生活的理想環境,但這並不是帶領我們與天主親近的唯一生活方式。基督徒的靈修,包括每天的靜默靈修練習,可達致默觀的境界,有同樣的機會與天主發展良好的關係 。善功會從以基督為中心的生活,自然流露出來,沒有基督臨在的善功,不會成就一個以基督為中心的人生。當我們留下空間,讓天主臨在,祂一定會指引我們,使我們更有力量去服務他人。

Posted: July 21, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

你為什麼祈禱? Fr. Jusin Huang

試用五秒鐘回答下面的問題,有人會問我們問題,這將有助於我們安息日夏的休息。如果我們沒有一個好的答案,就很難說服人家,這會暴露出我們的弱點。問題是:你為什麼祈禱?

繼續閱讀 >
丙年常年期第十六主日: 聆聽天主,認識自己 吳智勳神父

今天的福音是路加獨有的故事,寫得很美。過去,人們往往只從這段聖經表面的意義推測,以為耶穌在這裏主要是譴責瑪爾大,稱讚瑪利亞;譴責為世俗事務操勞的人,而稱讚那些聆聽天主聖言的人。更有人(包括出名的聖人)引申說,祈禱比工作重要,默觀的修道生活比忙碌的在俗生活高超。今天讓我們重新返回這段聖經,欣賞路加要帶出的美麗訊息。

繼續閱讀 >