We Can Only See What We Are Willing to See

Fourth Sunday of Lent

1 Samuel 16:1B, 6-7, 10-13A

The LORD said to Samuel: "Fill your horn with oil, and be on your way. I am sending you to Jesse of Bethlehem, for I have chosen my king from among his sons." As Jesse and his sons came to the sacrifice, Samuel looked at Eliab and thought, "Surely the LORD's anointed is here before him." But the LORD said to Samuel: "Do not judge from his appearance or from his lofty stature, because I have rejected him. Not as man sees does God see, because man sees the appearance but the LORD looks into the heart." In the same way Jesse presented seven sons before Samuel, but Samuel said to Jesse, "The LORD has not chosen any one of these." Then Samuel asked Jesse, "Are these all the sons you have?" Jesse replied, "There is still the youngest, who is tending the sheep." Samuel said to Jesse, "Send for him; we will not begin the sacrificial banquet until he arrives here." Jesse sent and had the young man brought to them. He was ruddy, a youth handsome to behold and making a splendid appearance. The LORD said, "There—anoint him, for this is the one!" Then Samuel, with the horn of oil in hand, anointed David in the presence of his brothers; and from that day on, the spirit of the LORD rushed upon David.

Ephesians 5:8-14

Brothers and sisters: You were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light, for light produces every kind of goodness and righteousness and truth. Try to learn what is pleasing to the Lord. Take no part in the fruitless works of darkness; rather expose them, for it is shameful even to mention the things done by them in secret; but everything exposed by the light becomes visible, for everything that becomes visible is light. Therefore, it says: "Awake, O sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will give you light."

John 9:1, 6-9, 13-17, 34-38

As Jesus passed by he saw a man blind from birth. He spat on the ground and made clay with the saliva, and smeared the clay on his eyes, and said to him, "Go wash in the Pool of Siloam" — which means Sent —. So he went and washed, and came back able to see. His neighbors and those who had seen him earlier as a beggar said, "Isn't this the one who used to sit and beg?" Some said, "It is, " but others said, "No, he just looks like him." He said, "I am." They brought the one who was once blind to the Pharisees. Now Jesus had made clay and opened his eyes on a sabbath. So then the Pharisees also asked him how he was able to see. He said to them, "He put clay on my eyes, and I washed, and now I can see." So some of the Pharisees said, "This man is not from God, because he does not keep the sabbath." But others said, "How can a sinful man do such signs?" And there was a division among them. So they said to the blind man again, "What do you have to say about him, since he opened your eyes?" He said, "He is a prophet." They answered and said to him, "You were born totally in sin, and are you trying to teach us?" Then they threw him out. When Jesus heard that they had thrown him out, he found him and said, "Do you believe in the Son of Man?" He answered and said, "Who is he, sir, that I may believe in him?" Jesus said to him, "You have seen him, and the one speaking with you is he." He said, "I do believe, Lord," and he worshiped him.

The Lenten season invites us to embark on a journey of discovery and transformation: recognizing who we really are and who God is; awakening from our sleep; transitioning from blindness to sight, and from darkness into light. This week’s eye-opening readings challenge us to be honest with ourselves, and with our loving God, that we must see with God’s eyes and not our own as what we see, and perhaps how we see, may be deceptive. Often, we can only see what we are willing to see.

When thousands of Syrian migrants began flooding over the shores and borders of many countries in 2017, the world stood in shock and paralysis. Humanitarian organizations called this a “crisis” while some politicians deemed this a financial burden and even a nuisance. At the same time, the general public tend to become overwhelmed by the statistics and forget that each number or percentage point is a human being; a living, breathing person who, in many respects, is similar to us if not for the Syrian war that erupted in 2017. The terms “migrants” or “refugees”, though accurate in a pragmatic way, effectively dismiss the humanity of these individuals who are parents and children, friends and foes, students and teachers, drivers and passengers, directors and actors, healers and care-givers. We do have a choice here: to see them as a problem, or to see them as who they really are; peeling back all those layers of brokenness to reveal their human dignity. Do we allow ourselves to see that they are our fellow sisters and brothers, and more importantly, children of God created to be light, just like you and me (ref. Eph 5:8)?

In the first reading, the Lord cautions Samuel not to choose according to “appearance or on the height of his stature […] for the Lord does not see as mortals see; they look on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart” (1Sam 16:7). Throughout Samuel’s encounter with Jesse’s seven sons, he is challenged to see with God’s eyes so that he may see beyond good looks and physical strength to recognize the goodness in the eighth and hidden child, David. Similarly, it is evident that Jesse and his older sons do not even consider David as a viable candidate, thus, they send him away from the house to tend to the sheep. Samuel, upon meeting this “ruddy” young kid, proceeds to anoint David with oil, “and the spirit of the Lord came mightily upon David from that day forward” (1 Sam 16:12,13). David, the unassuming and quiet shepherd who has been conveniently forgotten by his father and brothers, is God’s chosen one.

