The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible

Thirtieth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Jeremiah 31:7 - 9

Thus says the LORD: Shout with joy for Jacob, exult at the head of the nations; proclaim your praise and say: The LORD has delivered his people, the remnant of Israel. Behold, I will bring them back from the land of the north; I will gather them from the ends of the world, with the blind and the lame in their midst, the mothers and those with child; they shall return as an immense throng. They departed in tears, but I will console them and guide them; I will lead them to brooks of water, on a level road, so that none shall stumble. For I am a father to Israel, Ephraim is my first-born.

Hebrews 5:1 - 6

Brothers and sisters: Every high priest is taken from among men and made their representative before God, to offer gifts and sacrifices for sins. He is able to deal patiently with the ignorant and erring, for he himself is beset by weakness and so, for this reason, must make sin offerings for himself as well as for the people. No one takes this honor upon himself but only when called by God, just as Aaron was. In the same way, it was not Christ who glorified himself in becoming high priest, but rather the one who said to him: You are my son: this day I have begotten you; just as he says in another place: You are a priest forever according to the order of Melchizedek.

Mark 10:46 - 52

As Jesus was leaving Jericho with his disciples and a sizable crowd, Bartimaeus, a blind man, the son of Timaeus, sat by the roadside begging. On hearing that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to cry out and say, "Jesus, son of David, have pity on me." And many rebuked him, telling him to be silent. But he kept calling out all the more, "Son of David, have pity on me." Jesus stopped and said, "Call him." So they called the blind man, saying to him, "Take courage; get up, Jesus is calling you." He threw aside his cloak, sprang up, and came to Jesus. Jesus said to him in reply, "What do you want me to do for you?" The blind man replied to him, "Master, I want to see." Jesus told him, "Go your way; your faith has saved you." Immediately he received his sight and followed him on the way.

I’ve been working on a 3-episode video series on Typology lately. It is scheduled to be broadcasted live by Fountain of Love and Life in December as part of its continued education program on the Fishers’ Summit platform. Typology is a rich and powerful biblical interpretation that sees the past, the present, and the ultimate future of the history of salvation as a connected and meaningful whole. It sees in the persons, events, places, and institutions of the Old Testament the foreshadowing of those in the New Testament. Conversely, it also sees in the persons, events, places, and institutions of the New Testament the fulfilment of those in the Old Testament. As St. Augustine put it, the New Testament is hidden in the Old, and the Old Testament revealed in the New (CCC 129). Sounds confusing? Read on or, better still, join me when the fore-mentioned video series is aired. Please visit the FollowChrist.me website for more details.

Incidentally, this Sunday’s readings give us a good preview of this amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Let’s take a moment to admire the Divine Author’s awe-inspiring and mysterious writing skills that clearly demonstrate “the dynamic movement toward the fulfillment of the divine plan” (CCC 130).

Through Jeremiah, the Lord promises to bring Israel, His chosen people in the Old Testament, back home from exile in “the land of the north”; He will “gather them from the ends of the world” (Jer 31:8). We can understand this promise typologically as God’s plan to bring the Church, His chosen people in the New Testament, back home from exile in this world to His heavenly kingdom. As the New Testament Church is catholic or universal, God’s promise is fulfilled in the here and now to the extent that the Church members are literally gathered from everywhere in the world. By the power of the baptismal grace and the work of the Holy Spirit, they are transformed to become the children of God, living in communion in the Body of Christ, a heavenly reality.

In other words, the Church is the new Israel. The Israel of the Old Testament is only a transitory “type” or image. Its role is to prefigure and point the world to the Church of the New Testament, the new Israel. Note that the transitory type, Israel, and its fulfilment, the Church, are similar in that both have to go into exile: Israel in the hostility of a foreign land, Babylon; the Church in the turmoil of a world of sin, our planet earth. Both are to be gathered “from the ends of the world” and given their rightful place to live: Israel in its homeland; the Church in the Body of Christ.

On the other hand, they differ in that Israel, having served its role of pointing us to the New Testament Church, is now only one of the ancient powers in history, a mere shadow of its former self. Its fulfilment, the Church, however, will continue to get transformed until she emerges in her perfect and definitive self. When will that be, and how will she appear? On “the wedding day of the Lamb”, according to Revelation; at which time “a new heaven and a new earth” will emerge and the Church will become “the holy city, a new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband” (Rev 19:7, 21:1-2)!

