You’re Free to Choose

Thirtieth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Jeremiah 31:7 - 9

Thus says the LORD: Shout with joy for Jacob, exult at the head of the nations; proclaim your praise and say: The LORD has delivered his people, the remnant of Israel. Behold, I will bring them back from the land of the north; I will gather them from the ends of the world, with the blind and the lame in their midst, the mothers and those with child; they shall return as an immense throng. They departed in tears, but I will console them and guide them; I will lead them to brooks of water, on a level road, so that none shall stumble. For I am a father to Israel, Ephraim is my first-born.

Hebrews 5:1 - 6

Brothers and sisters: Every high priest is taken from among men and made their representative before God, to offer gifts and sacrifices for sins. He is able to deal patiently with the ignorant and erring, for he himself is beset by weakness and so, for this reason, must make sin offerings for himself as well as for the people. No one takes this honor upon himself but only when called by God, just as Aaron was. In the same way, it was not Christ who glorified himself in becoming high priest, but rather the one who said to him: You are my son: this day I have begotten you; just as he says in another place: You are a priest forever according to the order of Melchizedek.

Mark 10:46 - 52

As Jesus was leaving Jericho with his disciples and a sizable crowd, Bartimaeus, a blind man, the son of Timaeus, sat by the roadside begging. On hearing that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to cry out and say, "Jesus, son of David, have pity on me." And many rebuked him, telling him to be silent. But he kept calling out all the more, "Son of David, have pity on me." Jesus stopped and said, "Call him." So they called the blind man, saying to him, "Take courage; get up, Jesus is calling you." He threw aside his cloak, sprang up, and came to Jesus. Jesus said to him in reply, "What do you want me to do for you?" The blind man replied to him, "Master, I want to see." Jesus told him, "Go your way; your faith has saved you." Immediately he received his sight and followed him on the way.

Today’s homily is about freedom, because some people have been wondering if anyone will feel pressure in our upcoming Christ the King Challenge.  ‘What will my wife think if I don’t put up my hand?  What will my parents think?  Will Fr. Justin be disappointed if I don’t put up my hand?’  I hope no one is pressuring you.  And I promise you that I won’t be angry if you don’t put up your hand.

Before I tell you why, let me just remind you that we’re doing this challenge for two reasons: 1) When we make Jesus the centre of our lives, we can’t hide it; it’s a personal decision that has public effects; 2) As Christians, we want to celebrate that people have made Jesus the centre of their lives.  People celebrate what’s important, right?  That said, there should be no pressure.

When I was in the seminary, there was a time when I felt I had to become a priest.  No one put this pressure on me, but I felt that, if God wanted me to become a priest, then I had to do it.  And one time, I went to P. Matthew and started opening up.  This was a deep fear that I hadn’t told anyone, maybe because I was afraid of the answer.  I asked him, “Father, will I go to hell if I don’t become a priest?”  Yes, it was an irrational idea, but most pressure usually is irrational.  Father responded, “No.  God respects your freedom, and marriage is a beautiful vocation.”  You know what happened when he said that?  I finally felt free to choose priesthood.  That’s interesting: When I felt pressure to choose priesthood, I couldn’t choose it freely.  But, when that pressure was removed, I finally felt I could choose it.

This is a universal human experience: In 2008, at World Youth Day in Australia, I was encouraging one of the teenagers in our group to go hear a theology of the body talk.  We stood on a street corner for 20 minutes arguing, and then I said, “Okay, look, you don’t have to go.  Just go to something worthwhile.”  He then said, “Okay, Father, I’ll go.”  Ah!!!

The Second Reading refers to the gentleness priests should have, and this describes pre-eminently Jesus: “He is able to deal gently with the ignorant and wayward, since he himself is subject to weakness” (Heb 5:2).  Jesus understands our weak, human nature.  He knows what it’s like to be tempted away from God the Father, and so He deals with us very gently when we’re tempted.

One thing should be clear about the nature of God, and that is, He never forces.  That’s the nature of love.  If parents force their children to love Jesus, then it’s not love.  They’ll go through the motions until they’re adults, but it will never be their choice.  The same goes with wives’ putting pressure on husbands, and my putting pressure on you.