A similar eye-opening story is told in the Gospel of John in which our notion of blindness and sight is challenged. When Jesus encounters and restores sight to a man who is born blind, all his disciples care about is the question of whose sin, his parents’ or his own, causes his blindness; while the Pharisees question Jesus’ authority because “he does not observe the Sabbath” (Jn 9:16). At no point has anyone asked about the well-being of the recipient of a great miracle. No one, especially the Pharisees, is interested in listening to this man’s testimony about Jesus. In fact, he is thrown out by the Pharisees after his attempt to open their eyes by testifying to Jesus’ authority, “Here is an astonishing thing! You do not know where he comes from, and yet he opened my eyes. We know that God does not listen to sinners, but he does listen to one who worships him and obeys his will. Never since the world began has it been heard that anyone opened the eyes of a person born blind. If this man were not from God, he could do nothing” (Jn 9:30-33). This man calls a spade a spade, without reservation or fear. Who is the blind one and who is the sighted one?

Clearly both Jesus’ disciples and the Pharisees have missed the point; or perhaps they have willfully turned a blind eye to the truth staring right at them. Jesus explains that he “came into this world for judgement so that those who do not see may see, and those who do see may become blind (Jn 9:40). Throughout this week and the remainder of Lent, let us humbly ask Jesus to restore our sight in our blind spots: areas that we may have willfully chosen to ignore. With our new sight, may we recognize Christ in all whom we encounter and “live as children of light” (Eph 5:8).

Posted: March 22, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Religious Life and Social Life Become One in Love
Love is what brings our religious life (love of God) and social life (love of neighbor) into unity. Continue Reading >
“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >
The Bible is in a Nutshell Just God’s Wedding Invitation
The theme of marriage and family runs through the Bible like a thread, weaving its way intricately and skillfully from the first chapter to the last. Continue Reading >

我們只能見到我們願意見到的

四旬期第四主日

撒慕爾紀上 16:1,6-7,10-13

那時候,上主對撒慕爾說:「把你的角盛滿油;我派你到白冷人葉瑟那裡,因為在他的兒子中,我已為我選定了一位君王。」撒慕爾等人一來到,看見厄里雅布,心裡想:這一定是站在上主面前的受傅者。但上主對撒慕爾說:「你不要注意他的容貌,及他高大的身材;我拒絕要他。因為天主的看法與人不同:人看外貌,上主卻看人心。」葉瑟就叫他的七個兒子,都來到撒慕爾面前。撒慕爾對葉瑟說:「上主沒有揀選這些人。」撒慕爾於是問葉瑟說:「孩子們都到齊了嗎?」葉瑟回答說:「還有一個最小的,他正在放羊。」撒慕爾對葉瑟說:「快派人帶他來,因為他不來,我們決不入席。」葉瑟於是派人把最小的兒子帶來;他是一個有血色,眉清目秀,外貌英俊的少年。上主說:「起來,給他傅油,就是這一位。」撒慕爾就拿起盛著油的角,在他兄弟們面前,給他傅了油。從那天起,上主的神便降臨於達味身上。

厄弗所書 5:8-14

弟兄姊妹們:從前你們原是黑暗,但現在你們在主內卻是光明;生活自然要像光明之子一樣。光明所結的果實,就是各種良善、正義和誠實。你們要體察什麼是主所喜悅的事。不要參與黑暗無益的作為,反而要加以指摘,因為他們暗中所做的事,就是連提起,也是可恥的。一切事情,一經指摘,便在光明中,顯露出來;凡顯露出來的,成為了光明。所以說:「你這睡眠的,醒來吧!從死者中起來吧!基督必要光照你!」

若望福音 9:1,6-9,13-17,34-38 【短式】

那時候,耶穌看見了一個生來瞎眼的人。耶穌吐唾沫在地上,用唾沫和了些泥,把泥抹在瞎子的眼上,對他說:「去,到史羅亞水池裡洗洗吧!」──史羅亞解說「被派遣的」──瞎子去了,洗了,回來就看見了。於是,鄰居和那些經常見他討飯的人,就說:「這不是那曾坐在這裡討飯的人麼?」有的說:「就是這人,」有的說:「不,是另一個很相似他的人。」那人卻說:「就是我。」他們便將那先前瞎眼的人,帶到法利塞人那裡。耶穌和泥開了他眼睛的那天,正是安息日。於是,法利塞人又盤問他怎樣看見了。那人就向法利塞人說:「他把泥抹在我的眼上,我洗了,就看見了。」法利塞人中有的說:「這人不是從天主來的,因為他不遵守安息日。」有的卻說:「一個罪人怎能行這樣的奇蹟?」他們中間便發生了紛爭。於是,他們又問瞎子說:「對於那開了你眼睛的人,你說什麼呢?」瞎子說:「他是一位先知。」法利塞人卻向他說:「你整個人都生於罪惡之中,竟來教訓我們?」便把他趕出去了。耶穌聽說法利塞人把他趕了出去,後來遇見了他,就給他說:「你信人子麼?」那人便回答說:「主,是誰,好使我去信他呢?」耶穌對他說:「你已看見他了,和你講話的就是!」那人於是說:「主,我信。」就俯伏朝拜了耶穌。

