Did Jesus really rise from the dead?

The Resurrection of the Lord

Acts 10:34A, 37-43

Peter proceeded to speak and said: “You know what has happened all over Judea, beginning in Galilee after the baptism that John preached, how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power. He went about doing good and healing all those oppressed by the devil, for God was with him. We are witnesses of all that he did both in the country of the Jews and in Jerusalem. They put him to death by hanging him on a tree. This man God raised on the third day and granted that he be visible, not to all the people, but to us, the witnesses chosen by God in advance, who ate and drank with him after he rose from the dead. He commissioned us to preach to the people and testify that he is the one appointed by God as judge of the living and the dead. To him all the prophets bear witness, that everyone who believes in him will receive forgiveness of sins through his name.”

Colossians 3:1-4

Brothers and sisters: If then you were raised with Christ, seek what is above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Think of what is above, not of what is on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ your life appears, then you too will appear with him in glory.

John 20:1-9

On the first day of the week, Mary of Magdala came to the tomb early in the morning, while it was still dark, and saw the stone removed from the tomb. So she ran and went to Simon Peter and to the other disciple whom Jesus loved, and told them, “They have taken the Lord from the tomb, and we don’t know where they put him.” So Peter and the other disciple went out and came to the tomb. They both ran, but the other disciple ran faster than Peter and arrived at the tomb first; he bent down and saw the burial cloths there, but did not go in. When Simon Peter arrived after him, he went into the tomb and saw the burial cloths there, and the cloth that had covered his head, not with the burial cloths but rolled up in a separate place. Then the other disciple also went in, the one who had arrived at the tomb first, and he saw and believed. For they did not yet understand the Scripture that he had to rise from the dead.

In 1980, some ossuaries were discovered in the neighborhood of Jerusalem with inscriptions bearing the same name of some people from the New Testament. Among them were Jesus son of Joseph, Mary and Jose (short for Joseph). This leads to the claim that these ossuaries were from Jesus’ family tomb. In March 2007, a documentary (The Lost Tomb of Jesus) was broadcast and a book (The Jesus Family Tomb) was also released. Needless to say, many Christians were upset by the claim. Not only does it contradict the belief of the resurrection and the ascension of Jesus as well as the assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary; it directly challenges the core of the Christian faith.

Yet despite this controversy, today, the world still celebrates Easter Sunday, commemorating the resurrection of Jesus. Though Jesus does not appear in today’s Gospel episode, and that there is no ocular proof of Him actually risen, we have eye witnesses who gave detailed descriptions of what they saw at that moment when they went into the empty tomb. They saw the “linen cloths lying there, and the handkerchief which had been about his head, not lying with the linen cloths, but folded in a place by itself” (Jn 20:6-7). Later, in his post Pentecostal sermon, Peter together with the other apostles, crowned themselves as witnesses of Jesus’ resurrection (rf Acts 2:31-32).

Perhaps true witnessing is not what the apostles report but how they act, and the drastic change they exhibit. From denying and abandoning Jesus earlier and hiding themselves in the upper room, they now fearlessly and openly siding with Jesus, the “crucified criminal”, and proclaim His death and resurrection despite many ridicules, hardships and persecutions (rf Acts 3:12-15, 5:30-32, 10:39-42). Should we doubt and accuse Peter and John, together with the other apostles, of fraud and cover-up? Should we believe that they knew Jesus did not rise bodily from the dead and they fabricated a fraudulent story, for which they were prepared to die? Did they really hide the body of Jesus in another tomb?

Jesus’ resurrection is a faith-based story. It cannot be proved empirically, neither can it be disproved by some archaeological findings. As St Thomas Aquinas says, “For those with faith, no evidence is necessary; for those without it, no evidence will suffice”. The “empty tomb” gives us a space of freedom ― we can choose to believe or not to believe. And for those who choose to believe, today’s solemnity of the Resurrection of Jesus will be a good time to profess, with conviction, the article of the Creed: “On the third day, He (Jesus) rose again from the dead . . .”

Posted: April 4, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

God Speaks Only One Word in the Whole Bible
And when the long-anticipated Christ event finally arrives, it often catches us completely by surprise: it comes with a theological significance and finality no scriptural readers could have expected. Continue Reading >
Having Compassion on Yourself and Others
When I was 25, volunteering at St. Joseph’s Medical Centre in New York, I always finished my days exhausted. When driving back to the seminary with Guillermo, he was always… Continue Reading >
Christ is our peace (ref Ephesians 2:14)
Living in peace is possible. The choice is up to us. Continue Reading >

耶穌真的從死者中復活了?