Now it’s true that Jesus does deal with all of us differently.  The Reading specifies ‘the ignorant and wayward,’ the former being those who sin unknowingly, and the latter those who sin knowingly.  Jesus was gentle with those who were sincere, but was very harsh with the Pharisees since they knew better.  That’s because being gentle doesn’t mean never challenging people.  On the contrary, when we love people, we challenge them according to their capacity!  Jesus warned us numerous times about the reality of hell, that if we break the commandments in serious ways, we choose hell.  That’s not unfair pressure, that’s just reality.  Unfair pressure is when our family doesn’t love us anymore because we don’t follow Jesus.

Even when Jesus warns us of hell, He still gives us freedom.  When He told the parable of the Prodigal Son, notice how the father in the story gives the son the freedom to leave the home.  He accepts his son’s choice.  “He can imagine what the young son is going to do, but he lets him go his way” (Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth, Volume 1, 203).

It’s sad, but sometimes we need to run away from God the Father and ruin our life, in order to choose freely to come home.  We need to see for ourselves what life is like without Jesus, and He gives us this freedom.

That brings us to the Gospel.  The blindness of Bartimaeus is symbolic of spiritual blindness.  His begging and shouting are symbolic of his desire to come home; throwing off his cloak is symbolic of his old life being stripped off.  So he’s exercising his freedom.

And Jesus asks, “What do you want me to do for you?” (Mk 10:51).  Do you really want to be healed?  Don’t think it’s obvious, because sometimes we don’t want to be healed of our anger, laziness, or envy.  We’re used to them.  In Jn 5:40, Jesus says to his Jewish opponents, “But you do not want to come to me to have life.”  Isn’t that interesting?  He says that because not all people want to be saved.  Some people prefer this life to God’s promise; immediate gratification is better to them than trusting God.  And Jesus tells his opponents the consequences, that they won’t have life unless they come to Him.

There are consequences to actions.  If we choose not to be disciples, then God still loves us, but we lose out on the blessings of following Him.  So freedom does not mean we can’t have expectations.  God expects us to keep the commandments.  He expects people to follow their conscience.  I expect our young people to act with courtesy, because they themselves know courtesy is important.  When children live with their parents, the parents have every right to ask them to come to Mass.  That’s not pressure, that’s a reasonable command of parents to children, just as they can expect their children to help out with chores, go to school, etc.

And freedom does not mean we can’t have standards.  If you make the decision to become Catholic, then you’re choosing to live as a Catholic, which means coming to Mass every Sunday.  If you choose to become a doctor, you must study.  If you work at Burger King, you can’t wear a shirt that says “McDonalds is better.”  These standards are part of what it means to carry out a job well.

In four weeks, when I ask, “Please raise your hand if you’ve made Jesus the centre of your life,” we shouldn’t experience any pressure.  And, if we haven’t made Jesus the centre, we simply don’t raise our hand.  Yes, there are consequences to this most important question, but our response should be made out of love, for Jesus.

The truth is that Jesus always loves us no matter what we choose.  Jesus wants our decision to be free.

Source: You’re Free to Choose

Posted: October 24, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >
Celebrating the Greatest Decision
Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations. Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals. Continue Reading >
Jesus — “The King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:16)
This year, the celebration of the solemnity of our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe is highlighted by a reading from Daniel 7, a chapter that contains arguably some… Continue Reading >

您的決定是自由的

常年期第三十主日

耶肋米亞先知書 31:7-9

上主這樣說:你們應為雅各伯歡呼,向為首的民族喝采,宣揚及讚頌說:上主救了自己的百姓、以色列的遺民。看,我由北方引他們歸來;從大地的盡頭,召集他們,其中有瞎子,有跛子,有懷孕的,和正在生產的,形成一大隊,回到這裡來。他們含淚前行,我卻撫慰引導,領他們踏上不會跌倒的坦途,來到溪水旁,因為我是以色列的慈父,厄弗辣因是我的長子。

