Seeing Into the Future

Second Sunday of Lent

Genesis 22:1-2, 9A, 10-13, 15-18

God put Abraham to the test. He called to him, "Abraham!" "Here I am!" he replied. Then God said: "Take your son Isaac, your only one, whom you love, and go to the land of Moriah. There you shall offer him up as a holocaust on a height that I will point out to you." When they came to the place of which God had told him, Abraham built an altar there and arranged the wood on it. Then he reached out and took the knife to slaughter his son. But the LORD's messenger called to him from heaven, "Abraham, Abraham!" "Here I am!" he answered. "Do not lay your hand on the boy," said the messenger. "Do not do the least thing to him. I know now how devoted you are to God, since you did not withhold from me your own beloved son." As Abraham looked about, he spied a ram caught by its horns in the thicket. So he went and took the ram and offered it up as a holocaust in place of his son. Again the LORD's messenger called to Abraham from heaven and said: "I swear by myself, declares the LORD, that because you acted as you did in not withholding from me your beloved son, I will bless you abundantly and make your descendants as countless as the stars of the sky and the sands of the seashore; your descendants shall take possession of the gates of their enemies, and in your descendants all the nations of the earth shall find blessing— all this because you obeyed my command."

Romans 8:31B-34

Brothers and sisters: If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son but handed him over for us all, how will he not also give us everything else along with him? Who will bring a charge against God's chosen ones? It is God who acquits us, who will condemn? Christ Jesus it is who died—or, rather, was raised— who also is at the right hand of God, who indeed intercedes for us.

Mark 9:2-10

Jesus took Peter, James, and John and led them up a high mountain apart by themselves. And he was transfigured before them, and his clothes became dazzling white, such as no fuller on earth could bleach them. Then Elijah appeared to them along with Moses, and they were conversing with Jesus. Then Peter said to Jesus in reply, "Rabbi, it is good that we are here! Let us make three tents: one for you, one for Moses, and one for Elijah." He hardly knew what to say, they were so terrified. Then a cloud came, casting a shadow over them; from the cloud came a voice, "This is my beloved Son. Listen to him." Suddenly, looking around, they no longer saw anyone but Jesus alone with them. As they were coming down from the mountain, he charged them not to relate what they had seen to anyone, except when the Son of Man had risen from the dead. So they kept the matter to themselves, questioning what rising from the dead meant.

Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise.

As part of our Lenten wilderness experience, you need to take on more responsibility. Many of you get discouraged too easily, and rely on external factors too much to lift you up. So I’m going to teach you a meditation that can strengthen you.

This meditation takes a suffering in our life, allow Jesus to take us into the future, and see how He will draw good from it. For example, a mother was once worried about her children, but then, in prayer, Jesus showed her their future, and that gave her strength to continue to guide them. Or, I have a mental illness, and, during prayer, I hear Jesus say to me that He will make good come from it.

There was an inspiring commercial a few weeks ago that was celebrated by pro-lifers: A Christian couple (https://www.clmagazine.org/topic/human-dignity/shes-come-this-far-by-faith-the-unstoppable-jessica-long/) adopts a child from Siberia, Russia, even though they’re told that the child has special needs, and God does miracles in their lives. The lesson for us is the way the mother looks ahead beyond the suffering, saying, “It might not be easy, but it’ll be amazing.” Here it is (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fqWG5_7nwyk to 0:54).

The Gospel gives us the account of Jesus’ Transfiguration. “Jesus took with him Peter and James and John, and led them up a high mountain apart, by themselves” (Mk 9:2). Spiritual authors comment that Jesus took these three apostles, because only these three would see Jesus at His weakest point, when He would be in the Garden of Gethsemane, sweating blood. Because their faith in Him would be tempted, Jesus prepared them in advance by showing them His glory (Cf. CCC 556).

