Have you chosen?

Sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sirach 15:15-20

If you choose you can keep the commandments, they will save you; if you trust in God, you too shall live; he has set before you fire and water to whichever you choose, stretch forth your hand. Before man are life and death, good and evil, whichever he chooses shall be given him. Immense is the wisdom of the Lord; he is mighty in power, and all-seeing. The eyes of God are on those who fear him; he understands man's every deed. No one does he command to act unjustly, to none does he give license to sin.

1 Corinthians 2:6-10

Brothers and sisters: We speak a wisdom to those who are mature, not a wisdom of this age, nor of the rulers of this age who are passing away. Rather, we speak God's wisdom, mysterious, hidden, which God predetermined before the ages for our glory, and which none of the rulers of this age knew; for, if they had known it, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. But as it is written: What eye has not seen, and ear has not heard, and what has not entered the human heart, what God has prepared for those who love him, this God has revealed to us through the Spirit. For the Spirit scrutinizes everything, even the depths of God.

Matthew 5:17-37

Jesus said to his disciples: "Do not think that I have come to abolish the law or the prophets. I have come not to abolish but to fulfill. Amen, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not the smallest letter or the smallest part of a letter will pass from the law, until all things have taken place. Therefore, whoever breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do so will be called least in the kingdom of heaven. But whoever obeys and teaches these commandments will be called greatest in the kingdom of heaven. I tell you, unless your righteousness surpasses that of the scribes and Pharisees, you will not enter the kingdom of heaven. "You have heard that it was said to your ancestors, You shall not kill; and whoever kills will be liable to judgment. But I say to you, whoever is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; and whoever says to his brother, 'Raqa,' will be answerable to the Sanhedrin; and whoever says, 'You fool,' will be liable to fiery Gehenna. Therefore, if you bring your gift to the altar, and there recall that your brother has anything against you, leave your gift there at the altar, go first and be reconciled with your brother, and then come and offer your gift. Settle with your opponent quickly while on the way to court. Otherwise your opponent will hand you over to the judge, and the judge will hand you over to the guard, and you will be thrown into prison. Amen, I say to you, you will not be released until you have paid the last penny. "You have heard that it was said, You shall not commit adultery. But I say to you, everyone who looks at a woman with lust has already committed adultery with her in his heart. If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one of your members than to have your whole body thrown into Gehenna. And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one of your members than to have your whole body go into Gehenna. "It was also said, Whoever divorces his wife must give her a bill of divorce. But I say to you, whoever divorces his wife - unless the marriage is unlawful - causes her to commit adultery, and whoever marries a divorced woman commits adultery. "Again you have heard that it was said to your ancestors, Do not take a false oath, but make good to the Lord all that you vow. But I say to you, do not swear at all; not by heaven, for it is God's throne; nor by the earth, for it is his footstool; nor by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the great King. Do not swear by your head, for you cannot make a single hair white or black. Let your 'Yes' mean 'Yes,' and your 'No' mean 'No.' Anything more is from the evil one."

In this Sunday’s Gospel Reading, Jesus taught us how we should keep the Commandments. It is much more than not doing the forbidden action. For example “Thou shalt not kill” (Exodus 20:13) covers a much wider spectrum of behavior than the act of killing someone. Behavior such as “one who is angry with their brother or sister”, “whoever insults their brother or sister” and “whoever says ‘You fool’” (Gospel, Mat 5:22) are all liable to judgement in the kingdom of heaven.

Jesus is right. Look at the world around us. Is it not anger, insults and calling people names that cause arguments and fights between neighbors, unrest in societies and turmoil and wars between countries and peoples? Then the act of killing someone or massive killing of people happens.

Jesus offers us a solution too. His solution is to be reconciled with our neighbor. It is even more important than making an offering to God. Jesus said, “So when you are offering your gift at the altar, if you remember that your brother or sister has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar and go; first be reconciled to your brother or sister, and then come and offer your gift.” (Gospel, Mat 5:23-24). If every one of us does this, can this world not be a better place?

This is Jesus’ teaching, whether to follow it is our choice. God has given us the free will to choose as revealed to us through the author of the Book of Sirach in no uncertain terms: “If you choose, you can keep the commandments, and they will save you.” and “whichever one chooses, that shall be given.” (First reading, Sirach 15:15, 17).

I have chosen, have you?

Posted: February 12, 2017

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

A Shoot from the Stump of Jesse and a Voice in the Desert
Two takeaways from this Sunday’s readings. Both are powerful prophecies of Isaiah. Continue Reading >
Stay awake, be prepared! Watch and be ready!
Eagerness and patience are the paradoxical qualities of this waiting. Continue Reading >
The Gift of the Wake-up Call
God allows us to grow old to wake us up and get us ready for death. We’re called to eternal life, but get distracted by the good life we have… Continue Reading >

你選擇了沒有?