希伯來書 5:1-6

每位大司祭,都是由人間所選拔,奉派為人,執行關於天主的事,為奉獻供品和犧牲,以贖罪過。他同情無知和迷途的人,因為他自己也為弱點所糾纏。因此他怎樣為人民奉獻贖罪祭,也當怎樣為自己奉獻。誰也不得自己擅取這尊位,而應蒙天主召選,有如亞郎一樣。照樣,基督也沒有自取做大司祭的光榮,而是向他說過:「你是我的兒子,我今日生了你」的那位,光榮了他;在另一處又說:「你照默基瑟德的品位,永做司祭。」

馬爾谷福音 10:46-52

耶穌和他的門徒,及一大群人,從耶里哥出來的時候,有一個瞎眼的乞丐,即提買的兒子,巴爾提買,坐在路旁。他一聽說是納匝肋人耶穌,就喊叫說:「耶穌,達味之子,可憐我吧!」有許多人就斥責他,叫他不要呼叫;但他越發喊叫說:「達味之子,可憐我吧!」耶穌就站住,說:「叫他過來!」人就叫那瞎子,對他說:「放心!起來!他叫你呢!」瞎子就扔下自己的外衣,跳起來,走到耶穌面前。耶穌對他說:「你願意我給你做什麼?」瞎子說:「師父!叫我看見!」耶穌對他說:「去吧!你的信德救了你。」瞎子立刻看見了,就在路上,跟隨耶穌去了。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