“And he was transfigured before them, and his clothes became dazzling white, such as no one on earth could bleach them” (Mk 9:2-3). When Jesus was conceived and assumed a human nature, His divinity was hidden; no one could see that He was God. But, for this brief moment, Peter, James, and John see His beauty shining literally through His face and clothes. It’s as if Jesus were saying to them, “Later, you will see My suffering, but, trust Me and everything that I say, because I am God; I will rise again.”

During today’s Mass, we’ll hear these words in the preface, “On the holy mountain he manifested to them his glory, to show… that the Passion leads to the glory of the Resurrection.” But keep in mind that the Transfiguration will never be as strengthening as the Resurrection; the Transfiguration gives us enough strength to endure the suffering; it doesn’t take suffering away.

“Then a cloud overshadowed them, and from the cloud there came a voice, ‘This is my Son, the Beloved; listen to him!’” (Mk 9:7). In the Old Testament, a cloud was a symbol of God, so now, this voice reminds them to trust and listen to Jesus.

Jesus wants to show us the future and strengthen us. But you have to do the work. You pray, and Jesus will lift you up.

This prayer should last between ten minutes and one hour. These are the three steps:

1) Location: Can you go to a place where you normally don’t go? Go to a mountain, to the water, to a park. Like the Transfiguration, we need to be in a setting where we experience how small we are, how big the world is, and that God is bigger than it all. Quiet yourself down and find a comfortable position.

2) Start praying imaginatively with this passage of the Transfiguration: Mark 9:2-8. Imagine going up this mountain (http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Mount-of-Transfiguration-Mt.-Tabor.jpg; http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Mount-of-Transfiguration-Mt.-Tabor-colour-photo.jpg). Talk to Jesus about whatever it is you’re struggling with. Listen to Him (http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Mt.-Tabor-2019-08-06-10.21.57-768×394.png). Then see Him transfigured before you (http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Transfiguration-by-Bloch.jpg). Look at His face, His clothes, listen to Him speak to you. What do you experience? See what He shows you about the future. He might show you how to persevere; He might ask you to change some things. And then see the cloud above you, and hear the Father’s voice. We know He’ll ask us to live more by faith.

3) Finish the prayer with these words of Abraham, from the First Reading: “God himself will provide” (Gen 22:8).

I haven’t provided you with many examples of how seeing into the future strengthens us, because I want you to do it yourself. But we will end with one such example, a sad but moving story from the Old Testament, in 2 Maccabees 7, commonly known as “The Martyrdom of the mother and her seven sons. It begins: “It happened… that seven brothers and their mother were arrested and were being compelled by the king, under torture with whips and thongs, to partake of unlawful swine’s flesh” (1). This happens around 175 B.C. when Greek rulers took over Jerusalem and forbade Jewish people from practicing their faith. The first brother refuses to transgress God’s law, so King Antiochus tortures him to death, while his family looks on. Then they torture the second brother in the same way. At his last breath, he says, “You accursed wretch, you dismiss from this present life, but the King of the universe will raise us up to an everlasting renewal of life, because we have died for his laws” (9). When the third brother is brought to the torturers, he stretches out his hands, “I got these from Heaven… and from him I hope to get them back again” (11). Because they were all convinced of the resurrection to new life, they regarded “sufferings as nothing” (12). The fourth speaks similarly when he’s about to die, and then they kill the fifth, and the sixth.

The text says, “The mother was especially admirable and worthy of honorable memory. Although she saw her seven sons perish within a single day, she bore it with good courage because of her hope in the Lord” (20).

The king was enraged at her, and promised to the seventh and youngest son prosperity and riches, if he would give in. But he refused. So the king called the mother to persuade her son. The text says, “Leaning close to him, she spoke in their native language as follows… ‘My son, have pity on me. I carried you nine months in my womb, and nursed you for three years… and have taken care of you. I beg you, my child, to look at the heaven and the earth… and recognize that God did not make them out of things that existed. And in the same way the human race came into being. Do not fear this butcher, but prove worthy of your brothers. Accept death, so that in God’s mercy I may get you back again along with your brothers’” (27-29). The son interrupts his mother and says to the king, “What are you waiting for?” So the king executes him, and, “Last of all, the mother died, after her sons” (41).