God’s promise, made through Jeremiah’s prophecy, tells us not only WHAT He will give us (a new Israel, the Church) and HOW (she will be gathered “from the ends of the world”, i.e., she’ll be catholic and universal), but also what to expect when it’s time for the fulfilment to be realized: the blind and the lame will be in their midst; the mothers and those with child – the basic tenet of human families – shall be consoled and guided (cf. Jer 31:8-9). It is clear, therefore, that the Church’s selection of this Sunday’s gospel in which Jesus cured a blind man is no coincidence. Together with Jesus’ other miracles in the Gospel, in which the blind and the lame are cured, the message of this Sunday’s gospel is loud and clear: God, who descended in human form through a woman and broke into human history, is here to bring to fulfilment His promise of a new Israel, made through Jeremiah (e.g., John 9:1-7, Luke 5:17-26).

The second reading from the Letter to the Hebrews is another classic for Typology lovers. The Old Testament high priest is a type pointing us to Christ, the eternal High Priest who traces his origin not to Aaron and the Levi but to the order of Melchizedek, the first high priest to ever appear in the Bible. But that will be another discussion of Typology for a whole separate Sunday reflection!

Posted: October 24, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Patience in Desolation
Our opening question is: When will the darkness pass? In the book Discernment of Spirits in Marriage, which we’re using as an aid, Anne sees a pattern: When we’re in… Continue Reading >
Advent is not only a time of promises and anticipation, but also a homecoming.
Make straight our crooked ways; recognize the blindspots of our lives and fill our spiritual valley with compassion and kindness; level our mountain of pride and self-centeredness; and in the… Continue Reading >
Recognizing and Deflecting Desolation
Mark wrote in his journal that things are a mess. This past month for him has been dark, and he’s keeping his wife at a distance. He’s not praying as… Continue Reading >

懂得閱讀聖經的喜樂

常年期第三十主日

耶肋米亞先知書 31:7-9

上主這樣說:你們應為雅各伯歡呼,向為首的民族喝采,宣揚及讚頌說:上主救了自己的百姓、以色列的遺民。看,我由北方引他們歸來;從大地的盡頭,召集他們,其中有瞎子,有跛子,有懷孕的,和正在生產的,形成一大隊,回到這裡來。他們含淚前行,我卻撫慰引導,領他們踏上不會跌倒的坦途,來到溪水旁,因為我是以色列的慈父,厄弗辣因是我的長子。

希伯來書 5:1-6

每位大司祭,都是由人間所選拔,奉派為人,執行關於天主的事,為奉獻供品和犧牲,以贖罪過。他同情無知和迷途的人,因為他自己也為弱點所糾纏。因此他怎樣為人民奉獻贖罪祭,也當怎樣為自己奉獻。誰也不得自己擅取這尊位,而應蒙天主召選,有如亞郎一樣。照樣,基督也沒有自取做大司祭的光榮,而是向他說過:「你是我的兒子,我今日生了你」的那位,光榮了他;在另一處又說:「你照默基瑟德的品位,永做司祭。」

馬爾谷福音 10:46-52

耶穌和他的門徒,及一大群人,從耶里哥出來的時候,有一個瞎眼的乞丐,即提買的兒子,巴爾提買,坐在路旁。他一聽說是納匝肋人耶穌,就喊叫說:「耶穌,達味之子,可憐我吧!」有許多人就斥責他,叫他不要呼叫;但他越發喊叫說:「達味之子,可憐我吧!」耶穌就站住,說:「叫他過來!」人就叫那瞎子,對他說:「放心!起來!他叫你呢!」瞎子就扔下自己的外衣,跳起來,走到耶穌面前。耶穌對他說:「你願意我給你做什麼?」瞎子說:「師父!叫我看見!」耶穌對他說:「去吧!你的信德救了你。」瞎子立刻看見了,就在路上,跟隨耶穌去了。