今天的講道是關於自由的,因為一些人一直想知道,在我們即將到來的「基督君王瞻禮」挑戰中,是否會有人感到壓力。如果我不舉手,我的妻子會怎麼想?我父母會怎麼想? 黃謙善神父( Fr.Justin)會失望嗎?我希望沒有人給你施加壓力。而且我向你保證,如果你不舉手,我不會生氣。在我告訴你為什麼之前,我只想提醒你,我們做這個挑戰有兩個原因:1)當我們把耶穌作為我們生活的中心時,我們不能將它隱藏起來;這是個人的決定但具有公共影響;2)作為基督徒,我們想慶祝人們已經把耶穌作為他們生活的中心。人們為重要的事情而慶祝,對嗎?也就是說,應該不會有壓力。
當我在神學院的時候,有一段時間我覺得我必須成為一名神父。沒有人給我這樣的壓力,但我是這樣覺得,如果天主想讓我成為一名神父,那我就必須服從。有一次,我去見P.Matthew 神父,開始對他敞開心扉。這一種內心深處的恐懼,我沒有告訴過任何人,也許是因為我害怕答案。我問他:「神父,如果我不成為神父,我會下地獄嗎?」
是的,這是一個非理性的想法,但大多數壓力通常都是非理性的。神父回答說:「不會。天主尊重你的自由,婚姻是美好的聖召。」。你知道他說完這話的時候發生了什麼嗎?我終於可以自由地選擇當神職人員了。
這很有趣:當我在壓力下選擇做神職人員時,我不能自由選擇。但是,當壓力消除後,我最終覺得可以選擇它。
這是一種普遍的人類體驗:2008年,在澳大利亞的世界青年日,我鼓勵我們團隊中的一名青少年去聽一場關於「身體神學」的演講。我們站在街角爭論了20分鐘,後來我說,「好吧,聽著,你不用去。只要去做一些有價值的事情就行了。」。然後他說:「好的,神父,我去吧。」啊! (教人難以置信!)
第二篇讀經指的是司祭應該具備的溫和,這是對耶穌的卓越描述:「好能同情無知和迷途的人,因為他自己也為弱點所糾纏。」(希5:2)。耶穌理解我們脆弱的人性。祂知道被誘惑離開天父是什麼滋味,所以當我們受到試探時,祂會非常溫和地對待我們。
關於天主的本質,有一件事是應該弄清楚的,那就是,祂從不強求。這就是愛的本質。如果父母強迫他們的孩子愛耶穌,那就不是愛。他們會一直走過場,直到他們成年,但這永遠不會是他們的選擇。妻子給丈夫施加壓力,我給你施加壓力,情況也是如此。
現在,耶穌確實以不同的方式對待我們所有人,這是事實。經文中指定了「無知和迷途的人」,前者是那些不知情的人,後者是那些明知故犯的人。耶穌對誠心的人很溫和,但對法利賽人卻很嚴厲,因為他們知道得更清楚。這是因為溫柔並不意味著從不挑戰別人。相反的,當我們愛別人的時候,我們會根據他們的能力去挑戰他們!耶穌無數次警告我們地獄的現實,如果我們嚴重違反戒律,我們就選擇了地獄。這不是不公平的壓力,這只是現實。不公平的壓力是當我們的家人因為我們不跟隨耶穌而不再愛我們。
即使耶穌給予我們地獄的警告,祂仍然給我們自由。當祂講述浪子的寓言時,請注意故事中的父親是如何給予兒子離開家的自由的。他接受了兒子的選擇。 「他可以想像這個年幼的兒子要做什麼,但他讓他走自己的路。」(Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth, Volume 1, 203)
這很可悲,但有時我們需要逃離天父,毀掉我們的生活,才能自由地選擇回家。我們需要親眼看看沒有耶穌的生活是什麼樣子的,祂給了我們這種自由。
這就把我們帶到了今天的福音。巴爾提買( Bartimaeus )的失明是精神失明的象徵。他的乞討和叫喊象徵著他想回家的願望;脫下他的斗篷象徵著他的舊生活被剝去了(https://www.wordonfire.org/resources/homily/master-i-want-to-see/4961/).。所以他在行使他的自由。
耶穌問:「你願意我給你做什麼?」(谷10:51)。你真的想被治愈嗎?不要認為這是顯而易見的,因為有時候我們不想從憤怒、懶惰或嫉妒中解脫出來。我們已經習慣了它們。在若望福音5:40中,耶穌對祂的猶太對手說:「你們不願意到我這裡來, 為獲得生命。」
這不是很有趣嗎?祂說這是因為並不是所有的人都想被拯救。有些人喜歡這種生活勝過天主的應許;對他們來說,即時的滿足比相信天主更好。耶穌告訴祂的對手後果,除非他們來找祂,否則他們不會獲得生命。
所有的作為都是有後果的。如果我們選擇不做門徒的話,天主仍然愛我們,但我們失去了跟隨祂的福祉。
因此,自由並不意味著我們不能抱有期望。天主期望我們遵守戒律。祂希望人們遵循自己的良知。我希望我們的年輕人舉止要有禮貌,因為他們自己都知道禮貌很重要。當孩子和父母住在一起時,父母完全有權要求他們參加彌撒。這不是壓力,這是父母對孩子的合理命令,就像他們可以期望自己的孩子幫忙做家務、上學等一樣。
自由並不意味著我們不能有標準。如果你決定成為天主教徒,那麼你就是在選擇過天主教徒的生活,這意味著你每個星期天都要參加彌撒。如果你選擇成為一名醫生,你必須用功學習。如果你在「漢堡王」(Burger King) 工作,你不能穿一件寫著「麥當勞更好」(McDonald’s)的襯衫。這些標準是把工作做好的一部分。
四周後,當我問:「如果你已把耶穌作為你生命的中心,請舉手。」我們應該不會感受到任何壓力。如果我們沒有以耶穌為中心,我們就不會舉手。是的,這個最重要的問題是有後果的,但我們的回答應該是出於愛,出於對耶穌的愛。
事實是:無論我們選擇什麼,耶穌總是愛我們。耶穌希望我們的決定是自由的。

資料來源:You’re Free to Choose

Posted: October 24, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第三十主日:瞎子的啟示 吳智勳神父

馬爾谷甚重視做耶穌門徒的條件,過去幾週的讀經都講論這課題。這個星期的讀經記載了耶穌治好耶里哥城一位瞎眼乞丐的事蹟。藉著耶穌最後的一個奇蹟──巴爾提買復明之事,馬爾谷引導我們再去反省作為基督門徒應具備的條件:

繼續閱讀 >
懂得閱讀聖經的喜樂 Edmond Lo

本主日的讀經讓我們得了預象法——一個詮釋聖經的極好技巧——的驚鴻一瞥,能助我們領略到新舊約聖經的一致。

繼續閱讀 >