This story always inspires me. I’m often filled with fear, hesitation, reluctance, but nothing can truly harm me. If I look at Jesus’ power and His Resurrection, that’s where I’m going too! We can receive the same strength if we turn to Jesus in prayer. We can endure suffering because we see His Resurrection.

Source: The JustMeasure: Seeing Into the Future (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/02/28/seeing-into-the-future/)

Posted: February 28, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Jesus said, “You are witnesses of these things.” (Lk 24:48)
“That the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day.” (Lk 24:46) Continue Reading >
Will We Still Eat and Drink on Resurrection?
Does this mean our risen bodies will continue to live biologically? So many unanswered questions! Continue Reading >
How Jesus Deals with Our Failures
Jesus is the Lord of life, therefore, let’s look at how He resurrects life from our failures. Everyone knows that, when we fail, God forgives us and begins again, but… Continue Reading >

預見未來

四旬期第二主日

創世紀 22:1-2,9,10-13,15-18

那時候,天主試探亞巴郎,說:「亞巴郎!」亞巴郎回答說:「我在這裡。」天主說:「帶你心愛的獨生子依撒格,到摩黎雅地方去,在我要指給你的一座山上,將他獻為全燔祭。」當他們到了天主指給亞巴郎的地方,亞巴郎便在那裡,築起一座祭壇,擺好木柴,將兒子依撒格捆好,放在祭壇的木柴上。亞巴郎正伸手舉刀,要宰獻自己的兒子時,上主的使者從天上,對亞巴郎大聲說:「亞巴郎!亞巴郎!」亞巴郎回答說:「我在這裡。」使者說:「不可在這孩子身上下手,不要傷害他!我現在知道你實在敬畏天主,因為你為了我,竟然連自己的獨生子,也不顧惜。」亞巴郎舉目一望,見有一隻公綿羊,兩角纏在灌木中,於是前去取了那隻公綿羊,代替自己的兒子,獻為全燔祭。上主的使者由天上,又呼喚亞巴郎說:「我指著自己起誓——上主的斷語——因為你做了這事,沒有顧惜你的獨生子,我必多多降福你,使你的後裔繁多,如同天上的星辰,如同海邊的沙粒。你的後裔,必佔領他們仇敵的城門;地上萬民,都要因你的後裔,而蒙受祝福,因為你聽從了我的話。」

羅馬書 8:31-34

弟兄姊妹們:如果天主偕同我們,誰能反對我們呢?天主既然沒有憐惜自己的兒子,反而為我們眾人,把他交出來,豈不也把一切,與他一同賜給我們嗎?誰能控告天主所揀選的人呢?是使人成義的天主嗎?誰能定他們的罪?是那已死,或更好說已復活,現今在天主右邊,代我們轉求的基督耶穌嗎?

馬爾谷福音 9:2-10

那時候,耶穌帶著伯多祿、雅各伯和若望,單獨帶領他們上了一座高山,在他們面前變了容貌:耶穌的衣服發光,那樣潔白,世上沒有一個漂布的,能漂得那樣白。厄里亞和梅瑟,也顯現給他們,正在同耶穌談論。伯多祿於是開口對耶穌說:「師父,我們在這裡真好!讓我們搭三個帳棚:一個為你,一個為梅瑟,一個為厄里亞。」伯多祿原來不知道該說什麼,因為他們都嚇呆了。當時,有一團雲彩,遮蔽了他們,從雲中有聲音說:「這是我的愛子,你們要聽從他!」他們忽然向四周一看,見不到任何人,只有耶穌同他們在一起。他們從山上下來的時候,耶穌囑咐他們,非等人子從死者中復活後,不要將他們所見的,告訴任何人。他們遵守了這話,卻彼此討論:從死者中復活是什麼意思。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 【http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/02/28/seeing-into-the-future/】 為準。)