最近,我在製作一個三集有關預象法的視頻系列。這系列將於十二月在《生命恩泉》直播,作為《漁夫召集大會》持續培訓的一部份。預象法是一個豐富有力的聖經詮釋方法,視救恩史的過去、現在、及最終的未來,為一個有聯繫和有意義的整體。預象法看舊約的人物、事件、地方、和制度為是新約的預示。反之,預象法也看到新約的人物、事件、地方、和制度是舊約的實現。正如聖奧思定所說,新約隱藏在舊約中,而舊約則顯露在新約中 (天主教教理 129)。聽來撲朔迷離?繼續讀下去吧,或更理想的是,請大家與我一起,在上述視頻系列播出時,一起探討。更多詳情請瀏覽網站:FollowChrist.me
湊巧地,本主日的讀經,讓我們好好預覽這奇妙的,能使我們領略到新舊約如何連貫一致的聖經詮釋技巧。就讓我們花些時間,欣賞神聖作者那令人凛然起敬及玄妙的文筆,清晰地展示出「邁向天主之計畫完成時的那種動力」(天主教教理 130)。
上主藉著耶肋米亞應許,祂會帶領以色列人——祂在舊約的選民——從「北地」的流徙,返回本家;祂會「從大地的盡頭召集他們」(耶 31:8)。從預象法去看這個應許,我們明白天主的計劃,是帶領教會——祂在新約中的選民——從這世界的流徙,返回天國的本家。由於新約的教會,是至公或普世性的,天主的應許,現正在此時此地實現,教會的成員,實際上是從世界各地召集而來。藉著領洗恩寵的力量,和聖神的化工,他們轉化成為天主的兒女,共融生活於基督的妙身內,這是有如天堂一樣美好的現實。
換句話說,教會就是新以色列。舊約的以色列只是一個過渡的「預象」或圖像。她的角色是預示,並把世界指向新約的教會——新以色列。要留意的是,過渡的預像——以色列——和預像的實現——教會——的共同點是,他們都被放逐:以色列被放逐到充滿敵意的異國巴比倫;教會則被放逐到動盪的罪惡世界,我們的地球。兩者皆是「從大地的盡頭」被召集起來,並被給予合法的居所:以色列在自己的家鄉;教會則在基督的妙身內。
另一方面,他們不同之處是,以色列在完成了將我們指向新約教會的使命後,如今只是歷史上古代強權之一,只是她自己以前的影子。而以色列的實現——教會——則繼續轉化,直至她以完美和決定性的自身出現。那會是何時,她又會如何出現?根據《默示錄》,是在「羔羊婚禮那天」;那時「新天新地」會出現,而教會將成為「新耶路撒冷聖城,從天上由天主那裡降下,就如一位裝飾好迎接自己丈夫的新娘」(默 19:7, 21:1-2)!
天主的應許,藉耶肋米亞的預言,不僅告訴我們祂將會給我們的是什麼(一個新以色列——教會),以及在圓滿實現時將如何發生(她將「從大地的盡頭」被召集起來,即是,她將是至公及普世性的):瞎子和跛子會在其中;母親們和有孩子的——人類家庭的基礎——會被撫慰和引導 (參照 耶 31:8-9)。因此,明顯地,教會在本主日選用耶穌治癒瞎子那段福音,絕非巧合。連同耶穌在福音中所行的其他神蹟(瞎子和跛子的治癒),本主日福音的信息響亮而清晰:天主——從一個女人取得肉軀降生成人,並闖進人類歷史——就在這兒, 祂藉耶肋米亞所應許的新以色列, 實現了 (例如, 若 9:1-7, 路 5:17-26)。
讀經二的《致希伯來人書》是預象法愛好者另一個經典例子。舊約的大司祭是為我們指向基督的一個預象,基督,那永恆的大司祭,不單溯源於亞郎和肋未,而是追溯至第一位出現在聖經中的大司祭,默基瑟德的品位。但,這會是另一篇在《主日反思》的預象法討論了!

Posted: October 24, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

您的決定是自由的 Fr. Justin Huang

今天的講道是關於自由的,因為一些人一直想知道,在我們即將到來的「基督君王瞻禮」挑戰中,是否會有人感到壓力。如果我不舉手,我的妻子會怎麼想?我父母會怎麼想? 黃謙善神父( Fr.Justin)會失望嗎?我希望沒有人給你施加壓力。而且我向你保證,如果你不舉手,我不會生氣。在我告訴你為什麼之前,我只想提醒你,我們做這個挑戰有兩個原因:1)當我們把耶穌作為我們生活的中心時,我們不能將它隱藏起來;這是個人的決定但具有公共影響;2)作為基督徒,我們想慶祝人們已經把耶穌作為他們生活的中心。人們為重要的事情而慶祝,對嗎?也就是說,應該不會有壓力。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第三十主日:瞎子的啟示 吳智勳神父

馬爾谷甚重視做耶穌門徒的條件,過去幾週的讀經都講論這課題。這個星期的讀經記載了耶穌治好耶里哥城一位瞎眼乞丐的事蹟。藉著耶穌最後的一個奇蹟──巴爾提買復明之事,馬爾谷引導我們再去反省作為基督門徒應具備的條件:

繼續閱讀 >