常年期第六主日

德訓篇 15:16-21

如果你願意,就能遵守上主的誡命;你是否忠信,完全在於你的自決。上主在你面前,放置了火與水,你可任意伸手選取。生死善惡,都擺在人面前;人願意什麼,就賜給他什麼。因為,上主的智慧,廣大無邊;他無所不能,無所不見。他的眼睛注視敬畏他的人;他洞悉人的一切行為。他從不吩咐人作惡,也從未准人犯罪。

格林多前書 2:6-10

弟兄姊妹們:我們在成全的人當中,也講智慧,不過,不是今世的智慧,也不是今世將要消滅的、有權勢者的智慧。我們所講的,是那隱藏的,天主奧秘的智慧;這智慧是天主在萬世之前,為使我們獲得光榮,所預定的。今世有權勢的人當中,沒有一個認識這智慧,因為如果他們認識了,就決不會將光榮的主,釘在十字架上。經上這樣記載:「天主為愛他的人,所準備的,是眼所未見,耳所未聞,人心所未想到的。」可是,天主藉著聖神,將這一切,啟示給我們了,因為聖神洞察一切,就連天主的深奧,他也洞悉。

瑪竇福音 5:17-37

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「你們不要以為我來是廢除法律或先知,我來不是為廢除,而是為成全。我實實在在告訴你們:即使天地過去了,一撇或一畫,也決不會從法律上過去,且必要全部完成。「所以,誰若廢除這些誡命中最小的一條,也這樣教訓人,在天國裡,他將稱為最小的;但誰若遵守了誡命,也這樣教訓人,這人在天國裡,將稱為大的。「我告訴你們:除非你們的義德,超過經師和法利塞人的義德,你們決不能進入天國。「你們一向聽過對古人說:『不可殺人!』誰若殺了人,應受裁判。我卻對你們說:凡向自己弟兄發怒的,就要受裁判;誰若向自己的弟兄說「傻子」,就要受議會的裁判;誰說「瘋子」,就要受火獄的罰。「所以,若你獻禮時,在祭壇前,想起你的弟兄有什麼埋怨你的事,你就該把你的禮物留在祭壇前,先去與你的弟兄和好,然後再來獻你的禮物。當你和你的對頭還在路上,趕快與他和解,免得對頭把你交給判官,判官交給差役,把你關在監獄裡。我實在告訴你:除非你還清最後一文錢,決不能從那裡出來。「你們一向聽說過:『不可姦淫!』我卻對你們說:凡注視婦女,有意貪戀她的,這人已在心裡姦淫了她。「若是你的右眼使你跌倒,把它挖出來,扔掉,因為你喪失一個肢體,比你全身投入地獄,為你更好;若你的右手使你跌倒,砍下它,扔掉,因為你喪失一個肢體,比你全身投入地獄,為你更好。「你們又聽說過:『誰若休妻,就該給她休書。』我卻給你們說:除了姘居外,凡休妻的,便是叫她受姦污;並且誰若娶被休的婦人,就是犯姦淫。「你們又一向聽過對古人說:『不可發虛誓!要向上主償還你的誓願!』我卻對你們說:你們總不可發誓:不可指天,因為天,是天主的寶座;不可指地,因為地,是他的腳凳;不可指耶路撒冷,因為她是大王的城市;也不可指你的頭發誓,因為你不能使一根頭髮變白,或變黑。「你們應這樣:是就說是,非就說非;其他多餘的,便是出於邪惡。」

這主日的福音讀經,耶穌教導我們如何遵守誡命。守誡命並不只是不做誡命禁止的事。例如:「不可殺人」(出 20:13) 這誡命並不只是說不可殺人,這誡命所函概的行為遠比殺人這行動廣闊得多。一些行為如「向弟兄發怒」、「說弟兄是『蠢才』」、「說弟兄是『白癡』」在天國裡都要受裁判。(福音,瑪 5:22)

耶穌是對的。放眼世界,與身邊人爭吵,社會的不和諧,國家民族的動亂和戰爭,不就是由憤怒、侮辱人和將惡名加諸別人身上而引起的嗎?殺人或大屠殺這種事情就會繼而發生。

耶穌亦給我們提供一個解決辦法。祂的辦法就是要與身邊人和解。與人和解甚至比到祭壇獻禮還重要。耶穌說:「你到祭壇前獻禮時,若想起有弟兄對你不滿,就該把你的禮物留在祭壇前,先去與弟兄和好,然後再來獻禮。」(福音,瑪 5:23-24) 。如果我們每一個人都這樣做,世界一定會更好。

這就是耶穌的教導,至於是否遵從,則是我們自己的決定。天主藉着《德訓篇》的作者明確地顯示,祂給我們自由意志去選擇:「只要你願意,就能遵行上主的誡命,你是否忠信,完全出於你的自決。」和「人願意什麼,就得什麼。」(讀經一,德 15:15, 17)

我選擇了。你選擇了沒有?

Posted: February 12, 2017

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第六主日 吳智勳神父

【缺稿】註:當年吳智勳神父編寫和平綸音時,該禮儀年並沒有常年期第六主日。講道錄音從另一禮儀年(甲年)由吳神父主 […]

繼續閱讀 >