多年以來,我一直提醒你天主是如何在我們受苦的時候照顧我們的,但今天我要挑戰你們,通過做一個靈修練習來讓你們親身實踐和體驗。

作為我們四旬期曠野體驗的一部分,你需要承擔更多責任。你們中的許多人太容易灰心喪氣,太依賴外部因素來提振自己。所以我要教你一種默想,它可以增強你們的力量。

這個默想是以我們在生活中遭受的苦難,讓耶穌帶我們進入未來,看看祂將如何從中汲取美善。例如,一位母親曾經擔心她的孩子,但後來,耶穌在祈禱中向她展示了他們的未來,這給了她繼續引導他們的力量。或者,我得了一種精神病,在祈禱的時候,我聽到耶穌對我說,祂會從中帶來美好。

幾週前有一則鼓舞人心的廣告,得到了反墮胎人士歡贊:一對基督徒夫婦(https://www.clmagazine.org/topic/human-dignity/shes-come-this-far-by-faith-the-unstoppable-jessica-long/)從俄羅斯西伯利亞領養了一個孩子,儘管對告知他們這個孩子需要特殊護理,但他們仍相信天主會在他們的生活中創造奇蹟。這位母親超越苦難展望未來的方式給我們上了一課,她說:「這可能不容易,但它會令人驚嘆。」(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fqWG5_7nwyk 到0:54)。

福音給我們描述了耶穌顯聖容。 「耶穌帶著伯多祿、雅各伯和若望,單獨帶領他們上了一座高山。」(谷9:2) 靈修作者評論說,耶穌帶了這三個門徒,因為只有他們三個會在耶穌最脆弱的時候看到祂,那時祂會在革撒馬尼花山園Garden of Gethsemane裡,渾身淌血汗。因為他們對祂的信心會受到試探,耶穌通過向他們展示祂的榮耀,提前為他們做好了準備(參看。CCC 556)

「在他們前變了容貌:他的衣服發光,那樣潔白,世上沒有一個漂布的能漂得那樣白。」(谷9:2-3) 當耶穌受孕並具有人性時,祂的天主性隱藏了,沒有人能看出祂是天主。但是,在這短暫的一刻,伯多祿、雅各伯和若望從祂的面容和衣服中閃耀著的光芒看到了祂的美麗。這就好像耶穌在對他們說:「之後,你們會看到我的痛苦,但是,相信我和我所說的一切,因為我是天主,我會復活的。」

在今天的彌撒中,我們會在頌謝詞中聽到這樣的話:「在聖山上,祂向他們顯示了自己的光輝,…經過苦難才能進入復活的光榮。」但請記住,顯聖容永遠不會像復活那樣強大;顯聖容給我們足夠的力量來忍受苦難;但不會帶走苦難。

「有一團雲彩遮蔽了他們,從雲中有聲音說:「這是我的愛子,你們要聽從祂!」(谷9:7) 在舊約中,雲是天主的象徵,所以現在,這個聲音提醒他們要相信和聽從耶穌。

耶穌想要藉告訴我們未來,以堅強我們。但你必須做好這項工作。你祈禱,耶穌就會把你高舉。

這個祈禱應該持續十分鐘到一個小時。有三個步驟:

1)地點:你能去一個不常去的地方嗎?去山上,去水邊,去公園。就像耶穌顯聖容一樣,我們需要處在這樣一個環境中,在那裡我們體驗到自己有多渺小,世界有多闊大,天主比一切都大。讓你自己安靜下來,找一個舒適的位置。