四旬期邀請我們登上一個探索和轉變的旅程:認識自己是誰和天主是誰;從睡眠中醒來;慢慢從看不見轉為看得見,從黑暗到光明。本週讓人眼界大開的讀經挑戰我們對自己誠實,對仁愛的天主誠實,我們必要以天主的眼光來看,而不是以自己的眼光來看,因為我們所看見的,或者我們怎樣看,都未必是真實的。很多時,我們只能見到我們願意見到的。

在 2017年,當成千上萬的敘利亞難民開始湧到多國的邊界和海岸線時,世界各國都大為震驚。人道組織稱之為「危機」,有些政客卻認為這是一個經濟負擔,甚至是一個討厭的負累。與此同時,大衆都被驚人的數字蒙蔽,而忘記了每一個數字,每一個百分點背後都是一個人;一個活著的、有呼吸的人。若非 2017 年在敘利亞爆發戰爭,這些人有很多方面都跟我們非常相似。「移民」或「難民」這些字眼雖然實際上是正確,卻剝奪了他們的人性:他們是父母和子女、朋友和敵人、學生和老師、乘客和司機、導演和演員、治療者和照顧者。在這裏我們有一個選擇:視他們為一個難題,或是視他們為自己本身;剝下層層的支離破碎,展現出他們人性的尊嚴。我們是否容許自己視他們為兄弟姊妹?更重要的是,我們視他們為主內光明的兒女,有如你我一樣嗎(參 弗 5:8)?

在讀經一,上主提醒撒慕爾,揀選時不要依據「他的容貌和他高大的身材 [⋯] 因為天主的看法與人不同:人看外貌,上主卻看人心」(撒前16:7)。撒慕爾和葉瑟的七個兒子見面的時候,他的挑戰就是要以天主的眼光來看,好讓他能在美好容貌和強壯體魄以外,看到那被藏起來的第八兒子 — 達味的善良。同樣,很明顯葉瑟和他的大兒子們都不認為達味是有機會的候選人,故此叫他離家去放羊。撒慕爾見到這面色紅潤的少年, 便給達味傅油,「從那天起,上主的神便降臨於達味身上」(撒前 16:12,13) 。達味,這位被父兄輕易遺忘、謙遜安靜的牧羊人,才是天主揀選的。

在《若望福音》裏是另一個令人同樣眼界大開的故事。這個故事挑戰我們對失明和看得見的概念。當耶穌遇到一個生來瞎眼的人,令他回復視力,祂的門徒只留意的問題卻是,是誰的罪使他生來瞎眼,是他父母還是或他自己;而法利塞人質疑耶穌的權柄因為「他不遵守安息日」 (若 9:16)。沒有人去關注過這領受了偉大奇蹟的人的狀況。沒有人,尤其是法利塞人,會有興趣聽這個人對耶穌的見證。當他意圖以見證耶穌的權柄,來打開法利塞人的眼睛時,他們便把他趕出去。「這真奇怪!你們不知道祂是從那裡來的,祂卻開了我的眼睛。我們都曉得天主不俯聽罪人,只俯聽那恭敬天主,並承行他旨意的人。自古以來從未聽說:有人開了胎生瞎子的眼睛。這人若不是由天主來的,祂什麼也不能作」(若9:30-33)。這個人實話實說,沒有保留或恐懼。誰是失明人,誰是看得見的人呢?

很明顯,耶穌的門徒們和法利塞人都看不到事情的重心;又或許,他們故意對眼前的現實視而不見。耶穌給他們解釋,祂是「為了判別,纔到這世界上來,叫那些看不見的,看得見;叫那些看得見的,反而成為瞎子。」 (若 9:40)。在這星期和四旬期餘下的時間,讓我們虛心請求耶穌,恢復我們的視力使我們看得見自己的盲點:那些我們可能故意選擇去忽視的地方。讓我們以全新的目光,在所有與自己相遇的人當中,認出基督和「生活 ⋯要像光明之子一樣」(弗 5:8)。

Posted: March 22, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 四旬期第四主日(喜樂主日):信仰的代價 吳智勳神父

耶穌治好胎生的瞎子,一方面顯示出祂是世界的光,讓在黑暗中的人看到光明,另一方面此事象徵著洗禮帶來新的創造。創世紀記載天主用泥土造人,現在耶穌用唾沫和泥土抹在瞎子眼上,並派遣他到史羅亞池(有被派遣的意思)洗洗,瞎子便開始了新生命。

繼續閱讀 >