耶穌復活主日

宗徒大事錄 10:34,37-43

那時候,伯多祿說:「你們都知道:在若翰宣講洗禮以後,從加里肋亞開始,在全猶太所發生的事:天主怎樣以聖神和德能,傅了納匝肋人耶穌,使他巡行各處,施恩行善,治好一切受魔鬼壓制的人,因為天主同他在一起。「耶穌在猶太人地區,及在耶路撒冷所行一切,我們都是見證人。但是,他們卻把耶穌懸在木架上,殺死了。第三天,天主使他復活了,叫他顯現出來,不是給所有百姓,而是給天主所預先揀選的見證人,就是給我們這些、在他從死者中復活後,與他同食共飲的人。「他吩咐我們向百姓講道,指證他就是天主所立:生者與死者的判官。一切先知都為他作證:凡信他的人,賴他的名字,都要獲得罪赦。」——上主的話。

哥羅森書 3:1-4

弟兄姊妹們:你們既然與基督一同復活了,就該追求天上的事;在那裡,有基督坐在天主的右邊。你們該思念天上的事,不該思念地上的事,因為你們已經死了,你們的生命,已與基督一同藏在天主內;當基督、我們的生命,顯現時,那時,你們也要與他一同,出現在光榮之中。——上主的話。

若望福音 20:1-9

一周的第一天,清晨,天還黑的時候,瑪利亞瑪達肋納,來到墳墓那裡,看見石頭已從墓門挪開了。於是,她跑去見西滿伯多祿,及耶穌所愛的那另一個門徒,對他們說:「有人從墳墓中,把主搬走了;我們不知道他們把他放在那裡。」伯多祿便和那另一個門徒出來,到墳墓那裡去。兩人一起跑,但那另一個門徒,比伯多祿跑得快,先來到了墳墓那裡。他俯身看見了放著的殮布,卻沒有進去。跟著他的西滿伯多祿,也來到了,進入了墳墓,看見了放著的殮布,也看見耶穌頭上的那塊汗巾,不同殮布放在一起,而在另一處捲著。先來到墳墓的那個門徒,也進去了,一看見就相信了。這是因為他們還不明白,耶穌必須從死者中復活的那段聖經。

於1980 年,在耶路撒冷附近的鄰里,發現了一些骨龕。骨龕上刻了一些與《新約聖經》人物同名的銘文。其中有若瑟的兒子耶穌、瑪利亞和若西(若瑟的簡稱) 。於是,這些骨龕便被宣稱是來自耶穌家族的墓穴。在 2007 年 3 月,一部紀錄片《失落了的耶穌之墓》上映及一本命名《耶穌家族之墓穴》的書也出版了。毋庸置疑,這些聲言令許多基督徒不安。這不僅與耶穌復活及其升天和聖母瑪利亞被蒙召升天的信念相抵觸;它直接挑戰了基督信仰的核心。

但儘管有這樣的爭議,時至今日,這世界仍在慶祝復活節,紀念耶穌的復活。雖然在今天的福音讀經中,耶穌沒有出現,也沒有人親眼目睹,證明衪真的復活了。但我們有當時進入空墓的目擊者,他們詳盡地描述了在那一刻所見到的。他們「看見了放著的殮布,也看見耶穌頭上的那塊汗巾,不同殮布放在一起;而另在一處捲著」(若 20:6-7)。其後,伯多祿在五旬節後的講道中,和其他的宗徒一起為耶穌復活的事蹟作祂的見證人(宗 2:31-32)。

或許真正的見證不是靠宗徒的口述,而是他們的行為和所表現出來的重大變化。從起初他們否認和拋棄耶穌,匿藏在晚餐廳,到他們公開且無畏懼地支持那「被釘十字架上的罪犯」耶穌,儘管遭受許多嘲諷,艱辛和迫害,他們宣告了祂的聖死與復活(參《宗徒大事錄》 3:12-15 ,5:30-32,10:39-42)。我們是否應懷疑並指責伯多祿、若望及宗徒們欺詐和掩飾?我們應否相信他們知道耶穌並沒有從死裡復活,只是捏造了一個騙人的故事,而他們竟然準備為這謊言而死?他們是否真的把耶穌的屍體藏在另一個墳墓裡?

耶穌復活是一個建基於信德的故事。不能根據經驗來證明,也不能被某些考古發現所否定。正如聖多瑪斯•阿奎(St Thomas Aquinas)所說:「對於有信德的人,並不需要證據。 對於沒有信德的人,任何證據都是不足的」。這「空墓」給我們提供了自由的空間 — 我們可以選擇信或是不信。為那些選擇相信的人,今天的復活節慶典是一個好時機,在誦唸《信經》時,懷着信德堅定地宣稱:「第三天,祂(耶穌)從死者中復活 . . .」。

Posted: April 4, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

耶穌如何處理我們的失敗 Fr. Justin Huang

耶穌是生命之主,因此,讓我們看看祂是如何從我們的失敗中恢復我們的生命的。每個人都知道,當我們失敗時,天主會原諒我們,讓我們重新開始,但我們通常只在理智上知道這一點。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 耶穌復活主日:我期待死人的復活 吳智勳神父

復活期間我們常圍繞著聖洗與復活這些主題,今天讓我們用信經最後三句作反省:「我承認赦罪的聖洗只有一個,我期待死人的復活,及來世的生命」。

繼續閱讀 >