2)從耶穌顯聖容的這一段開始充滿想像力的禱告:馬爾谷福音9:2-8。想像一下登上這座山(http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Mount-of-Transfiguration-Mt.-Tabor.jpghttp://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Mount-of-Transfiguration-Mt.-Tabor-colour-photo.jpg)。和耶穌談談你正在掙扎的事,傾聽祂的話,(http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Mt.-Tabor-2019-08-06-10.21.57-768×394.png)。然後看到祂在你面前顯聖容,(http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Transfiguration-by-Bloch.jpg)。看看祂的容貌,祂的衣服,聽祂跟你說的話。你經歷了什麼?看看祂向你展示了什關於未來的事物。祂可能會教你如何堅持;祂可能會要求你做一些改變。
然後看到你頭頂的雲彩,聽到天父的聲音。我們知道祂會要求我們多多依靠信仰生活。

3)用亞巴郎的這句話來結束禱告:「天主自會照料」(創22:8)。

我沒有給你提供很多關於預見未來如何增強我們力量的例子,因為我想讓你自己去做。但我們將以一個這樣的例子來結束,這個故事出自「舊約」中的這裡有一個悲慘但感人的故事,在馬加伯下第七章,通常被稱為「母親和她七個兒子的殉難」的章節。故事是這樣開始的: 「有兄弟七人與他們的母親一同被捕,國王命人用鞭子和牛筋痛打他們,強迫他們吃法律禁止的豬肉。」(加下七:1)

這事發生在公元前175年左右,當時希臘統治者接管了耶路撒冷,禁止猶太人信奉他們的信仰。第一個兄弟拒絕違反上主的律法,所以安提約古國王讓他的家人眼睜睜地看著他被折磨至死。然後他們用同樣的方式折磨二哥。在他吐出最後一口氣時,他說:「你這窮凶極惡的人!你使我失去現世的生命,但是宇宙的君王,必要使我們這些為他的法律而殉難的人復活,獲得永生。」( 9) 當第三個兄弟被帶到刑訊逼供的人面前時,他伸出雙手說:「這些肢體是從上天得來的,但是,現在為了祂的法律,我不吝嗇這一切,希望有一天從祂那裡仍再得到。」(11) 因為他們都相信新生命的複活,所以他們「不怕受苦。」(12) 第四個在他快要死的時候說同樣的話,然後他們殺了第五個和第六個兄弟。

經文說,「最值得光榮記念的,還是他們的母親。她在一日之內親見七個兒子死去,還能有勇氣忍受住,因為她全心寄望於上主。」(20)

國王被她激怒了,並向第七個也是最小的兒子承諾,如果他讓步,就會獲得榮華和財富。但他拒絕了。於是國王叫這位母親來勸說她的兒子。經文說,「她向他彎著身,…,用祖國的話這樣對他說:「我兒,你憐恤我罷!我在腹中懷育你九個月,三年哺養你,又栽培提攜養育你,直到現在的年紀。我兒,我懇求你仰視天,俯視地,觀察天地間形形色色的萬物!你該知道,這一切都是天主從無中造成的,人類也是如此造成的。你不要怕這劊子手,反該對得起你的哥哥們,視死如歸,好叫我在天主顯示仁慈的時候,可迎接你的哥哥和你!」(27-29) 兒子接著對國王說:「你們還等什麼? 」於是國王處決了他,「最後母親也致了命。」(41)

這個故事總是激勵著我。我曾經常充滿恐懼、猶豫和不情願,但卻沒有什麼能真正傷害到我。如果我看到耶穌的能力和祂的複活,那也是我要去的地方!如果我們向耶穌祈禱,我們也能得到同樣的力量。

我們可以忍受苦難,因為我們看到了祂的複活。

Posted: February 28, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第二主日:愛的代價 吳智勳神父

本主日的三篇讀經有一共同的主題:愛的代價。用今日的術語來說,就是愛不能是便宜的。第一篇讀經有關亞巴郎獻子的故事是長期爭議的題目。倘若你今天問我:天主在夢中叫你把兒子殺了獻給祂,你可以不可以做?我會立刻回答:不可以,因為現代人的良心顯示這是不道德的。

繼續閱讀 >